We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a hike!”

Point Defiance Park
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic park offering more than 700 acres of woodland trails, gardens and waterfront views, along with a zoo and aquarium.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a hike!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a great park for a hike, or a drive. It is not a large park but our family did manage to get lost in the woods, luckily is was not that hard to find the car again after we found the road. It is such a beautiful area to hike with large trees and lots of moss covered areas. You really feel so far away from the city here. You can walk by the water also which is beautiful, looking out to the islands. I really do love this park and hike it every time I am in Tacoma.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 331Erika331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    178
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved this park and the drive around the point. It was so refreshing after a day at Pike's Place Market

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
271 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Free....NW version of central.park”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Do.it! Drive at leisure...free. Take picnic or stroll or hike. Rose gardens, Japanese garden, water views, ponds, open areas, beach...do it all. Pay zoo and aquarium both are very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jtssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Go in the spring: rhododendrons are spectacular & baby ducks too”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I came here during a visit with family nearby...none of us had ever been here before. Wow...it was so pretty that I really enjoyed discovering a very pretty and serene side of Tacoma (versus the more industrial areas). I was there in late May and the rhododendrons were superb...in every color and size. There's a lovely pond with duck families, and the baby ducks were too cute for words. Lots of space to sit and take in the scenery, or walk and enjoy the changing view. Easy walking, nothing steep that I saw.
A beautiful way to spend the afternoon. ( I did not see the zoo however.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank honurider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Taste of Northwest”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The gardens are beautiful. I did not get a chance to see the zoo. The rhododendrons were beautiful. You also get a taste of the forest. One raccoon was beside the road begging. Locals use the park and I would too. Plenty of things for kids and great views and picnic spots.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayB1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Point Defiance Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing