We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke's Chowder House

Duke's Chowder House
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke's Chowder House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 733 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had the clam chowder and a crab cake for lunch. The chowder was so-so, extremely salty. The crab cake was probably the worst I have ever had; it tasted slightly rancid. The views did not make up for the food. My server was nice though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stewsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    192
    48
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chowder, Chowder, and more chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We ate here on a Thursday, busy night but we were seated quickly. The menu is a bit daunting given the selections but there is so many good choices you'll have to go multiple times just to sample the different dishes. Had the fish taco and chowder. Surprisingly, the taco was bigger than what I thought it would be and the combination with the lobster chowder made for a filling meal. The price is on par with the atmosphere and service. Great view, nice atmosphere with some noise but we could hear each other clearly speaking normally. Our server was very good with an excellent knowledge of the menu and had the knack of being present without bugging or being pushy. Overall a nice dining experience and we plan to return for another visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SubZeroKelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best crab cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The best crab cakes I tasted in and around Seattle! My husband had the cioppino and also really liked it. Local wine and beer selection - and Duke's Manhattan - was good too. Attentive service plus location on the bay mad this evening an enjoyable one to remember.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cupcakekitten81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malawimike
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great outdoor seating and happy hour menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Went here twice - once for happy hour and once for dinner. Great location. Not very formal. Chowder was $13 a bowl and we didn't think it was all that. But non-Mahi tacos, crab cakes, and prawns were delicious. One complaint: they have a flyer saying you get a free lunch or dinner if you join the email list, but when I joined we only got a free bowl of chowder. Oh well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank malawimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & sound view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Delicious seafood, nice and helpful staff, great view. We've visited Duke's twice during our stay and definitely will come back once again in Tacoma/Seattle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom123456789_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Duke's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing