We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectactular View of Mt. Ranier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectactular View of Mt. Ranier”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A large room, with a beautiful view of Mt. Ranier, helpful staff, and a wonderful breakfast. A great weekend getaway and a convenient location. All this at a budget price. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 208 excekkebt vuew if Mt. Ranier
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angels81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    78
    68
    48
    83
See reviews for
128
75
28
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Aside from the big man w lots of kids and many waffles to make, it was a treat to stay here. I do, however, give the breakfast buffet a thumbs up. Our room was clean, spacious, and nice. The staff was friendly(the entire staff) and helpful. My boyfriend used his senior discount and the check in/out process went like clockwork. The hotel is close to the Glass museum, which we highly recommend, and the aquarium is a few miles close. It's not a bad are for sight seeing either. I really love the number of pillows provided(a chic thing) and I forgot to ask what make and model their beds are. OMG, cumfy, he and I both slept awesome. I do advise asking for a room not next to the elevator. It didn't bother us but it may for people who have sensitive hearing. It was a deep hum, not loud. Overall...A-

Room Tip: Get to the waffle maker prior to the opening of breakfast and if noises bother you, get a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
62025
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

out of expectation. good staff, pool, Jacuzzi. convenient location. one block to a large nice city park.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderfree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland,OR
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

After a horrible experience beyond measure at Crossland, this hotel was awesome and understanding. They gave us a reasonable rate based on our experience down the street. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this facility, it was quiet, people were helpful, breakfast was fantastic with a great variety and the coffee stayed out during the day as well.

Room Tip: This hotel was near a bar, but still quiet, and a casino within walking distance, although you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ja2era
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed a couple months ago and came back for business (to a different hotel) this last week. I didn't come back for a reason. Mattress is in need of replacement and I wasn't very pleased with the cleansliness.

Needs remodel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yesenia G, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review, 3 September 2015
We wanted to start off by apologizing for the situation of your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review to further any future accommodations and to improve all of the aspects of the hotel. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tacoma hotels

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
234 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I checked in at 5pm and there was one person checking people in and 15 guests waiting. The only nice thing I found was that my room had a microwave and mini frig.I travel to about 45 hotels a year and this hotel by far had the worst mattress ever. If I had my car I could have gotten a much better night sleep if I had slept in it and that is the honest truth. I found it odd that you only get one bar of soap in your room. Mainly because I stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. The other odd thing is that the room lacked electrical outlet. To iron my clothes in the morning, I has to use the outlet under the computer desk. The toilet in the room was old and would barely flush. Breakfast was plain with cereal, waffles, yogurt, and toast. I will not be staying at a Red Lion property ever again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yesenia G, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review, 3 September 2015
We wanted to start off by apologizing for the situation of your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review to further any future accommodations and to improve all of the aspects of the hotel. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed one night at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma on our way from Port Angeles to The Dalles on Hwy 410 and US 97.

The Check-in and Check-out was so prompt and the Front Desk staff was very friendly, nice and hospitable.

The room was very clean, comfortable and well kept. Linen, towel etc exceptionally clean.

The hotel has easy parking and it was conveniently located near Fwy I 5. There were several decent eateries around.

The B/F was not bad and the area was well kept.

We enjoyed our stay and will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asoka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
6.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Tacoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Property: Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Address: 8402 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1831 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Lion Hotel, Tacoma Washington's favorite hotel. Conveniently located at the south end of Tacoma, our renovated, non-smoking hotel features a beautiful granite entry, 119 guest rooms and amenities like complimentary wi-fi, extended continental breakfast and complimentary parking. Additional hotel amenities include our complimentary business center and guest laundry facilities. Our guestrooms are designed with your comfort in mind and feature with a warm rich color palate. Guestroom amenities include plush Sealy pillowtop beds, complimentary wi-fi, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), television with Showtime® and satellite channels, coffee makers, hairdryers, large mini refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Many of our guestrooms offer breathtaking views of Mt. Rainier. At the end of the day, work out in our fitness center or relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing