We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Fantastic, clean, and updated hotel. Great staff and nice rooms. The price was good and the location was right where we needed it. Breakfast was good value. Great free coffee in lobby 24 hours a day. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
A great thing about traveling is not having to worry about making your bed or cleaning the room. The Courtyard has a great staff who take pride in keeping the hotel looking fresh and clean. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    128
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
77
55
16
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Great staff, good price, perfect location. We had a king corner suite, it was the best Courtyard I have ever stayed in! Beds were awesome, view was great! This was a 5-star property!! We were in town for the weekend and this was the perfect place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2traval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! The king suites have great views and lots of room for families or small gatherings. You can also rent the connecting room to have even more room - perfect for wedding groups or family reunions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here with family and will definitely come back. The service was excellent; valet parking was prompt, attentive. Check-in staff very friendly and engaging.

The lobby is gorgeous and the free coffee and tea in the lobby was fresh, even at 9:00 PM. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. Plenty of pillows.

The breakfast buffet is fresh, hot and offered a variety. The omelet bar was fabulous – I hope they do not take this away and replace it with a ‘bistro’ as other Courtyards have done.

This is directly across from the Tacoma Convention Center and conveniently located within the old downtown area.

The pool was clean and nice sized. The spa was very nice – great staff who will work with your schedule to get you in for a massage or other spa treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CougRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
We're so glad you had a chance to enjoy the spa! It is a special treat for those wanting to "escape from it all" and feel like they are at a resort. Hotel guests get a special discount at the spa - up to 20% off certain services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Wish more courtyards would be this good. Passionate staff (not just the professional front desk staff, but all the staff we saw greeted me). Nice suite room (604 was an extended-length room, with views of all the attractions). Two minuses - when both the room keys needed rekeying when returning to the hotel in evening at the end of a long touristy day, no apology or offer from the front-desk staff. Twice I was impacted by staff in training (made it ok as they 'in training" label, but why so many people in training?).

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank djlund999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
We are lucky to be located near a university and community colleges that give us an applicant pool of students who want to work while in school. When they graduate, they move on to their fields of choice and we always wish them well. Customer service counts in any career!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an in-town getaway for two nights. We were going to be frequenting downtown Tacoma over St. Patty's day weekend and didn't want to have to deal with parking and driving. The price was reasonable and I thought the room was very nice. We got a king bed and the room also had a couch. It had a big TV that swiveled to either face the couch or the bed. The staff was incredibly friendly, from the front desk to the valet. Overall I was very satisfied and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwgate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Local getaways can be just as fun as flying somewhere for a weekend but cost a lot less! In addition to the large screen TVs, the rooms have a DVD player and free movie library with over 250 movies to choose from. Thank you for staying, and please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel for a conference at the convention centre, which is conveniently located directly across the street. This allowed me to zip back and forth throughout the day and avoid carrying too much around with me.

The front desk staff were especially friendly and accommodating.

I left an item in my room and they shipped it to me the same day - great service!

It's close to the museum of glass and several nice public spaces in downtown Tacoma.

I had to valet my car as the self-park lots were full from other guests and conference attendees, but it only cost $4 more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
The Front Desk staff like getting to know our guests and sharing information about great places to go and things to do. We're glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
728 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nice property; not built in the typical "courtyard" format since it is in a renovated building. The only unique thing is the parking lot is not directly attached to the property, but across the street.

Nice public spaces for colleagues to visit. Within walking distance to the YMCA, a local grocer, a park (15-20 minutes), the international glass museum, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago90Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
This Courtyard is more urban than many. The hotel was added onto the historic Waddell Building built in 1896. There are six special suites in the historic part of the building with spa showers or jetted tubs, some with a four-poster bed and others with a king size Murphy bed that folds up so you have a spacious living area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.2 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Marriott
Tacoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing