We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to like here......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
659 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Lots to like here......”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay. We were in town to see the LeMay Car Museum. Nice room, nice people and a good location. We slept well. Breakfast was great and had the usual fare and a nice sized room. Well done. They are working hard to make it a nice experience for guests. I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impala guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWA, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Mr. Impala Guy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review about your recent stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with inquiries or concerns so that we can ensure that we provide you with superior stay experience. We hope that you will consider us again for your next visit to Tacoma so that we can provide you with improved services and amenities.

Thank you very much for your time, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Alexandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    36
    25
    22
    19
See reviews for
37
37
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arrived earlier than check in time after a late night/early morning flight. The hotel was fully booked & check in Time was hours away. Ebony at the front desk to the rescue! She professionally & courteously allowed us to stow our luggage. After a leisurely meal & sightseeing we returned to find a clean, well appointed room. Thank you Ebony!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBBPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWA, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. Our staff was thrilled to hear that we could assist you at the time of your Check-In. We hope that you will consider us for your next visit to Tacoma so that we could meet your 100% satisfaction for your stay.

Again, thank you very much for your time. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Alexandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As the director of a sporting event that would have some teams traveling to the area, I needed to block off 100 rooms at local hotels. I worked with the Tacoma Sports Commission and ended up choosing Comfort Inn as one of three hotels we had blocks at. I had zero issues with the other two hotels, but the staff at this hotel is simply not qualified to handle group reservations.

Once I made arrangements with the hotel to block off 30 rooms for our group, I stopped by in-person to drop off the contract and give them my credit card to hold the rooms. I told Marcia that I would likely be booking our officials at this hotel, so I was giving my card info to hold the block of rooms, and then would eventually be paying for the officials' rooms only, the other guests would be paying for their own rooms. She indicated this was a complicated situation and that it would be best if I dealt with her directly on it.

Throughout the process, she struggled to give me a total of what I would be paying for the officials. Some were staying three nights and some were staying one night. What I really wanted was just one email and one total for everything, but instead I would sometimes get one email confirmation for each of the 12 or so rooms, and them sometimes get one email for all of the one-night rooms and one email for all of the 3-night rooms.

Whenever I would call to ask a question about my reservation, the staff was unable to pull up my officials' rooms as one group. I had go down the list and name each person.

Less than a week before the event, I got a panicked phone call from the coach of our largest team. About a month prior she had 15 rooms booked at the hotel with Ebony, had given her credit card, and they agreed that she didn't have to submit the names until a certain date. They had several email exchanges in the following weeks, and when the coach submitted the names on the agreed on date, she was told their rooms had been released and they could not stay there.

When I followed up on this with Alex, the general manager, Ebony told her that the coach wanted her own block of rooms and not to be part of our room block so they sent her a new contract that was never signed. All I can say is that is not what the coach told me, and this coach books rooms several times a year for MANY years and have never had a problem like this before.

So while that coach scrambled to find a hotel, she searched several websites to try and book rooms. After striking out with several other hotels over several days, Hotels.com told her that Comfort Inn DID have 15 rooms. After calling Hotels.com and calling Comfort Inn again they all told her she was fine to book those rooms, so she booked with this hotel a second time, only to get a phone call a few hours later that the 15 rooms were not actually available for all three nights. So she got screwed by this hotel TWICE. Fortunately she was able to book her athletes elsewhere, and fortunately we switched from a traditional shuttle bus to Uber, so her athletes didn't lose their transportation to the event.

Now we go back to me. On the final day of our event, I get a phone call from Ebony saying my card has been declined. This was surprising, I knew I had plenty of money available to pay for the reservation. But being in the middle of the event, and not having time to deal with my credit card company until later, I switched it to a different card and that worked.

Once I was able to sit down and figure out what happened it was pretty obvious. Remember when I mentioned before that they were unable to ever give me one total for everything? Over the previous 3 days, I have 14 different authorization requests... one for each room, plus one authorization and one reversal for a room I cancelled several days prior. Instead of charging those payments, she submitted a new request for $1036 for my one-night rooms.

So while I had plenty of money to cover the $1600+ I owed them, I didn't have enough to cover $1600x2. I was certainly not warned that being charged twice was a possibility, or that I needed to have enough money on the card to cover double the cost.

At some point in the middle of this process, I received a confirmation for a random athlete who should be paying for their own event. At this point I lost all faith that I would even be paying for the right rooms.

This whole experience has been a nightmare. While the staff at this hotel is nice, they are simply unable to handle group reservations properly. I don't know if they are undertrained, or if their computer system has flaws that make it impossible to handle things correctly, but either way, DO NOT BOOK GROUPS HERE.

I will be calling Comfort Inn's corporate office first thing Monday to file a complaint with them as well.

Room Tip: Do not book groups here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank polevaultpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWA, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I sincerely apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations during the reservation and billing process. I have shared your feedback with the team to ensure that we can handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time. We hope that you had a wonderful time here in Tacoma, and we hope you will consider us again for your next visit to the area so that we could have another chance at providing you superior and improved experience.

Sincerely,

Alexandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stay far away from this hotel and any others in South Tacoma. Our U Haul was stolen with everything in it. Police said this is a terrible part of town and part of the problem is that managers cannot access the surveillance cameras. People at desk very nice and helpful as they can.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mqberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWA, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I sincerely apologize on behalf of my staff that we failed to exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We would like to express our sincere regrets that you had to experience the inconvenience.

We hope that you were able to recover the loss, and hope you were still able to have an enjoyable time in Tacoma.

Sincerely,

Alexandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Easy access to freeways. Marcia is the ULTIMATE in cust. srv. satifaction! Our dog was even treated like a valued guest:) Continental brkfst-Yummy. Clean room and comfortable beds/pillows.GO Back? YES

Room Tip: we stayed on the animal friendly first floor as we had our dog with us. This is a very animal frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWA, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Ms. Cindy P.,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Our team was thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Please let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area so that we can provide another superior and improved experience for you.

Thank you very much for your time, we hope to see you soon!

Alexandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Nicola, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The trip was so rushed and Marcia was so helpful in getting us to our concert. Will definitely stay here again! Location could be better, but the room was surely worth it. Even in heavy traffic for concerts, motocross, etc. we were at the Tacoma Dome in 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort I, Front Desk Staff at Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle, responded to this review, 25 November 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay.

We have recently renovated the hotel and would love for you to come see it. If you are ever in the Tacoma-Seattle area, we would love to have you as our guest's again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The surrounding area isn't the nicest, but the hotel is clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows. Good internet speed and connection. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort I, Front Desk Staff at Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle, responded to this review, 25 November 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay.

We have recently renovated the hotel and would love for you to come see it. If you are ever in the Tacoma-Seattle area, we would love to have you as our guest's again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Tacoma
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
5.1 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle

Property: Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
Address: 8620 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Tacoma The Comfort Inn® Tacoma hotel will get you rested and ready for anything. We're conveniently located near the Tacoma Mall and just minutes away from Pacific Lutheran University. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our smoke-free leisure hotel in Tacoma, some of which include Ruston Way Park, Museum of Glass and: Tacoma Dome Puyallup Fair and Events Center Wild Waves Theme Park Greater Tacoma Convention and TRD Center Point Defiance Park & Zoo We cater to both vacationing tourists and business travelers alike with complimentary services and amenities such as: Free WiFi Business center Free weekday newspaper 24-hour guest laundry facilities Copy, print and fax machines Get going with a great breakfast. Start your morning in Tacoma with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. All of our clean, comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature coffee makers and hair dryers, along with premium bedding and more. Select rooms come with desks, microwaves and refrigerators.   Deposits and Fees Cash guest will be required to pay a deposit of up to $250.00 at check-in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Tacoma
Tacoma Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing