We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The High House, high end and cozy!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stevenson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skamania Coves Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The High House, high end and cozy!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a Thanksgiving weekend at the Gorge! The High House our vacation home was very well appointed and incredibly comfortable. We had a wonderful view up the river and a bird's eye perch to watch the many trains that go by. The resort grounds were immaculate and a great space for us to walk our dog several times a day.
It was by far one of the best vacation rentals we have ever stayed at.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Poulsbofoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place is beautiful and a most wonderful location. The staff was great, responsive and the facility was immaculate. The problem? Look at their map and notice the tiny, not listed anywhere railroad tracks. Huge trains run through there day and night; some with four engines on the front, several in the middle and more at the end. Imagine that all night long! We walked to the river to enjoy the near sunset. Started back because it was getting dark and the place is not well lite. Well there was a train on the track not moving and too big to walk around. So we had to wait until an Amtrak passed the other way, Was that it? Nope, then another huge train and finally the one blocking the road moved on, well over an hour later. We would never go back 1) the noise of the train and 2) we saw nowhere the mention of this in the literature to give you fair warning. The map makes it look like the train tracks are not close but the RV site is on a bluff and that makes them very close to not only the noise but the vibration. We do not have a tiny RV and at least once a day we had to adjust the levelers because the vibration constantly shifted the gravel = A real shame - beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We just spent 7 days along the Columbia River and Skamania Cove was lovely. We have our own large RV, but if you don't have one you can rent the cabins. The location is beautiful, the coves extraordinary. Everything was clean. As with all gorge locations the trains run by, but here they do not blast their horns. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinhorserider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was our first RV camping experience and it couldn't have been more amazing! This resort has beautiful homes for rent as well as 17 RV spots...it was dark by the time we arrived, but it was fairly easy to find our spot on the upper level. This is a gated resort which was nice! We had no idea how amazing this place was until we awoke to the beautiful sunrise over the Columbia River Gorge. The bathrooms/showers were immaculate and within close range to all of the RV spots. The Coves down at the river made me say WOW over and over..it is really that beautiful!! The views of the river and mountains were breathtaking and the easy walking trails were great to get you to all of the private beach areas. It was sunny but windy, however the coves offered much reprieve from the wind so it ended up being quite warm! Highway 14 is very close, but neither the traffic or the ongoing trains bothered us at all. There is no doubt about it, we will return again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tamisuley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The spectacular views of the Columbia River and the surrounding mountains were constantly in our line of sight. Whehter we were walking the well kept landscapes (it was hard to find a weed), sitting in the spa, playing in the water in the secluded coves, or hanging out in the house, we were surrounded by this almost sureal view of one of God's greatest creations. The managers were some of the nicest people we have ever met and the craftsmanship and upkeep of the houses made for a magnificent 3 days & 2 nights.

Room Tip: The High House, Bluff House and River House are over the top incredible. The Beacon Rock Condo is st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at the River House for 2 nights and wished it could have been longer. We were a little worried about the train but the noise really didn't bother us. The properties are top of the line with everything you could possibly want, even an espresso machine. I knew the view was going to be nice, but it was unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We camped here for the first time. We enjoyed the upper rv spots since the train can be noisy all day and night. My husband loves trains so he was happy watching them. The coves are great for exploring and getting right down to the water.

it rained when we were there in June but we hope to go back again during a dryer weekend. There is traffic noise from the road above you and train below you but ear plugs work well at night. Nice restrooms and showers. Very clean. Did have trouble with one camper not keeping her dogs leashed up and then they came over to bother our tethered dog. That was the only complaint and not the campgrounds fault.

Room Tip: Upper area might be quieter because of trains running near river below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
14.5 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
14.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
16.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Coves Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Coves Resort

Property: Skamania Coves Resort
Address: 45932 State Hwy 14, Stevenson, WA 98648-6500
Region: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing