We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was a great hotel in downtown Tacoma; priced reasonably for what was a quick-overnight stay! Clean, great pillows, parking garage, decent continental breakfast, and fairly quiet. I would definitely choose it again.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OceanGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express. Agree with other reviewers that parking spaces are tight, but it isn't unmanageable and some are larger than others. Breakfast was the usual; they did have fresh fruit. Walking distance to Museum of Glass and a couple good restaurants (Swiss Tavern and The Rock for pizza). Surrounding area is in the process of being revitalized, but is ok. UW Tacoma is across the street and many new buildings/renovations. Staff was pleasant. We had standard room with 2 queens. My one complaint about the room: the only table was a 2' x 1' "activity table" and it was too high for a computer. There was a large space between the window and bed that looked like it would accommodate a nice chair or table, but it was empty. Agree with previous reviewers that windows are thin, but it was fine with fan on.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing front of hotel better (view & morning light).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear FamilyTraveler,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments online. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am disappointed to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had and for the shortfalls you have encountered. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved the hotel and staff was very friendly and helpful, but the physical location of the hotel was very depressing. Being in the older part of town with
old dirty empty warehouses and dock area is not desirable. For this reason I would not stay here again when I can find a Holiday Inn in another location that will work just as well. When we travel we always stay at Holiday Inns but I felt for this hotel I was overcharged again because of the area. It did have easy access to freeways to get us quickly where we needed to go.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeannerobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear jeannerobertson,

Thank you for recently staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and staff during your stay. The outside area of the hotel is being revitalizing our area by the City of Tacoma. There is a beautiful walking trail that is being built behind the hotel and the University of Washington Tacoma location which is across the street from the hotel.

We appreciate your time in completing a review regarding your recent stay.

Best Regards,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The rooms are very nice, breakfast good, staff terrific, parking convenient and great location near the university. My complaint is the windows, there is almost constant street noise even on the 7th floor and it seems to me a city hotel should use better quality windows, everything else in hotel seems of high quality, why did you cut corners in that?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Ali W,

Thank you for recently staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel.

I apologize that your windows in your room didn't help with a lot of the traffic noise from outside. I will see if there is anything we can do to improve that.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey.

Best Regards,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a nicely appointed hotel and our room was very nice! It was clean and comfortable for our family of four (2 adults, 2 teens), but they had run out of roll-aways so my son ended up sleeping on the floor of our junior-suite style room (king bed + pull out sofa).

Not sure how much it matters about having a nice view from your hotel room, but for some reason the view from our room here bothered me. For such a pleasant room, and a pleasant town, it was little off-putting to look out upon a vacant lot, an alley and an abundance of graffiti. It didn't make us want to go out and explore the area, that's for sure! I would suggest hotel management invest in strategically placed decorative fences or foliage to disguise the surrounding areas.

Speaking of surrounding areas, despite the view from our room, we found Tacoma to be very nice. This hotel is a quick and convenient walk to several restaurants and funky shops, as well as the Glass Museum.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear denverfour,

Thank you for recently staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown. We love to hear that you loved our hotel and your guest room. We apologize that we ran out of roll aways and that your son had to sleep on the floor. That isn't any fun or very comfortable.

We love hearing that you enjoyed being so close to the Museum of Glass.

The area that we are located in is being revitalized by the City of Tacoma so this will help the look of the area. They are also putting a nice walking trail behind the hotel and the University of Washington Tacoma. With these changes we are looking forward to a better welcoming looking area for our guests.

Thank you so much for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this hotel is good value once you have found it ( do not follow booking.com map or instructions as completely wrong).
th hotel is modern but surprisingly does not have a fridge or micro.
the location is great, very close to the museum of glass and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear greywiz,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown.

We love to hear that you loved our property during your stay. Our standard rooms do not have the mini fridges and microwaves. We only have those options in our suite rooms.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There is nothing to complain about: new hotel, pool, fitness center, breakfast, everything is working smoothly. No much around as it looks like this is a downtown area still developing; however the parking is complimentary and you can access to your room directly from there.
No fridge or minibar in the room. Plenty of bathroom amenities.
I consider it a good value for those who pretend to visit the area and don´t wan´t to deal with traffic noise.
There was a scheduled power shortcut for that night but it was finally cancelled; I didn´t get a call or an email letting me know about that circumstance as elevators were expected to not work and the shortage was scheduled for the whole day including those hours that you´re at the hotel normally. The shortage is rescheduled for the next weekend so I´m wondering if they´re going to call their guest or not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Marchador,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown.

We are happy to hear that you loved our hotel including our rooms, complimentary parking and complimentary breakfast. We do have mini microwaves and mini fridges in all of our suites. Our standard rooms however do not have mini microwaves and mini fridges.

We were happy after many hours with the power company that we were able to cancel the power outage for June 28 during the day. We were able to reschedule it to happen during sleeping hours. It is never a easy task to deal with a schedule power outage for the power company to replace power poles across the street in a 24 hour business. We also didn't have much notice from the company to do this outage either which put the hotel in a huge bind letting all of our incoming reservations know. We do apologize that this almost impacted your stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you again as our guest and thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Tacoma.

Take care,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,431 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
2.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown

Address: 2102 S C St, Tacoma, WA 98402-1505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range: £92 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tacoma's newest downtown hotel! With 163 guestrooms and suites and flexible meeting space for up to 120 people, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the place to Stay Smart! Located just off I-5 in the heart of downtown, we are just minutes away from the Downtown Business District, Greater Tacoma Convention & Trade Center, UW - Tacoma Campus, Tacoma Dome, the Port of Tacoma, the Museum of Glass, the Lemay - America's Car Museum, the Washington State History Museum, the Tacoma Art Museum, Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium and much more. Our competitive rates include a complimentary breakfast buffet daily, complimentary on-site self-parking for our overnight guests, complimentary wireless high-speed internet access and business center. Enjoy a workout or a relaxing swim in our fitness center and heated indoor pool, or take a walk downtown to a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions. The beautiful Tacoma waterfront is only a short drive away and offers sweeping views and a selection of restaurants. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing