We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The story is as interesting as the wine!”
Review of 21 Cellars Winery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
21 Cellars Winery
Ranked #78 of 82 things to do in Tacoma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Boutique winery producing wines with traditional and innovative techniques. Available through our clubs; Societe 21 and La Familie. Founded 2003.
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We found 21 Cellars almost on accident and what a treat! Enjoy the wines, the story of how Phillip got started and the environment is unlike any "wine cellar" you'll ever see! Highly recommend checking it out for a tasting any Saturday between 2 and 6pm!

Thank breeze_21178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Terrible. No customer loyalty. Talked to them 2x on tgd phone to coordinate the event prior to showing up in our limo for a 40th bday party tasting to a closed sign on the door. Guy called 30 min before the event to cancel. The group was already well underway, plus with a Denver number, I didn't answer my phone. Was given lousy excuses as to why the last minute cancellation. Very embarrassing to have this happen as ten ladies are standing outside the door ready for the tasting. I wouldn't count on these guys if my life depended on it. Absolutely unacceptable.

5  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21_Cellars, Manager at 21 Cellars Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

We are very sorry you feel this way about an unfortunate and extremely rare occurrence. We offer our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences. We try everyday to put our customers first as they are very important to us. A last minute illness combined with the limitations of a small boutique winery are to blame. We hope that you reconsider and visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

What a different experience from other wine tastings, and in a great way...you taste wine in the basement next to the barrels that the wine is aging in! The staff was super accommodating, knowledgeable and so nice. The wine is unique and great. We really enjoyed the tasting and will return if we are ever in the area again.

2  Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This very small, basement winery is wonderful. I would recommend it as a nice place to spend a few moments with someone special. The wine tasting was great and the lady that helped us very knowledgeable.

1  Thank mjfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21_Cellars, Manager at 21 Cellars Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thanks so much for your kind words! We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We found this wonder Cab at a little store in the Proctor district called the Pacific Northwest Shop. It was a VERY nice wine for the price and enjoyed by all.

Thank Ann1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21_Cellars, Manager at 21 Cellars Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Ann 1320,
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad you came across our wine in the Pacific Northwest Shop. I hope you will come visit the winery next, which is just down the road on N 21st and Oakes under Coates Chiropractic. It may be small but we make all of our 450 cases a year there! Open Thursday 4-7pm by appointment and Saturday 12-4pm.
See you soon,
Katrina Lange
Assistant Winemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 21 Cellars Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing