We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Tacoma Attraction”

LeMay - America's Car Museum
Ranked #2 of 79 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: LeMay - America's Car Museum (ACM), named one of USA Today's 10 Best Museums in Seattle and KING 5's 2014 & 2015 Best Museum in Western Washington, is an international destination where families and enthusiasts gather to celebrate America's love affair with the automobile and how it shaped our society. The stunning, four-level, 165,000-sq.-ft. Tacoma, Wash., facility features 12 rotating exhibits, five annual Signature Events and serves as an educational center, hosting students of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Tacoma Attraction”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

How good is this auto museum? My wife is only a half-hearted auto person and she LOVED it. A must-see if you're in the Tacoma area. Tip... in August, they have a Vintage Motorcycle show that is great outdoor show.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoadGuyVTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    190
    24
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I visited today and enjoyed the museum very much. I spent about two hours there but went through relatively quickly. But that time was perfect for me. There's not a detailed info/story card on every car but I'm not interested in every car either. Anyway, the receptionist was friendly and I enjoyed my time there. If you're a classic car enthusiast you'll like it too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ejb0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots to see for a fair price!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, reasonable price and a lot of amazingly well kept cars! Just for this museum alone I would make the drive from Seattle down to Tacoma. If you love cars or design, you should not miss out on this!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you are a car enthusiast, you will spend several hours here. If you don't this is still a must. These beautifully restored autos will take you back in time and amaze you with cars you've only reqd about. The museum itself is beautifully done and offers beautiful
views.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LeMay Car Museum”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited the LeMay American Car Museum in Tacoma and found it just OK. While they do have a large number of cars dating from the early 1900s to modern times, there is no chronological pattern to the autos. If you wanted to follow the development of Cadillac, for example, it would be impossible. There are cars from all years arranged helter skelter on four floor and several ramps. The building is designed to resemble a garage. But there is no order to the arrangement and therefore, a viewer is only seeing each individual car but not in any contest with other cars of that era. I enjoyed seeing some of the rarer vehicle, but the overall impression left us wanting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtravelor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LeMay - America's Car Museum also viewed

 

Been to LeMay - America's Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing