We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Museum of Glass

Museum of Glass
Ranked #4 of 77 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An international center for contemporary art with a sustained focus on glass.
Heathsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice small museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Has no Chihuly pieces inside - has several on the bridge over to the museum. The museum itself has traveling exhibits of glass, and a glass blowing workshop. The latter was fantastic. We saw them creating petals and stems for an outdoor glass piece. Also - the large glass sculpture outside bears viewing under different light conditions.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuvNorNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    265
    132
    40
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Never in my wildest imagination did I know that one of the greatest artists in the world is from our area. The glass works of Chehuley are totally beautiful, amazing and absolutely breathtaking works of art are on display. We are so fortunate to have this exceptional artist in our neighborhood.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Danni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Excellent Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were totally awed by our visit to this attraction. The hot glass shop was an unexpected pleasure. The guest artist was orchestrating the activities of five other glass artisans on the creation of some of her designs. She took time to describe what was going on and why. We have been to other hot glass shops but this was the best one so far. The museum had exhibits of outside artists and these were exceptionally good. A volunteer docent led a group around the exhibits and was helpful in explaining the displays of glass art. Fascinating stuff!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Better than before.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

First visited on a cold, dreary day in 2010. Main gallery was closed and rest of museum was OK but hadn't thought I'd be back. Well, took someone there last week (on a hot day in the sun this time) and was blown away by the quality of the exhibitions. I especially recommend Maestro: Recent Works by Lino Tagliapietra which is there until January 6,2013. This 77-year old Venetian is known as "the greatest living glassblower". When you view his 65 works on display, all "technically complex, flawless, visually breathtaking, complex and difficult" you'll know why. Another not-to-be-missed event is the Hot Spot where the current Artist in Residence and his/her team fire and shape the glass for works in progress. Both are definitely worth your visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank higham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We enjoyed the museum but the glass outside is gorgeous too and you can see it for free! Watching them work in the hot shop is really interesting and the gift shop has many items by local glass artists.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlesuzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Glass also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing