We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just to get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

First time staying at this location mostly because everywhere was already booked (I don't plan ahead often)...So found a "mobile special" for $165/nite standard room 2 queen beds. I called before I booked to see what the price was directly. I was told there's a few rooms left and a lobby full of people. ...& was not told a price or asked if I wanted a room. So I proceeded to book online. Room was decent. ..beds & linens comfortable except the 2 flat pillows per bed. Sink took about 5 minutes to get hot water ( or maybe for me to run the shower first). Bathroom tiles old.. a little mildew. Only 2 towels 2 wash cloths -_- . TV ok flat screen...not many channels. Microwave had a twist on timer and high low settings (very old) & wasn't plugged in....on fact the cord wouldn't even reach the plug so we had to move it to use it.
On cleanliness. ..I give a 4 outta 10 there was hair in the tub, sink and on the sheet....I haaaaaate that. Yuck. The hair on the bed not sure if it was a dog or person.
Breakfast was a busy mess. Not enough seating...they constantly ran out of everything. ..coffee. ..milk, waffles...not one of the better breakfasts there were microwave breakfast burritos that they replenished sparingly. ..to say the least alot of people were waiting for forks bowls milk etc.
Pool was nice open 24 hours but only 4 chairs ...
not what you would expect for $165
If you get a really good price it's ok but I definitely wouldn't spend more than $75 on this place and that's saying alot. & one more thing the elevators are slow as molasses! ...only 4 floors

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank J J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear JJA, I am disappointed that we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all of our guests – the type of service we pride ourselves in. The Tacoma hotels were completely caught off guard by a tremendous large number of last minute reservations. I hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you're in the area. Sincerely, Jo Thompson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

PROS--The room was nice, it had a microwave, 32 inch flat TX, mini fridge, washer and dryer on site which were very cheap to use ($1.25 to wash and $1.00 to dry) and a very soft bed. I use to be a flight attendant for American Airlines so I've slept in many hotel beds and the bed in this hotel was one of the softest that I've ever slept on. Having a microwave in the room was very convenient and used it more that 10 ties in 7 days. I arrived with a friend on 7/24/14 and we there for 8 days which started off great.

CONS-- There is a computer and a printer to use, the problem is that it's in front of the seating area and if there are people sitting there they are close enough to read your emails and maybe see your log in information. The biggest CON was that 3 of the 8 nights that I was there a homeless couple was allowed to sleep in the lobby. I went downstairs to use the washer and dryer and as I walked past the lobby the homeless couple greeted the front desk clerk by name. when I returned down stairs to place my clothes in the dryer they were sleep on the couch. When I went to get my clothes from the dryer 2 hours later they were still sleeping on the couch, oh they also stayed for breakfast. DID NOT FEEL SAFE AT ALL.

Room Tip: All very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kellen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear kellen g, Thank you for comments. I appreciate them greatly as they assist us in making adjustments to improve our services and accommodations. I would like to reassure you that the couple you saw was unfortunately a family that had been displaced, their family home was lost due to a tragic fire and they were extremely distressed dealing with everything. On that particular night, they were awaiting other family members to arrive from the airport after having missed their connection and many delays. I hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you're in Tacoma. Sincerely, Jo Thompson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

All our preferred accommodations were fully booked, so ended up staying at this hotel.
Checkin took half an hour as there was only one receptionist working. She was friendly and apologetic.
Room was clean and had all the basic necessities.
Real negative was the I5 noise, which made sleep difficult.

Room Tip: Request a room that's not on the I5 side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kiwiexplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. Sincerely. Jo Thompson-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived 7 minutes before 4pm after having driven 14 hours straight. I wanted a bath and a bed! We go to check in and are told no, we have to come back at 4. I am all for following rules but there was only 7 minutes to go till 4. By the time we completed the paperwork, it would have been after 4 but we behaved ourselves and went to sit in our vehicle rather than argue. At 3:58, we went back in and had to stand at the back of a line. 50 minutes later, we got our room key. Needless to say, I was super irritated. Our room was nice and the beds were super comfy. Big too! We had one king bed and one queen bed. My husband booked the rooms so I wasn't expecting it. We decided to get cleaned up so we could head to dinner then get some much needed sleep. There were only two towels but four bodies. So back down we went for more towels. This turned out to be a daily routine. We only get two towels then have to search for two more. When booking a room, my one requirement was wifi. I was taking a summer class and needed to be able to access the internet on my laptop. Shilo advertised free wifi. This, along with the low rates, was the reason we booked this reservation. Turned out to be in a super convenient location for us as well. Close to freeway, shopping, restaurants, etc. What wasn't so convenient was the fact that the wifi did not work in our room. Not once during our entire stay. I had to go down to the lobby if I wanted to use the wifi. It was hard to study in the lobby. It wasn't exactly the quietest place for concentrating. I am all for being flexible but I am sure they could do better with a service they offer. The breakfast was good, it did it's job. My boys enjoyed the pool and the extended pool hours! I thought Okay, the check-in ordeal, lack of towels, and spotty wifi was going to be all the craziness for the rest of the trip. Nope. The toilet broke. Some chain snapped and it wouldn't flush so, because it was the middle of the night and I didn't want my family bothered by noise, I had to manually flush the toilet!! My husband and kids leave early every morning for football so the manual flushing continued when they woke up. When my husband knew my baby and I were awake, he called the front desk from his cell phone to report the problem. All he got out was "I am a guest in room 413 and....." when he was cut off and asked for his name. He provided his name and she just transferred him to my room! Not once did he even say what he was calling for. So he is forced to call back and tell the woman not to transfer him again and to listen to his request. This was the same woman that refused to check us in. She had a super heavy accent and reporting a simple issue took forever! Needless to say, she was not our favorite. The week goes on with the lack of towels being our only remaining issue. Washington is a yearly trip for us so I had to ask myself if I would ever stay here again. Funny enough, even with all the issues we had during this trip, we would stay again. I would hope that we could get a working toilet and sufficient amount of towels next time. Only one way to find out!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HonuAloha81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear HonuAloha81 ~
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies. My staff and I have reviewed your comments in detail and have taken correction action so they do not happen again. Sincerely, Jo Thompson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great local hotel at a moderate to low cost. Staff was helpful and friendly - sent us to several great restaurants. Rooms were very clean...asked for a quiet room and had no problems. Will stay again on my next trip to Tacoma/Seattle. BTW, very convenient to Seattle attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Gary S, Thank you for your comments on our services and accommodations. It is always gratifying to know that our effects were effective and appreciated. We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Jo Thompson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our first stay at a Shilo Inn and we were impressed. Great value here. Very clean, comfortable room, free parking, free wifi, free breakfast and even a pool and hot tub. They also have laundry facilities. The girls at the desk are very friendly and efficient. This hotel is a great option if you are visiting Seattle but don't want to pay Seattle prices. Only 35 minutes away and it's right off Interstate 5. We decided after this stay that, if possible, we would book at other Shilo Inns during our road trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdsjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear jdsjas, Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel. We take a lot of pride in our staff and hotel, and are always pleased when a guest has a good stay. We hope to you come back to stay with us again. Sincerely, Jo Thompson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stay at this Shilo Inn every time I'm visiting a client in Tacoma. My client always seems to wrinkle up their nose and ask why I don't stay at a more updated hotel, but I find this Shilo Inn to be just fine for my purposes. It's not fancy, but it's not outdated either. It's clean, comfortable, has just about everything I want as a business traveler who works weird hours when visiting the client, and they have always been able to accommodate my request to have a quiet room. This last visit, I was particularly struck with how comfortable my bed was. The bed, pillows and sheets were SO comfortable to me! Each room comes standard with a fridge and microwave, which is a bonus, and the free in-room wi-fi was very solid my entire trip. There's no fee for parking, a little breakfast fare in the mornings, restaurants near by, easy access to I-5. The staff is friendly and courteous. I have no complaints!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p0wdergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Powdergirl1 ~ Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are not the newest hotel on the block, however, as you said and experienced, we are very clean, comfortable and just about everything a business traveler wants. I’m so very glad to hear that you enjoyed are new pillow top beds. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area. Sincerely yours, Jo Thompson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 28 in Tacoma
66 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.3 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma

Address: 7414 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98408-1246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range: £79 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing