We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Remarkable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobster Shop South

Lobster Shop South
Reserve with OpenTable
Lobster Shop South is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 733 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you like fish, you will walk out of this restaurant LOVING fish. Amazing flavor, fresh, prepared perfectly.
Every time I go here I always walk out amazed at how wonderful the food is. Service is great as well. Good atmosphere right on the water.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    93
    40
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Total Package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I came here by myself I was given a great corner booth where I could watch the sunset. I ordered the Maine Lobster which tasted great. The food came out in a timely manner and my server Josh did a great job.
The restaurant was very beautiful and clean. Maybe next time I am back in town I will come for Happy Hour on the patio they had some tasty looking drinks on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inlet, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood by the Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

There are a string of restaurants on Ruston Way. We picked the Lobster Shop because it came first after a visit to Point Defiance Park. What a good decision! The decor is modern with great views. The service is attentive and the food first rate. We shared delicious local oysters and two salads with warm seafood and with dungeness crab. The fish portions were generous and the salad fresh. We shared a fresh berry cobbler with ice cream for desert. A fine lunch in a striking setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Place, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently great food, service and view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've been to Lobster Shop South many times over the years. My favorite time to visit is for happy hour, on the deck or in the bar. Consistently great service, love the Happy Hour menu ( and prices!). My favorite foods: steamed mussels in curry sauce w/sweet potato fries, their signature green salad ( w/bleu cheese, candied walnuts, granny smith apple and spring greens). DO order the basket of perfectly chewy, delicious bread with their pesto - it's well worth the $2.00, you will want another as soon as you polish off the first basket!..They also offer a great Twilight Dinner selection of 3 dishes, app/main/dessert for $21.00 is a great value and there is a very nice selection. The view is always spectacular, regardless of the weather and the service is prompt and professional.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juleshomewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Name of the Game is Fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife is a seafood lover, but I typically only eat fish when it's been battered and deep fried. This time out our server convinced me to try the Macadamia Crusted Baked Halibut and it was delectable. The rice and asparagus sides were nothing spectacular, but a good accompaniment to the fish since you don't want to overpower it. Service and ambiance were spectacular as always.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alfaguy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lobster Shop South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing