We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice collection of plants but very small”

W.W. Seymour Botanical Conservatory
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
515 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Nice collection of plants but very small”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Conservatory has some great plants and provides the opportunity for interesting photos. It's much smaller than Seattle's Volunteer Conservatory and doesn't take long to view. However, it's right next to Wright Park, which is a nice family park with play areas, walking trails, picnic areas and a playground. In combination, it was a great way to spend a couple hours on a lovely afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect anytime of year”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is one of the most beautiful and magical places. I wish I drew because I would be sitting on one of their benches with my drawing pad in hand...but instead I just walk very slowly, breathing in deeply of the fresh and full foliage air. Great little gift shop too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jilltoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great to visit”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a great place to view exotic plants in full bloom. We went as a side trip while on our way to Point Defiance. We enjoyed the plants and the words of the "expert" on duty who was able to answer all of my wife's questions (she's the gardener in the family).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Small Favorite in a Fine Park”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Seymour Botanical Conservatory has been a family favorite for generations. Within the last few years it has had a renovation, but it retains the atmosphere that we remember and cherish. It is not a large facility, but the selection of plants inside is excellent. There are species from around the world. A little time in the Conservatory is a little time well-spent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rogerl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“small but extremely interesting”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have been to many conservatories over the years and this is one of the best because all the plants are very clearly yet unobtrusively labeled, with very interesting facts about them. Reading and marveling about these interesting plants made the trip last a good 30 minutes. The kids (6 and 8) enjoyed the visit as well.

Parking on the side of the road. A good 30 minutes in the park playground afterwards. Nice all around. And bought a succulent plant from the shop as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hchiutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed W.W. Seymour Botanical Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to W.W. Seymour Botanical Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing