We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful welcoming place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcoming place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Staff was wonderful and welcoming. Views wonderful and rooms very well kept. Breakfast was well presented and offered a variety of choices. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Front desk personnel, Kim, worked hard to accommodate an early arrival and a place for us to relax and visit.

Room Tip: West side of building has wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredSalem_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    139
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
167
237
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ralston, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stay here frequently and have never been disappointed in the quality or the care. The hotel is located next to the Sound with a view and restaurants nearby that are exceptional. The hotel is also close the the University of Puget Sound.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NebraskaTraveler185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, OR
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have stayed at other Silver Cloud Inns but this one right on Commencement Bay due to the view has them beat. Using a special offer from Obitiz we were able to book a mini suite for less than the cost of a regular room on the hotel's website. Our stay was for 3 nights. The first night we were assigned a room on the first floor, when I inquired about a room on the top floor I was told none were available. As we were just down the hall from elevator we could here the comings and goings of guests using it.. Down the hall the other way was the lobby where they served breakfast, so we had dish and other assorted noises from there starting at 6am. So in the morning I again requested a different room and with in an hour we were in a room on the top floor. Thanks to the desk clerk who made that happen. What a difference, it was like we were the only ones in the hotel it was so quiet compared to the room on the first floor. They serve a decent breakfast but nothing out of the ordinary. The hotel is very clean and quite comfortable plus they offer free WiFi. Plenty of parking some of which is under cover which is especially nice when it's raining as it did during our stay. Offers easy access to I-5 and there are plenty of great restaurants close by. Would stay here again but only if we could get a room on the top floor. I marked sleep quality down to the noises we heard our first night.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the top floor facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ortravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent 3 nights here while visiting my daughter who attends the U. Of Puget Sound. Third or fourth time that I have stayed here. Love the place. Beautiful setting on the shores of Commencement Bay, with a spectacular view of the Olympics. Wifi and a solid, if unimaginative, breakfast included. Not the least-expensive option in Tacoma, but still a good value, considering what you are getting. Have to climb 30th St. to get to UPS, but it's only about 20 min. walk. Note: The hotel is across the street from train tracks, and Amtrak and freight trains pass through regularly, including at night. I like train sounds, so don't mind, and they are not too loud. Sorry that my daughter is graduating, as I probably won't be back for awhile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carderock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Silver Cloud is located on the outskirts of Tacoma, right on the water. There is a nice walking path that leads to a couple of pocket parks with well placed benches. There are train tracks about 50 yards from the hotel entrance, and the passing trains made for some good entertainement for the kids. I never heard the trains at night, but I was on the opposite side of the building.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, and it is a drive to nearly anywhere to eat. The Ram restaurant does deliver to the room though. Note that Tacoma has a few things going for it, but eating out is not one of them - it's just not that kind of town.

This is the place for you if you want to be in a quiet, uncrowded location with a great view (but no pool). The rooms are clean and comfortable, and there is a shuttle into town. I would return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zack_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I chose the Silver Cloud Inn for its location on the water and was not disappointed. It was very quiet and peaceful with comfortable bedding and furnishings along with the great views. There are several restaurants within walking distance, and the hotel is located right on the beautiful walking path along Ruston Way. The staff was very friendly and professional. I have spent way more money to stay in hotels that weren't nearly as nice as the Silver Cloud, and I would definitely choose it again.

Room Tip: I had a king suite on the top floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel had beautiful views and a great breakfast. The staff was nice and the room was clean. We barely slept the 2 nights there - we enjoy sleeping with the windows open and could not do so because of the freight train that passed by every 2-3 hours.With the windows closed the noise was faint, but the air conditioner sounded like a jet engine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanOLeary, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi Barbara9898,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Silver Could Inn Tacoma. I am very sorry that your stay was not a restful one. We take tremendous pride in our product and work very hard to ensure our guest’s expectations are exceeded. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

I am hopeful that you informed the front desk of the noise issue in your room. If you did and our maintenance staff was unable to address this issue I would be curious to hear about it. We try very hard to correct any guest issue we are aware of during their stay.

If you could contact me at your convenience I would very much appreciate it. You are welcome to do so at any time.

Best regards,
Dan O’Leary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
6.0 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Address: 2317 N. Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98402-5303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#2 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tacoma's Old Town community is the Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Waterfront, Tacoma's only waterfront hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located just two miles north of downtown Tacoma's amazing museum district, and is only 10 minutes from Tacoma Dome & Convention Center. All the hotel guestrooms have waterfront views with 55" flat screen TVs and include complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, and refrigerators. A complimentary Silver Cloud Breakfast is provided in addition to our fitness and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing