We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I wholeheartedly recommend the Red Lion Tacoma. We were recently allowed to choose our accommodations in Tacoma and went on walkthroughs through several local Tacoma hotels. The decision to go with the Red Lion Tacoma was unanimous!

The other hotels in the same vicinity are closely clumped together and we were concerned about the safety of our vehicles. The location is great since there is easy access to I-5N and I-5S. Plus, there is a pool and hot tub!

The manager and staff have provided “STELLAR” service and, in every case, have above and beyond in accommodating our stay. The rooms are very clean and well organized. Have a pet? No problem! Rooms are available that allow pets.

The Manager’s Reception every Wednesday is excellent and highly recommended from pulled pork sandwiches to BBQ short ribs. On other days, there is a Subway across the street that is open late at night. Sports Authority, Olive Garden, and other restaurants/stores are within a 5 min drive.

For the price and location, I gladly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

This budget hotel is like other chains terms of product but not as good. Compared to a Fairfield or a Hampton, the few bucks saved was not worth it. The bed was soft and the sheets crummy and the breakfast was cold only except for the waffle iron. Service was fine but I think that I will stick with the other chains offering this category of accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel , my wife and two sons while visiting for a sports convention , We had a couple issues with the bathroom & the beds still had soiled linens on them from the previous peoples stay . I brought this to the attention of the guy at desk , apparently he was the GM , young , snied and arrogant kid is what I saw . Ryan was his name - He told us the rooms were cleaned before our reserved arrival and they in fact were not, there were used condoms in the waste basket and the room had an odor that was mixed cigarette and something like burnt rubber. While the hotel hallways & lobby were what you would expect from a Red Lion , the staff was not . I would not stay here as it seems to be ran by a twerp with an attitude and they just dont deserve our money !

Room Tip: stay at a corporate owned and operated Red Lion , they seem to be consistent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the lack of cleanliness in your room and that our staff was not more accommodating with this situation. We strive to provide all our guests with the high quality of service that we maintain throughout all of our hotels.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed here while visiting my grandparents in Tacoma. The lcation of the hotel worked great for me. The easy access to freeways couldn't make my life easier.The room was very clean and well organized. I am very picky about cleaness when it comes to hotels but I didn't have any problems. The staff were friendly and kind. I see some bad reviews about this hotel but I personally don't agree. It is a great hotel to stay comfortably.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eunicehk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed here a year ago & this year again.
It was nice then and they've been re-doing & improving beds, rooms, halls & meeting rooms!
It's nice right now & They're still improving ..

Friendly staff and good feel overall.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedom1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLGuestRelations, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your return visit to Red Lion Hotel Tacoma.

We are glad that you enjoyed the updates to the hotel. We hope to continue to improve the quality of the offerings and services at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Kang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed here with my daughter while my wife was in the hospital having our 2nd child. We both got ill after swimmimg in the pool. we had to pull the sheet off one of the beds after my daughter got sick in it and found a large blood stain on the mattress. the staff was less than helpfull in resolving any of these matters, stating they couldnt do anything for us because we booked our room through a travelsite instead of directly through them. We will never stay at a Red Lion again and wouldnt recommend this hotel to our worst enemy.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famliof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLGuestRelations, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We have gone through series of renovations, room upgrades, and staff training to provide a great guest experience. It is very unfortunate to hear about your experience. I sincerely apologize for the experience you encountered during your travels to Tacoma.

In improving our service and offerings, we would like to get more information on name of reservations and date of stay to help us pinpoint the issues.

We look forward to talking to you soon. I can be reach at 253.548.1212.


Thank you.
Ryan Kang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Fair conditions. The vent over the shower was not positioned in place. When the vent fan was turned on the bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke. There was a potato chip on the floor near the side table, and I did not have chips in my room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 27 in Tacoma
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Address: 8402 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1831 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range: £62 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Lion Hotel, Tacoma Washington's favorite hotel. Conveniently located at the south end of Tacoma, our renovated, non-smoking hotel features a beautiful granite entry, 119 guest rooms and amenities like complimentary wi-fi, and complimentary parking. Additional hotel amenities include our complimentary business center and guest laundry facilities. Our guestrooms are designed with your comfort in mind and feature with a warm rich color palate. Guestroom amenities include plush Sealy pillowtop beds, complimentary wi-fi, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), television with Showtime® and satellite channels, coffee makers, hairdryers, large mini refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Many of our guestrooms offer breathtaking views of Mt. Rainier. At the end of the day, work out in our fitness center or relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing