We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downton Abbey Fans Eat Your Hearts Out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 11 Tacoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our trip to see Tacoma's famous Museum of Glass was punctuated by two nights at Thornewood Castle. My husband revels in his winter get-away surprises. This year he outdid himself. Just minutes away from Fort Lewis Army base is this Edwardian haven. We were the only overnight guests and were treated royally (what else) by the owner and the one-woman service staff. They let us wander around all of the rooms at our leisure, upgraded us to the Presidential Suite, and provided a delicious breakfast in our room. Sat night there was a wedding taking place. We took advantage of the live music, took our champagne glasses with us and danced on the landing! Our own private dance party. The medieval stained glass shards in the windows of our room were a perfect prelude to the Museum of Glass! Be sure to take some time and look at photo albums in the Great Hall if offered. The transformation of the castle was amazing. The sunken garden is haunting in winter and a must as well. Thank you Deanna!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorenzo58350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood-Castle, General Manager at Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are so glad you had such an enjoyable stay here at Thornewood; and it is wonderful that you took the time to admire the centuries-old stained glass collection! As I'm sure you saw, we have over 100 pieces all ranging from the 13th-17th century! We do hope that you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

What a romantic place! Thoroughly enjoyed Thornewood Castle.

Lived in the Tacoma area years ago, and never knew this place existed. Am I glad I found it! Arrived on a weekend, and yes there was a wedding (a frequent occurrence at this venue) taking place. Who could blame them? A castle on a lake, beautiful gardens, antiques and privacy. What else could you want?

If crowds bother you, or you want privacy, then schedule around them and come during the week to avoid the wedding and/or party festivities.

The owner was extremely nice and very accommodating. A fellow Texan, she brings warmth and charm to the Northwest, and the food in the morning was to die for. Best B&B meal I've ever had! Had to leave early to catch a flight, and the staff was kind (and flexible) enough to adjust their schedule to provide a breakfast fit for royalty.

The owner even provided a personal tour of the estate.

Can't wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: This location is a highly desireable wedding and party venue. If you want privacy, then book during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixRising88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood-Castle, General Manager at Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for such a nice review! We were very happy to have you stay with us. Yes, weddings are fairly common here, especially in nice weather! We always try to inform our B&B guests if we have a wedding when they book, that way there are no surprises! We are so glad you enjoyed breakfast so much, and thank you for the compliment! We hope to see you back at Thornewood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

It is not every night that you get to spend the night in a castle. When we went, we almost had the place to ourselves except one room. We were able to explore the castle and it was interesting. It was the sort of thing that is fun to do at least once in your lifetime. The brunch in the morning was wonderful and the whole experience was a wonderful diversion. The grounds were beautifully kept and the staff was discreet. We liked the Roosevelt room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have traveled extensively throughout the world. In our travels, we have stayed at some of the finest mansions/castles throughout England and Ireland, and I consider Thornewood Castle on par with these overseas accommodations. In fact, I might even give Thornewood a slightly better rating because not only did we have the privilege of living, for a short period of time, in a piece of history, but we also got to personally know the wonderful owners. Our room, Grandview Suite, was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The breakfast was not only delicious, but beautifully presented. The hospitality was definitely "southern" style. We were called before our reservation to inform us that a wedding was to take place during our stay. I appreciated the warning, but to me this added to the ambience. I think that the owners need to be praised for their work in preserving this piece of Washington history. I personally know that restoration of any 100+ year-old building is a never-ending and costly job. They are graciously offering a European experience to travelers who are unable to travel to foreign shores. Thanks for a wonderful experience, and I hope I will have the privilege of staying at Thornewood Castle again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack-Jane_Kane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood-Castle, General Manager at Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for such kind words! The owners and staff work very hard to keep Thornewood up and functioning so that others may enjoy and appreciate it's history and beauty. We hope that you will make it back to Thornewood in your travels again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I were VERY excited to visit Thornewood for our honeymoon. When we arrived we were reminded that there was a wedding happening by the fact that we couldn't find somewhere to park. At $300 a night you would think we would have somewhere to park our car..The grounds and the inn were very beautiful on the outside. Once inside we had to ask a staff member from the catering company for help, she lead us to the event coordinator. The event coordinator was a lovely woman, she helped us check in and find our room. Our room was cute, but probably not worth the money. When we were told that there would be weddings the weekend of our stay we were reminded that we were free to roam the grounds and do whatever we want. That's a nice thought, but walking around through someones wedding is a lot more awkward than one would think. Every single guest stared at us and it felt very uncomfortable to come down from our room to find the couple having their first dance at the bottom of the stairs.....BOTH nights we stayed there were weddings. Basically we either had to be gone or stay in our room during the evenings. Not once did we meet the owners or even see them. (I know that their policy is to give you privacy) but the only time I spoke to them was when we wanted to check out. Our check out time was 11, but we just wanted to go home around 7am. I called the extension and explained that we wanted to leave, I was told to leave the keys by the door...That was it! No "Thanks for staying", or "I hope you had a lovely time" or anything. I was pleased with the room and the exterior of the inn was very beautiful. I don't even really care that we never saw the owners, that doesn't bother me. I am only let down by the fact that we felt so uncomfortable the whole time with the weddings happening AND we didn't even recieve a thank you or anything when we finally did talk to them. I'm sure had we stayed at the castle during the day we may have met them or had a better experience, but instead we just decided to travel to Seattle during the day. I think that we had really high expectations because we feel like $300 a night is kind of a lot, and we were let down by the fact that it didn't FEEL like it was worth $300 a night. I really wish we could have stayed when there were no weddings, they make weddings the priority (I understand it is a special day) but we paid a lot of money and were the LAST people to have a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood-Castle, Manager at Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for your review and for your feedback. Thornewood Castle provides a beautiful and unique experience for all of our guests. The castle is also an ideal and popular setting for weddings and events. Every guest’s stay and comfort is important to us at Thornewood Castle and we do everything we can to cater to each guest and to make sure that every experience is ideal. It is part of our policy to notify all overnight guests of any weddings before their stay. Each guest’s happiness is our ultimate reward and objective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I fell in love with Thornewood as we were searching for wedding and reception venues! Our wedding was beautiful and everyone that came to the wedding thought the venue was simply stunning. The staff at Thornewood are great, very friendly and helpful. There are just a couple suggestions I would recommend to Thornewood. We felt that the 6 hour time limit to include set up and take down was a bit tight. Here was what our schedule was, AND this was with us paying an extra $820.00 for an extra hour, so we had 7 hours altogether including set up and take down:
3pm - Set up for wedding and reception (Thornewood does not help set up, tables and chairs are the only things set out)
4:30pm - 5pm - Wedding ceremony
5pm - 6:30pm - cocktail hour/yard games
6:30pm - 7:15pm - Dinner
7:15pm - 7:30pm - Toasting
7:30pm - 7:45pm - Cake cutting
7:45pm - 9:30pm - Dancing
9:30pm - 10pm - Take down
Mind you, if we had not spent the extra $820, we would have needed to end at 9pm instead of 10pm. I feel that Thornewood should give 8 hours for the ceremony and reception to allow for less stress and the feeling of cramming everything in and sticking to such a tight schedule. When we ended dancing at 9:30pm, guests were still wanting to dance, so that was a little disappointing, but the party has to always stop at some point :) 6 hours is surely too little of time when it includes set up and take down, it makes it feel much too hurried, so I truly hope they take this into consideration. Also, we paid an extra $820 for 20 extra people over the 100 person limit on the contract, $820 FOR AN EXTRA 20 PEOPLE!! And, of course there are always people that do not end up coming to weddings, so really we ended up having less than 10 extra people....I feel that Thornewood should charge you a set extra amount per person over the 100 person limit instead of one lump sum extra for up to 25 people over the 100 person limit. So really, we paid $820 for an extra 10 people over the limit, which seems outrageous, they really should just charge like $30 per extra person and therefore we would have only paid $300 for the extra 10 people instead of $820! At times, we felt somewhat nickeled and dimed for things. We spent an extra $1,640 for the extra guests and extra hour on top of the $4,300 we already spent on the venue and simple things were not even done by Thornewood such as handling the post wedding garbage, we had to take our garbage with us afterwards!!! That seems a bit much after spending over $6,000 on a venue and we didn't do catering or anything else through them except renting the place out for the 6 hours. We stayed the night of the wedding at the castle and the room we stayed in was wonderful! Overall, the staff was great at the castle and our wedding was beautiful! Hopefully some of these points will be taken into consideration to help make this place a bit less stressful of a venue for couples.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This must have been a beautiful estate (hardly a "castle") when it was built 105 years ago, but it's tatterworn and delapidated now. Carpeting is threadbare, brick is broken, doors are split, loose and showing multiple repair efforts, paint is peeling, air-conditioning doesn't work. All that would be tolerable if there were warm and friendly redeeming features, but there aren't. The home is difficult to acess due to nearby crime problems. It's in a gated community and all doors to the outside must remain locked. Access is via intercom at exterior gate and then another intercom at the front door. Owners are MIA, so a nice young woman showed us the building and policies. Only access to outside is the front door due to security concerns. It's not espcially nice, not especially friendly and definitely NOT upscale. That's the biggest dissappointment. This is the most expensive B&B we stayed in over the last five days, and it's the second worst. It's not even in the same league as the similarly priced competition. Not even close. We felt caged in a collapsing estate right out of a Stephen King novel (literally -- the house, err, castle, was used in a King movie!) Ugh. The AC unit is a portable that can only be installed in the bathroom. It's been running since 3:00 this afternoon and it's 10:00PM now. Our room is down to about 75 degrees, finally. Oddly, it wasn't even very hot today -- maybe 80? Not sure why the house is so hot. We'd open the windows, but there are no screens on most of them, so the skeeters would invade (house in on the lake). The location is pretty and peaceful, and we'd stay here again if 1) It wasn't a hot day, 2) We had to be near Lakewood, 3) the rate was cut in half, and 4) there were no other options. My guess is the place is almost empty (one other couple) because there are no repeat customers.... we talked to the other couple, locals, and they felt the same way.

Room Tip: Drive a couple hours north to "B&B row" between Sequim and Port Angeles. The George Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood-Castle, Manager at Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

I am one of the managers here at Thornewood Castle. I want to personally say I'm sorry to hear about your issue with Thornewood Castle. Our first priority is to ensure our client’s safety and to provide a memorable stay for every guest. To protect our guests, we always take every extra precaution to make sure we have tightened security around Thornewood Castle. Normally, we find that our guests appreciate security. As Thornewood is also our personal home, we take an enormous amount of pride in keeping it in excellent condition. Since the style of the Thornewood Castle is that of a historic English Tudor Gothic Manor, the materials are not meant to look new. The brick goes back several courses and is not just a mere layer of exterior brick. Although some areas appear aged cosmetically, that look matches the style and period of a century-old English Tudor Gothic Manor , which is part of the castle's charm for visitors. As a testament to these statements, we have brought in experts who have worked on these types of houses all over the world and these experts have said that this house is in good condition. Any cosmetic wear clearly abides by the style of the manor. Due to the unique nature of Thornewood, in which floors and ceilings are composed of 10-inch thick concrete and steel, central air conditioning cannot be installed without dramatically changing the character of this historic place. If, at any time, there are issues with our appliances and our guests report the issues to us, we will immediately take steps to correct or replace them. We take great pride in our home and in the service we provide to our guests. If you would like to further discuss Thornewood Castle, please contact us at 253-584-4393.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
9.8 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,390 reviews
10.9 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
9.4 mi away
The Secret Garden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Geiger Victorian Bed & Breakfast
10.4 mi away
The Villa Bed & Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens

Address: 8601 N Thorne Ln SW, Tacoma, WA 98498-2129
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tacoma
Price Range: £132 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Castle Inn And Gardens Hotel Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing