We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING: Not open on Mondays and Tuesdays”

Washington State History Museum
Ranked #9 of 79 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History museum full of informative displays and artifacts on the history of Washington state.
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WARNING: Not open on Mondays and Tuesdays”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We actually missed this as we were there on a Monday. Looked like a really nice museum though, and located on the water, in historic area with lots of other attractions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DLorahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    53
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Displays”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The displays teach the visitor about the history of the state in an interactive way. However, the sound of the saw from the shingle factory could be heard everywhere. The displays covered all areas of the state, and all time frames. The model railroad display upstairs is a must see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJC_travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun to visit”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A lot of mock-ups of old cabins etc but all a bit history-light. Coming from Europe I am used to seeing even tiny museums having plenty of original artefacts. The museum is attractive but feels like an Indore theme park. It is OK for whirling away an hour or so.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PennyPlain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was a very interesting place to say the least! We were there for close to 3 hours and I am not sure we even covered everything! One room led to the next and then another after that, it was great, interactive, things for the kids to get involved in. I like where you saw a display and who the people were and then could press a button and have a voice come over and tell you their story. Great displays everywhere. One of the best museums I have been in in a long time. My husband and grandson loved the train displays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank appleannie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
231 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A great museum”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This museum is grand! it is worth at least a 4 hour visit. The special exhibits are always worth a visit. A tip ... it is free on the third Thursday of the month from 2-8pm.
Definitely worth the cost of admission--and you can feel the history come alive in the exhibits.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Washington State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing