We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay--good bargin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stevenson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbia Gorge Riverside Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Richland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great stay--good bargin”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

we enjoyed our stay in the log cabins. They were well outfitted for on the spot cooking and the cabin was clean. You are very close to the Columbia river and the greenery and gardens are beautiful. Along with this greenery comes rain so be prepared if you have outdoor plans. With proper attire, you can still enjoy the many hikes etc. in the area given what ever weather you are given. There are hot tubs on the deck with a view of the river. As others have stated, there is a train that comes by often. Since this is a railroad crossing, the train must sound it's horn. So, the supplied ear plugs are a must. I also used Tylenol PM to take the "edge" off and slept fine. My husband is a light sleeper and had a lot of problems sleeping with the adrenaline burst caused by the train horn. The owner Angus is friendly and helpful. The information in the rooms help for suggestion in and around the town. The price was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    35
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed in one of the upper units with the indoor jacuzzi, which was awesome. Nice kitchen, comfy bed, beautiful view of the river. The two nights we stayed, however, there were multiple trains in the middle of the night; every 20 minutes or so from 2-4 am. If you are a light sleeper or have any trouble getting back to sleep, this place will not work for you. The earplugs help a bit, but the train crossing is less than 100 feet from your ears, so be prepared to hear something even with earplugs. That said, I thought it was a cool place, and the owners are really nice.

There are really lovely hikes in the vicinity and if you are a windsurfer, there is an adjacent park where people put in. Note: I like Walkingman beer, but the inside of the restaurant on a hot day smelled like a beer soaked locker room, so if you can't sit outside, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Terrific value, wonderful view, very relaxing. Saw rainbows over the river from our hot tub on the covered porch! Bathrooms are miniscule but functional. Owners are upfront about train noise, but it didn't bother us, and ear plugs are on the night stand. Excellent info about local businesses provided in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmary86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This lodge is an outstanding location, very clean and a great value for this area. We have stayed here multiple times and use it as a quick getaway from Portland, Oregon. Walkingman Brewery right across the tracks, Big River Grill and Joe's up on main St, the best hiking on the West coast, kayaking, windsurfing and kiteboarding out your front door, golf nearby...

The trains are very cool. The lodge is very much above board in letting guests know about the train noise.

Angus the owner is a terrific guy.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms and they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ding77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We find this place perfect for a weekend of beautiful hikes along the gorge. We go on a strenuous hike, then relax in the outdoor hot tub and watch the windsurfers, then walk a few blocks into Stevenson to sample the local restaurants for dinner. The rooms are cute and compact and the price is very reasonable. The little kitchen is great for making breakfast and a lunch to go.
Yes, you have to be tolerant of trains and not expect amenities like TV . You don't need it - just sit on the deck in the evening and watch the river. Enjoy the calm and quiet (between trains, of course!).
Stevenson provides free wi-fi but it is pretty slow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyFromMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We rented 2 rooms, including "Outback," closest to the tracks. I brought a white noise machine and used the earplugs. Yes we heard the trains, but didn't find them too objectionable. Loved the rooms, very nice, good value, lovely setting. If we had wanted perfect rooms we would have been willing to pay more and stay someplace else. Making reservations is challenging, they're not quick to respond to phone or email.

Room Tip: Outback has huge deck overlooking park, jetted tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Tripsters_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I have stayed at the resort a number of times and enjoyed the stay. Having an Inn between two parks is unique, yes the trains can be a tad annoying at times, but its the"feel" of the river, the sights and smells along with the small sleepy Stephenson and that all adds up to a get away is unique. Its a small 10 room resort and its all about location, location, location. Not for everyone...but you can bring your pets!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 737jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
16.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
15.9 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
18.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Riverside Lodge

Property: Columbia Gorge Riverside Lodge
Address: 381, Stevenson, WA 98648
Region: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Columbia Gorge Riverside Hotel Stevenson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing