We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent room, but the food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent room, but the food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is the poor step sister of Suncadia Resort. Skamania is in beautiful country, but unless you golf the lodge itself isn't a resort. For starters - no outside pool in the summer time is not a good thing. The best things we did, involved getting in a car and driving. First, to the town of Hood River and second, into the woods to hike the Falls Creek trail (best part of the trip). The food at Skamania was the biggest problem. Fairly indigestible. But then I was here for a convention. Maybe it's better when not set out for a large group.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    631
    340
    115
    53
See reviews for
495
1,053
37
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We held a sales meeting at Skamania. The lodge itself is in a beautiful setting that allows one to focus with minimal distractions. The meeting facilities were good, comfortable chairs, excellent food, with meeting rooms close to guest rooms. Internet worked well.
The rooms were clean, lodgelike, comfortable bed . . my room had a refrigerator . . my understanding is that others did not? Staff was outstanding and helpful. I had a couple of issues with my key card and the front desk got it fixed.
A great place to hold a meeting and less than an hour out of Portland/Vancouver with a couple of beautiful places to stop on the way.

Room Tip: Request a water view . and a fridge is always good if you are staying for several days .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a great hotel, just over The Bridge of the Gods, and in Stevenson. Our room was large and comfortable. We decided to upgrade to the lake view when we checked in -- which was $40 per night. The staff convince you this is a steal and that the lake view is usually an extra $80. That said I was expecting it to be a one off $40 for the upgrade, but alas on checking the itemised bill it was $40 per night. The view was nice though :) Other rooms have a forest view so you'll get something interesting to look at whatever room you go for. The Lodge is a long building -- if you have mobility issues you may want to ask to be near the section of the hotel that is over the dining room. There are two elevator areas -- one is located so that it's quick and easy to get down to the pool, the other elevator is near the reception area and dining room. Basically it can be a long walk if your room is at the other end of the hotel!

There are two places to eat. The River Rock is more casual and in my opinion has a more relaxing feel -- you'd be comfortable spending the night there. The Casade Dining Room is eligibly the classier option, but it feels rather functional when you're in there -- the menu however is bigger, and this is where you'll get breakfast.

Overall this is a great hotel, it has a friendly feel (the guests are friendly as a result) despite being a big conference venue. There was a large conference going on while we were there, and a wedding -- both made for good people watching! At times the scale of the conference facilities and the enthusiasm of the delegates can make your stay less intimate than you intended. There is a fantastic golf course, and an 18 hole links style putting course -- you can borrow balls and putters from the golf shop. The zipline is great fun. They advertise that you'll be out for 2.5 hours, but in reality the amount of time you're zipping for depends on the size of your group. There were six people in our group and we were back at the hotel after an hour and 20 minutes. Still, you don't spend as long waiting for other folks to zip if there are fewer of you -- swings and roundabouts :)There is a resort fee -- I wasn't expecting this, but I didn't read the small print...!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Picked up a Groupon for 2 rounds of golf, and decided to spend the night as well on a little road trip. Spent a sleepless Wednesday night at the lodge for $256.35. Building is very thin, heard every plumbing fixture, people up from us walking in their room, and the music that went until 3am... Several calls to the front desk netted us an offer to move us or give us ear plugs.... Really? Did they even try to locate the source?
The dining room is run by great servers who are quick to steer you away from the clunkers on the menu.... Which is most of the menu. We settled on the New York steak as a "safe pick".
Breakfast was quick and adequate.
Overall, very disappointed with our stay, play golf here, stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank drgchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed mid July 2014 for a wedding and family reunion, It is a very beautiful setting, and the wedding and reunion were great. A few problems, rooms are a bit dated ,the pillows on the bed were terrible, and i am not a big pillow snob. Also ventilation in room was not very good, it was stuffy. The biggest problem we had was the 22% service charge added to the end of the bill to our wedding package. This is not in the upfront price. Buyer beware. This should be included .
The food was great for our event, and we had a nice time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

First let me say that I messed up my reservations and they were so nice about fixing it. The lodge is pretty with a giant fireplace and rocking chairs in the center. Cool petroglyph art is featured throughout. The indoor pool is big. The outdoor hot tub is really nice. The grounds are beautiful and we saw so many birds, turtles and a chipmunk or two. There are great walking trails that weave amongst the golf course, lakes, woods and streams. The room was clean and comfortable with adorable Pendleton pillows, comfy robes and a good mattress. Golfers said the course was challenging and they were enjoying it. We ate in the causal lounge for dinner and it was good. The view off the deck is fabulous. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was good with great service. The bartender nicely made us walking around cocktails so we could explore the grounds. The outside fire pit is fun as are the numerous adirondack chairs for taking in the great view of the mighty Columbia. They had a zip line course around the grounds but were already booked up. Next time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Pjgrad,

Thank you for the great review, you defiantly summed up our offerings well! Skamania Lodge was designed after the grand lodge’s of the National Park Service- so it was designed to be comfortable. And, we are happy that you found it this way. Whether visiting with us on business or pleasure, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We come here for business, a romantic weekend and with our grandkids at Christmas break. It is extremely comfortable and the process are pretty reasonable for what you get. The resort fee is worth it because there is so much to do, you don't need to leave the property to spend money elsewhere. Riverview rooms are good unless there are groups outside late at night. We called down to the desk but no one did anything... they were drink Navy guys so I don't blame them too much, plus they do a LOT for our soldiers. Forest view rooms are cheaper and quieter. Hiking, golf, tips choose, swimming, spa, reading room...don't skip over this place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jaxtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
17.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
17.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
6.0 mi away
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Property: Skamania Lodge
Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Region: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing