We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always love to stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always love to stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Absolutely great location--water views are superb and hotel is well-run and very comfortable. This was my 6th stay in four years so you can tell it has a good track record.

We love to walk along Ruston Way, and there are lots of restaurants (sea food, pubs) for lunch and dinner. Treos is a great coffee bar on 30th that is great as well for appetizers and small bites

Morning breakfast provides a good variety and is great for a complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Always get a water view, and we prefer the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    139
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
167
237
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were upgraded without asking when we arrived. A fantastic surprise. Counter staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast got the job done. Meet and greet wine and snacks on Tuesdays was a super surprise.
Views are wide and unobstructed, relaxing. Restaurants down the street, easy walk and great food.
There are train tracks across the street from the hotel. At no time was it ever an issue in terms of traffic or noise. Not a problem.
Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank altosax77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our room was comfortable, with plenty of desk space to spread out our board games. The bed was comfortable, with the linens feeling smooth and fresh. The traffic noises (and train) were muffled. One note: the phone number on The Ram room service menu was not answered. We called 253.756.7886 and had delivery at our door within an hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TacomaTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deming, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is an excellent choice of hotels to stay in on the waterfront! You can't get anymore on the water! The only thing I will say is they aren't consistent when booking their shuttle. We arrived a little before 2:00 and asked to book the shuttle that evening to the Tacoma Dome. We were told they didn't have any slots open. However, when we checked in at 3:30, the desk staff did offer to squeeze two other women in on the 4:30 shuttle - HOW did it go from full, to now being offered to someone else. That meant, we had to order a taxi pickup! Not what I call great service!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Calypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanOLeary, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear 1Calypso,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We do provide a complimentary shuttle as an amenity of our hotel. This service is available from 8 am and 8 pm on a first come, first served basis. There are some very rare occasions, like the recent concert, when we know there will be a very high demand for this service. On these days we create a schedule of departures to accommodate as many guests as possible.
I am very sorry for any miscommunication of shuttle availability or departure time. We always try to accommodate and on these high demand days our shuttle does a constant back and forth from hotel to concert venue for several hours to get our guests to the show. I am hopeful that we got you there with time to spare.
Thank you for choosing the Silver Cloud for your stay in Tacoma. When you are ready to return you are welcome to contact me directly, I’d be happy to assist with your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a truly lovely hotel....with an excellent staff and sensational view. It was convenient to many terrific restaurants and places to see. The room was just lovely, the free breakfast was delicious and all the amenities were just perfect. I would definitely recommend it to others....and will certainly stay there again myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view....but bring ear plugs so the passing train doesn't wake you during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Had the most relaxing romantic getaway with my boyfriend! Beautiful views and rooms were fabulous. Great atmosphere! Staff is very polite and helpful! The breakfast was pretty good with a nice set up! Plan on going again as soon as possible!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammerella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our six month anniversary. Wonderful room with great view. Close to great restaurants and the ram does room service. Got us an extra ice bucket as we had two bottles of win to chill because of friends coming to visit. Clean place with a cozy setting

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul3578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
6.0 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Address: 2317 N. Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98402-5303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#2 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tacoma's Old Town community is the Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Waterfront, Tacoma's only waterfront hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located just two miles north of downtown Tacoma's amazing museum district, and is only 10 minutes from Tacoma Dome & Convention Center. All the hotel guestrooms have waterfront views with 55" flat screen TVs and include complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, and refrigerators. A complimentary Silver Cloud Breakfast is provided in addition to our fitness and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing