We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Very nice new hotel, located conveniently in downtown Tacoma. Excellent beds, nice soft pillows. Walking distance to museums and good restaurants Did not get to try, the included breakfast as we had be at the airport early. Wifi did not work properly on my floor. Only could make a connection in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogtooth1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Dogtooth1947,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown and for your review.

For our travelers departing early in the morning, please let us know if you are leaving before our regular breakfast hours and we will ensure you have our warm signature cinnamon rolls or some fruit and yogurt to go with you.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with the wireless connection in your guestroom, but glad that you found the lobby connection working for you. We routinely monitor our equipment and points of access in the hotel and are typically able to resolve any connection issues that arise quickly.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tacoma!

With hospitality,
Vickie M., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    91
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
69
49
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
EVERETT
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My short stay here was very relaxing. The accommodations are modern and amenities are nicely laid out. The great room is a nice size so that guests can eat and move about comfortably without feeling crowded.

Since the location is in downtown, they have a secure parking garage available for guests with access directly to the elevators that go to the rooms. The height restriction is 6'8" and the antenna on mt 2013 Ford F-150 pinged on a couple of low overhead places so be cautious of that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConcreteEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear ConcreteEric,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Tacoma Downtown and for taking the time to write your review.

I am glad our complimentary covered parking worked well for your vehicle. We also have ample complimentary street parking available for vehicles over 6'8" in height or for long vehicles.

Many of our guests comment on the comfortable size of our great room where one can enjoy our complimentary breakfast and not be too close to their table neighbors.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tacoma!

Best regards,
Vickie M., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Normally, downtown hotels are overpriced and have outrageous parking prices. This place has free parking, free breakfast and smells brand new. The staff is super friendly and our stay wae excellent. I will defintely stay here again when im in Tacoma

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear John P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown and for taking the time to write your review.

Complimentary parking is definitely a plus in our downtown location. I am glad to hear our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed your stay and our free Express Start breakfast buffet.

We hope you visit us again soon!

With hospitality,
Vickie M., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel was obviously new - it was spotless and the room even smelt new. We had a 2 bed suite for a weekend while we were in town visiting Point Defiance Zoo. The room was excellent, beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the suite gave you some options - rather than just sitting on the bed watching TV. It was great to have the sitting area. The bathroom was really large - only down side was the fan in the bathroom didn't seem to work. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express breakfast - had just about something for everyone of us; nothing to really write home about but pretty good nevertheless. Area seemed a little run down but we didn't feel uncomfortable around there at all. Parking was good and hotel was easy to get to. All in all I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveH250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear SteveH250,
.
Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to write your review.

What a fun time it is at the Point Defiance Zoo. It's a local favorite too!

I apologize our fans are not very audible, but our system is centralized rather than controlled in the room. I will further explore how it might be possible to improve the air flow.

Our breakfast menu offers rotating hot entrees to ensure variety during your stay.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tacoma!

With hospitality,
Vickie M., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I reserved 2 suites for 1 night for a group of 9 adult friends. Upon check in we were given only 2 card keys per room. We were not offered any more or asked how many we would like. We were told we could park in the garage and take the elevator to the rooms from there and we were told where breakfast is. When we went to enter the parking garage we found a gate and pole with a black box on it that did not contain any instructions at all. We couldn't find a slot for the card to go in so we tried waving it around the box and nothing happened. I finally went back into the lobby to ask how to get in the garage and they said we needed to set the card on the black box front. That information would have been nice to know before we were out there. The instructions on the card are not that clear. It looks like you just swipe it past but you have to touch it on. We saw another patron having issues with her door too.

The room was wonderful! Very nice looking and comfortable. We had a suite so we had 2 beds and a living room area, plus a little kitchen type area with fridge and microwave. It even included a little sink with dish soap. Our bathroom DID have a bathtub. (I noticed other reviews stating no tub).

We had a difficult time with getting connected to the internet and staying connected. Part of that was inexperienced users too. One of my guests went to the front desk where they were happy to help her link up on her phone.

We were in town for an event at the trade and convention center which was a few blocks away. We were able to walk through a nice area where there is a university campus. Going that direction felt safe but the neighborhood overall was a mix of new and updated things with run down beat up buildings too. We did find it difficult to cross the street because while there is a crosswalk warning light system the cars don't always stop and it is on a hill too so it felt a bit dangerous. Not really the hotel's fault.

Normally when I have stayed in a hotel recently I wake up to an invoice on the floor inside the room in the morning. We did not get one here. That is also where I normally find check out instructions. We were never told what the check out procedure was. I called down and they said we did not need to go by the front desk and we could just leave our keys in the room.

The binder in the room didn't share this information either. We also thought maybe we could find dining information in the binder but did not.

Breakfast was fresh and tasty!

Overall this is a great hotel but they need to work on the little details that finish up the experience for the customer to prevent confusion and little frustrations. I wish I had taken pictures because it is really lovely. Another of the little details missing for this location that could make a huge difference for customers is to put actual pictures of the hotel on their website. I'm not interested in pictures of the city... I want to see the rooms, and the amenities!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDSmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear LDSmomof3,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your thoughtful review.

I appreciate your comments and suggestions. Our staff is eager to make each stay for every guest a memorable and pleasant experience and we will use your suggestions to improve!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tacoma.

With hospitality,
Vickie Molzer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is new, however as a business traveler, there are a few things that I must have, that this hotel lacked, Reliable internet service, the wi fi signal was weak and I was unable to conect on both nights I was there.
I also had issues with the room key as it would not open the door to my room and when you have luggage, laptop bag, etc, the last thing you need is to struggle with your room door.
This hotel only has showers, so if you like or need a tub, you will be disapointed here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colombianfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear columbianfoodie,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

I apologize profusely for the lack of internet service during your 2-day stay. Our internet service-provider experienced a hardware failure that has since been resolved, but required them to wait for a new device to arrive. Our own equipment was affected as well which made for a very inconvenient time. Our internet service is generally very rapid and consistent--I hope you'll find this to be true if you stay with us in the future.

Our door locks are a little different from many you will find. They do not actually slide into a slot but rather you just touch the card to the lock to operate them, making them simpler than their older counterparts.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Tacoma area.

Best regards,
Vickie Molzer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night because we were going to see a show at the Tacoma Dome. The hotel is very well located in downtown Tacoma, just about a block from the restaurants and maybe 2 blocks from Union Station. From there you can ride the "Link" for free (trolley) that will take you to the Dome within minutes!

The hotel is very very clean: lobby, room, breakfast room, etc. Nice covered parking lot (although the spots that were available were mostly for compact cars so that was not too easy but we were still able to find a spot for our car).

The room was really great, we had a good night sleep in a very comfortable bed and although we did hear footsteps above us in the afternoon, we were lucky enough not to hear anything during the night (or maybe we were just deaf from the concert! ha!)

Breakfast was good. No gravy for the sausage and biscuit though. :-/ it's ok, we survived :-)

Only thing that went "wrong" was the elevators: somebody apparently got stuck in the elevators and they were shut down for a while as the firemen were here. Not fun for the person inside.

I would recommend this hotel for anybody who wants an affordable way to spend the night after a show at the Dome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celinetmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear celinetmika,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review--we appreciate your business!

You are so right, our location works very well for travelers attending events at the Tacoma Dome or the Greater Tacoma Convention & Trade Center. A quick walk or light rail ride to either is available within steps.

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we'll see you again on your next trip to Tacoma.

Sincerely,
Vickie Molzer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Address: 2102 S C St, Tacoma, WA 98402-1505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tacoma's newest downtown hotel! With 163 guestrooms and suites and flexible meeting space for up to 120 people, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the place to Stay Smart! Located just off I-5 in the heart of downtown, we are just minutes away from the Downtown Business District, Greater Tacoma Convention & Trade Center, UW - Tacoma Campus, Tacoma Dome, the Port of Tacoma, the Museum of Glass, the Lemay - America's Car Museum, the Washington State History Museum, the Tacoma Art Museum, Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium and much more. Our competitive rates include a complimentary breakfast buffet daily, complimentary on-site self-parking for our overnight guests, complimentary wireless high-speed internet access and business center. Enjoy a workout or a relaxing swim in our fitness center and heated indoor pool, or take a walk downtown to a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions. The beautiful Tacoma waterfront is only a short drive away and offers sweeping views and a selection of restaurants. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing