We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, wow, wow, wow, wow...stunning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Sumner, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow, wow, wow...stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wow factor- the second you step through the doors! I'm pretty sure I saw *sparkles* in several areas of the glittering lobby and I know I heard angelic chimes several times.

Check-in was efficient, helpful and directed us to the new Bistro where we could order cocktails, appetizers and dinner. The room was pretty with an oversized chair and ottoman in the corner- still waiting on artwork to arrive. We didn't use the pool or fitness room but after dinner, we lounged in the huge and ultra stylish "den" and library - I could have sat there all night browsing their coffee table books. It was a friendly, fun atmosphere.

We took an evening stroll East (I think) of the hotel and it was just magical...lots of historic buildings, cute shops and people out with their dogs at the U of W campus. On our way back to the hotel, we noticed a lovely fragrance from the honeysuckle bushes (?) wafting through the air- not what I expected at a hotel that's smack dab in the middle of commercial high rises. It seems they thought of everything.

And Starbucks served in the Bistro each morning?! Just awesome. Overall, it was a charming, stylish, downtown, weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North so you can see the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myflowergirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you! We are super pleased with the remodel; and it makes all the hassle of being under renovation worth it to hear your positive response to the changes. We redecorated the guest rooms and redesigned the public spaces, adding The Bistro - where people can "Eat, Drink and Connect." I'm glad you had fun discovering some of the books in our "library" area. Many of the books are about the local area or are written by local people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    118
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
72
51
15
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough about this property! We travel to Tacoma every year and I will never stay anywhere else! The staff was great, rooms were awesome, clean and the overall property is beautiful!! It is in the perfect location as well. Honestly, this is the nicest Courtyard I have stayed in. I do have to mention more about the staff. They are professional, friendly and genuinely show care and concern if there are issues! I will return here for sure!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2traval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our staff - they truly enjoy taking care of our guests. Thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The best thing about the Courtyard Tacoma is the location. Both the Convention Center and the Tacoma Art Museum are just across the street as well as a terrific Children's Museum. The room is standard Courtyard fare with extra large windows providing lots of city and port views. Just steps away from the hotel on the corner is Pacific Grill, an elegant restaurant well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacinMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Pacific Grill has a great restaurant AND they provide the food for all our meetings and banquet groups. They are fabulous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I walked in and was immediately impressed. Very nice looking Courtyard that is modern, spacious, has a welcoming staff, in a great location with comfortable rooms and beds, the place is very clean throughout. Valet and self-park are available for $14 and $10, respectively. There is a nice restaurant on the corner with a fantastic happy hour and food. I stayed 3 nights on business and was excited to be in a great hotel. But, a couple of important ammenities were lacking: the fitness room and wi-fi. I just don't understand how a hotel can spend this much money on renovations and completely overlook these very important necessities. The wi-fi, even the 'enhanced version' is mostly worthless and I found even cellular data was faster. The gym is too small. It's busy, guests are using the facility, but it is very cramped and sweaty smelling in there. There is cardio equipment jammed in there to accomodate the usage, but there is little room to stretch or move about comfortably. Additionally, the equipment is not well maintained and outdated. They have a bowflex dumbell system...bowflex is garbage and uncomfortable, throw it out and get a dumbell rack with weights up to 50 pounds. The cardio machines are squeeky, broken and in need of maintenance or preferably complete upgrade to new. These two things stick out like a sore thumb in such a nice hotel, it's too bad more attention was not focused here during their beautiful renovation. Overall, I would stay here again, the hotel is just too nice and staff very hospitable. I hope they improve the wi-fi and expand/improve the gym, when that happens, it's 5 starts for a Courtyard level hotel. Thanks!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dc2011dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
As of today, the pipe and drape curtains are down and the beautifully renovated Bistro is open for business! We serve Starbucks coffee all day, offer breakfast from 6:30am-10am; and serve dinner and cocktails from 5pm-10pm. The ables, couches and booths in our public spaces now have plug-ins for eazy access to your technology. If wi-fi service is slow, please let the Front Desk staff know. It may be possible that we can improve your access by contacting our IT provider. Options are being considered for the fitness room, and your comments are helpful. Thank you for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel says it is under renovation and there is one area of the lobby that is still cordoned off, but the rooms- at least the one i stayed in was absolutely beautiful. I heard no construction noise. Everything smells new and the suite was spotless. Hotel lobby was nice, work out room acceptable and front desk friendly. One draw back--my pet peeve--no safe in the room. Good coffee and nice breakfast with freshly scrambled eggs. Apples and oranges at the front desk and a little marketplace for snacks. Beds were comfortable with brand new linens--really feels new and fresh. Nice work on the renovation.

Room Tip: Suites are really nice and spacious. Top floors look out on the port which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Voila! The new lobby, media center and Bistro are now open with fresh breakfast options and taste-pleasing dinner entrees. There is even a bar and communal table for socializing at the end of your day. Regarding a safe: safe deposit boxes available at the Front Desk. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've stayed here numerous times on trips to visit my in-laws and this place works perfectly for my family of four. The kids love the pool and they have a decent little work-out room that I've used.

The hotel is right in the middle of everything. It's a short walk to the Glass museum, for instance. And a five-minute trip on the trolley to the car museum.

There are several decent places to eat and some nice bars in walking distance, too.

The rooms and hallways have been spruced up recently and the lobby area appears to be almost finished. It gives the place a much more modern appearance than the photos on Trip Advisor. it's always clean as a whistle.

The staff here are as helpful and friendly as any you'll find. They are top notch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoe301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
hank you for staying! We are very excited for the new Courtyard Bistro to open soon. Guests will be able to enjoy breakfast in the morning and then return for appetizers, dinner and cocktails in the evening. The new decor is modern and welcoming with several places for guests to gather together or to "plug in" and work while having a bite to eat. We can hardly wait to unveil our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

They were under construction, so the lobby was a mess. However, the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Not impressed with the business center, but maybe it will be improved. Breakfast was cook to order, and chef was friendly and helpful. Waitstaff was slow. Supposed to have a Starbucks soon. Fitness center nice. The pool looked clean. My room was spacious. Bathroom was nice. Bed comfy. Nice sofa and work area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbk96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for staying during our remodeling period. I am pleased to announce that we now have several complimentary business computers as well as two stations dedicated to printing boarding passes. The business library and media center will allow several people to work simultaneously. Starbucks held their first day of training with us yesterday, and we are looking forward to offering espressos and lattes when the Bistro opens at the end of this month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Marriott
Tacoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing