We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facility & great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was my second stay at the Tacoma Courtyard. This stay was as good as the first. The staff at the Courtyard are cheerful and welcoming. They were pleasant to interact with. The hotel itself is in excellent shape and very up to date. Free wifi, lots of electrical outlets, nice TV, clean room, and a great bed. I came back a 2nd time because my first experience was excellent. My second stay was just as good.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your loyalty! We love getting to know our repeat customers and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in Tacoma recently and stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Tacoma Downtown. This courtyard is downtown and close to the convention center and other downtown business.
This is one of the new upgrades and is very comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful, rooms are great.

Room Tip: Great Location in Tacoma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P51rayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Two very important factors when selecting a hotel are consistently clean rooms and consistently friendly staff. We are so proud to have both! Thank you for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff here is always so warm and welcoming--the desk staff is smiling and eager to help with whatever you need from directions to recommendations for things to do and see. My wife came with me on this trip in February and she felt very comfortable here. The area is pleasant and safe for walking to and from restaurants and the museums.

Breakfast is a bit crowded and it took us awhile to get our food, but otherwise, no issues with the food service here.

Renovation finishing up and it is clean and fresh. I like to stay here more than some of the other hotels in the downtown area--this hotel has not disappointed me yet!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PQuiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you! The Bistro is now open for dinner (5-10PM) as well as breakfast (6:30-10AM). And Starbucks coffee is available 24 hours a day - just place your order at the Front Desk when the Bistro is closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here on several work trips to Tacoma area. Great location right downtown next to the convention center. Very typical (and good) of the "new" courtyard motif. Friendly staff and reasonably priced valet parking. Decent breakfast.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem the same, some have a view of downtown better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Glad you like the new look - it's much more contemporary, yet classy. We would love for our travelers to SHARE PICTURES of the new design. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for our niece's wedding, and it was crazy busy! There was construction up to our visit, and the bar area was still under construction during our time here. There was also a convention of high school students staying here, and that caused a plethora of challenges in itself. Namely getting the wedding party in the elevator. There are only two elevators and they were always busy and always full of kids. Very annoying to say the least. But I don't know how else to get around it. it was just a bad time to plan a wedding, with the hopes of getting to the venue in time. However no one at the hotel "warned" us about this. I will say the location is great, with lots to choose from for meals and activities.

Room Tip: Make sure there are no "kid conventions" if you want to have a restful visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearymom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

The renovation is complete, and the Bistro is serving up hot Starbucks and fresh meals both morning and night. Thank you for staying during a crazy time - we appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

3 nights for a business trip. The front desk staff was very helpful with check-in and directions. The hotel is a few steps from the downtown Tacoma rail line and right around the corner from a busy bus stop, making it very easy to get around the entire Seattle-Tacoma area.

The property was being remodeled when I arrived but there wasn't a hint of noise, dust, or debris from my room, which was very clean and modern. I self-parked, which was a tremendous headache due to the layout of their shared parking lots (I would suggest using the valet service).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for staying during our renovation. You should see our public areas now - with beautiful and convenient spaces to visit with friends, work on your lab top, or watch TV on the 60" screen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Remodeled, upscale, and very welcoming hotel. Staff friendly, rate was reasonable, valet parking around $14, great deal. Loved the bar area... Only drawback was breakfast. You order at the front then go sit down, and it took us almost thirty min to get our food - and they were not busy. Everyone was awkwardly sitting around waiting for food, and they forgot to bring our drinks etc. The breakfast options were also limited, so I recommend going elsewhere for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TravelingTexans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I'm sorry about the slow service at breakfast. Our staff has become more efficient and we've learned we need more people in the kitchen. Next visit, service should be smooth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,391 reviews
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range: £122 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Marriott
Tacoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing