We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jewel overlooked”

Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Full Day Multnomah Falls and Gorge Waterfalls Tour from Portland
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Museum dedicated to the preservation, conservation, and interpretation of the cultural and natural history of Skamania County and the Columbia River Gorge.
Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Jewel overlooked”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Perhaps because we were staying across the river in Oregon, but it took us three days to find out about this wonderful place. I think we were the only visitors when we went, and I just don't understand why. I learned more about the area here than anywhere else. The exhibits were well displayed, and there were so many of them! The large items, such as the huge steam engine, were impressive. I think this should be listed with attractions for the Cascade Locks area, but perhaps the fault was mine in using the AAA travelbook for Oregon, and it ignores things in Washington, even if less than two miles away. This is worth the admission, and we got both AAA and Senior discounts! I will honestly admit that I don't know if there are concession snacks as we were there no where near a meal time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank hornbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    49
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenson, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly a surprise gem!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This place is fantastic! Much more than just a museum, it has well-designed displays with careful attention to detail. It's not just a collection of artifacts, but rather a world-class way to tell the story of the Columbia River Gorge. The short movie on the geology of the gorge is fun and informative. Be sure to ask for a demonstration of the working, 3-story-tall replica fishwheel. Amazing! Friendly staff. Well worth the $10 entry fee ($8 for seniors).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“beautiful building, interesting content”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is definitely worth visiting. It's beautifully done and most interesting. The video is well done and contains good information. It's very close to the Skamania Lodge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very informative museun”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wonderful exhibits about early life in the Columbia Gorge. Many different facets of life in the area are explored. Staff were very informative and willing talk about various exhibits. Especially interesting were the fish wheel replica and the steam engine. There were also movie and video presentations.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The museum covers the local history, as well as the history of the Gorge as a whole. They have Indian artifacts, and those from the settlers, movers, and shakers. A steam engine fills one end of the ground floor, and the staff start it up for a genuine, noisy experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlowersNQuilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing