We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Museum, Loved the model trains”

Washington State History Museum
Ranked #9 of 79 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History museum full of informative displays and artifacts on the history of Washington state.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Museum, Loved the model trains”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We came here while on a camping trip in Olympia because my 4 year old loves trains and museums. This place has both! The model trains weren't being operated by the club that day, but there is a permanent set up with a push button, so anyone can make the trains go, which was very exciting for him. Pushing the button will make various trains go for about 5 minutes. We loved the exhibits, and I think its great they are featuring the Great Depression right now. We can all learn from history, if we take the time to pay attention.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Archergirl0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    53
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must see for everyone interested in WA”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Must visit for those who want to learn about our history. Great for families, couples, date night, and visitors of all ages.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mkcheather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History is Sexy...”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Well, history isn't exactly the steamy part of your romance novel, lol... But I love learning state history and all the exhibits are absolutely wonderful. I'm a slow explorer and really enjoy examining details so I will be back to see the rest of the museum at some point.

Helpful?
Thank Mary-Win-Music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown's Pt, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Walk thru the past”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Many people visit places and are completely unaware of the forces that forged the culture and community. Take a walk thru this museum and experience history to better understand the present. It's a wonderful place for all ages. I never get tired of visiting.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kleinink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“With 4th grade field trip”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Had fun with all the kids from my own kid's class. Well put together, and lots to interact with

Helpful?
Thank capdaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Washington State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing