We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This place needs updating and a good carpet cleaning. Another reviewer had said that we would get a full breakfast at an adjacent restaurant, but it was really just the old tired buffet with rubber sausage or ham, potatoes and eggs. These never work out well for us, so we opted to go to an IHOP nearby.. The air conditioning in our first room wasn't working too well, so had to move at 11 pm, which didn't help our sleep or mood. The maintenance man said "you can open the window", but we couldn't get it open much, and there was no screen, so that was a no-go. Would NOT stay there again. Their book of amenities has some wrong information -- a room service menu for breakfast is mentioned (that was not possible), times for the buffet are wrong, etc. The staff did try to help, but there was only so much they could do. It was close to the Lemay Car Museum on our agenda, but going out to breakfast kind of ruined that perk.

Room Tip: I have no idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    239
    144
    33
    33
See reviews for
178
179
35
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location is convenient to the Amtrak train station (ask for shuttle pickup), the I5 freeway, and downtown on the free light rail two blocks away. We arrived late by train and were picked up promptly and then checked in as promptly. The service is from 9am-10pm each day. We had a very nice sized room facing downtown and the harbor beyond. What a lovely view from our 5th floor room. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious. The free breakfast was very good with hot food served on real china and good coffee served all day. We took the shuttle to the top of the hill area, arranged by friendly service of the front desk. Excellent parking was free onsite. If one is going to a Tacoma Dome event, it is literally right next door.
We loved Tacoma and the three museum pass to see the art, history, and glass museums. It was all made easier staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The neighborhood is a bit seedy; we were somewhat concerned when driving up to the property. However, parking (free) is beneath the hotel proper and is monitored, and garage-level elevator access to the hotel is room key controlled. This BW is very nice, clean, friendly staff, with large array of breakfast choices. It is also very well positioned for Tacoma sightseeing, which we greatly enjoyed (Museum of Glass and Point Deception Park especially memorable).

Room Tip: High floor away from busy freeways
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I'm surprised this hotel is not better rated on Tripadvisor. We pulled up expecting a so so motel after reading the reviews only to arrive at a nice looking hotel. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and although our two queen room wasn't huge, there was plenty of room for the beds and a small seating area as well. The room had a fridge and microwave which I always appreciate, the bathroom was on the smaller size but comfortable and updated with a granite looking countertop. Most importantly the beds were comfy pillow tops (I've got a bad back and am really picky about my hotel beds!).
The breakfast wasn't the best hotel one I've ever had but it was better than most with quite a few hot options such as scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy etc. They also had decent coffee and you have breakfast in their restaurant so there's plenty of seating and real plates and flatware which is nicer than most free ones.
All of this would normally cause me to give the hotel 4 stars but what bands it up a star is the awesome location! From the name and the many reviews you all know this place is close to the Tacoma Dome but it's also a fantastic location for seeing Downtown Tacoma. We had never spent any time in Tacoma before but it's an amazing city with lots to see and you can do it all while leaving your car in the parking lot of the hotel (parking is free too!). There is a light rail station a block away and the light rail will take you right into Downtown in just a few minutes (it only goes 1.6 miles) The light rail is free and runs every 12 to 22 minutes depending on the day. We had a blast jumping on and off as we saw things we wanted to check out. Even better the Almond Roca factory is only a couple of blocks away! They give tons of free samples and have amazing deals on all their treats so make sure you walk over.
The only thing this hotel lacks is a swimming pool but other than it's a great choice for seeing Tacoma or even just spending a quick night on the way to somewhere else (it's close to the I5)

Room Tip: If you're traveling with others keep in mind they have two double bed rooms and two queen rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackberryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Absolute Rubbish....no help at all. Staff arrogant and rude. No help a all for travellers. And I stupidly thought this was your core business ?? Silly me ... thinking a hotel was in the customer service business ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank annie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are not able to find a place to stay in Seattle during UW graduation period with a reasonable price that we are willing to pay. Tacoma isn't that far from Seattle and that is where we found this hidden gem. Excellent service, very clean room. Sleep quality is good. We are so impressed that we went back to on the fourth day of out stay in Seattle area. Strongly recommended and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

recent stay in Tacoma, The only thing plus about this hotel is location near to tourist venues. The carpeting in the entire hotel needs to be replaced, it is filthy. The hotel website states a full breakfast is included. Because this hotel has a restaurant, dining room and a lounge, I expected a full, made to order breakfast, not the usual buffet with cold scrambled eggs, watery juice, and coffee in paper cups. Had dinner in the dining room. To call it dining is a stretch. The hotel does have a free shuttle to within 5 miles. Took us to a shopping mall and picked us up. That was best part of stay at this hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room NOT looking at Tacoma Dome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
3.2 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Address: 2611 E E St, Tacoma, WA 98421-1225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome is a full service, upscale, corporate hotel. Our 162 guest sleeping rooms are quiet, well appointed and designed for optimal guest comfort. Completely remodeled in 2006, our guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable TV, in-room movies, clock radios, coffeemakers, microwaves, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, and hairdryers. All of our guests enjoy complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tacoma Dome Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing