We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.....”
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed just one night at the lodge but plan to make a trip back for a long weekend. The plAce was absolutely beautiful from the lobby to the room. We will recommend this as a destination plAce to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bigred2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,896 - 1,902 of 2,497 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Attending a wedding at the Skamania Lodge this past July, the only other options for accommodation were in nearby Cascade Locks, OR or Stevenson, WA. After quickly reviewing the other options (an equally expensive Best Western across the river or a cheaper, but motel-like Rodeway Inn in Stevenson), it was clear that the Skamania Lodge was both the nicest hotel, as well as the most convenient for the wedding on-site.

The hotel itself is perfectly nice, with rustic but comfortable rooms. It's clear the hotel caters primary to weddings and conferences, but that said, I could see spending the night here if I was planning to spend several days in the area and was looking for a resort like environment.

We were given a room on the fourth floor which had just recently been upgraded to a pillow top bed. The room was fairly standard, with a comfortable bathroom and plenty of space in the main area of the room. Our view towards the parking lot was nothing special, but for a room booked as part of a wedding party, it was perfectly fine for us. The only notable element of the room was the Internet connection which unlike other hotels, was fast, free, and reliable. It's also worth noting that everyone we encountered during check-in and check-out were friendly and responsible.

While we didn't partake in the spa or pool, we walked through the area and it seemed fairly full featured. The pool while narrow looked fine for lap swimming and the changing area had a whirlpool and sauna. The hotel also has a golf course on site and plenty of parking.

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the hotel and between the catered reception and breakfast, couldn't fault the hotel in anyway. That said, if it weren't for the negotiated wedding rate, I could see the hotel being expensive for the services offered.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here with a friend, room was not anything special at all. Two double beds, not even queen. The outdoor hot tub was crowded, they really need more than one to accommodate the guests.
We ate the breakfast buffet, which was very disappointing, at the cost of $17 you would think they would have better quality control on the food even at 10am (breakfast was served until 11) If they can't keep fresh hot food on hand, they should shut it down sooner. Would not return

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank justmary46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have stayed at this lovely property six or more times in the past twenty years, and this Spring (after not staying here for several years) sadly noticed how beaten up it is becoming. First floor rooms are not acceptable. Carpet in the rooms has a cheap indoor/outdoor look, woodwork is scuffed, doors scraped and marred. Phones are outdated and dirty. The lock on my bathroom door was missing metal pieces and so were some of the actual doors into rooms. No refrigerator in my room but one was quickly delivered when I called the desk and asked for one. Beds are comfortable, linens ok. Formal restaurant is wonderful; food excellent, service perfect. Pub ridiculously small for the facility! Nice gift shop. Staff is great. Spa is ok, not top-notch. People who work in the spa are very nice. Spa has a small selection of decent make-up in case you have forgotten anything.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the first floor. They are small and depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't wait to get her based on the photos online. So very disappointed. At $230 a night the rooms we super small, and only have double beds, if you need two. The outdoor jacuzzi was luke warm and only had three working jets. The restaurants on site are so expensive that we always ate in Stevenson. The pool & fire pit close at 10 pm, but the sun doesn't go down until 9. Please don't waste your money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank luvloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken D, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Luvloud -

We are always concerned when guests feel they have not received value for their stay. I reached out to you with a personal message so we could discuss further. Waiting to hear back and looking forward to our conversation.

Sincerely,

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

An accident offsite greatly compromised our weekend, but Skamania's staff expressed genuine concern, and provided assistance in every way possible. The dining experience became memorable room service for me, as I got used to my new limitations (a fingertip to elbow splint). Meanwhile, at my insistence, my wife enjoyed the full Skamania dining experience with the group. We both agreed the meals were delicious. Even after an enjoyable stay at a beautiful resort, Skamania still provided fabulous service. We realized we had forgotten a basket with several key items. It arrived on our home doorstep a few days later. We will definitely return to Skamania to enjoy much more of what this renowned resort has to offer.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Steve R.

Wow! Thanks for the fabulous review! We are so sorry to hear about the splint, but very pleased you were able to enjoy your weekend. Our staff strives to make each visit special and it’s great to hear feedback on their hard work – Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The lodge is right over the bridge on the Washington State side. To cross the bridge is a $1 toll each way. The Oregon side is where most of the waterfalls are and a lot of the water activity.
The lodge is beautifully set with views of the river and mountains, a nice large green right outside where they have placed large boulders and some paths, a fire pit, a café and have evening presentations, such as the Birds of Prey demonstration, that I found to be fascinating. We don’t golf but noticed a beautiful course. It is a convention hotel as well so there is a wing of meeting rooms and plenty of parking. The décor fits the environment in a Pacific Northwest style, very gentle, nice spaces in the lobby and a beautiful dining room and café. This is not a top luxury hotel, rather a cross between a beautifully decorated National Park lodge and a rustic resort.
We were in rooms 310 and 312 adjoining, both the same in size and features. There is a Queen or King bed – comfortable, fairly firm mattress, simple oak furniture – a desk, armchair, dresser upon which the TV sits, Ipad station and radio, no view, spacious enough. The bathroom is small, one sink, a tub/shower combined, hairdryer, coffeemaker, plenty of towels, shampoos and conditioner, plain but practical. There are two closets in close quarters with enough room but you have to squeeze by any open door to get to the bathroom. I was disappointed that the TV offered no separate movie selections other than those from the TV menu of HBO or such. The Internet wireless connection was good.
The dining room offers a good selection of fish of the area and I particularly liked the sturgeon. They have a plate of smoked assortment of salmons that is wonderful to share called something like seacuterie. The morning buffet is plentiful with lots of assortments of dishes and the Sunday brunch was very good. Staff were nice to us, helpful, friendly, accommodating. I had to have dinner in one night and they brought the food very quickly but did not have a table to put it on, so we used the desk in the room.
The spa is nice, small, with a small locker space, functional, sauna, whirlpool indoor with a great view but nothing extravagant. I had a treatment that was very good. The pool is indoor and large. I noticed a lot of children enjoying it. They also have a modern gym with enough space and equipment to be pleasant.
We asked the concierge who seemed to be a park ranger questions and she was tremendously helpful. I had the impression that people love their jobs and go out of their way to be welcoming.
In all, I enjoyed our stay. It was beautiful weather so we were lucky and it was an easy trip. I would go back.

Room Tip: We were in 310 and 312, no views so ask for a room with a view on the other side of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
17.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
780 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
19.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Region: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range: £156 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing