We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    84
    84
    76
    70
See reviews for
186
65
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the deluxe hot tub room online. When we checked in they informed us that the website had "oversold" the rooms and they had to put us in a different room without the hot tub. They didn't even offer a discount or anything for the inconvenience..I had to ask for a discount. They blamed the booking site (which was THEIR website) for the issue...they couldn't even admit it was their fault. Oh..and they knew of the over booking early in the day and didn't bother to call or email me. That's bad service.

The room was two hotel rooms connected, so it was big..and awkward. Instead of having one bed in one room and another in the first room with the tiny old couch they put them both in the second room. For parents with multiple children this meant no privacy. Not to mention the really awful layout of the living room area. Only one lamp in the living room..it was so dark!

The room was very clean though, they had new tvs and the woman at the front desk was really nice. That's the positive things I have to say.

Back to the issues..
No smoke alarm in the second room..just wires hanging out of where one is supposed to go.
Holes the size of my thumb in both closets.
No comforter on beds. Just thin fuzzy blankets between two sheets..its COLD out people!! We were cold all night!
Wires for the phone and cable were strewn about all crazy like...we have a dog and a two year old..This is a safety hazard.
The toilet in the first room was clogged and tried to overflow. And the toilet in the second bathroom ran the whole time.
The curtain was busted.
There was sharp metal sticking out the back of the chair in the living room..again a safety hazard for kids.
Towels were frayed and mis matched.
Blankets had stains and holes.
Breakfast was simple. The only fruit was bananas that were overly ripe..my kids filled up on carbs.

Honestly the hotel could be so much nicer if they spent more time and money on maintenance! Also on new bedding and towels.

I don't like leaving negative reviews, but I'm leaving this one so that hopefully they will make some improvements.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kickstartmyheart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your response. It was a pleasure speaking with you directly in regards to your recent stay at our property. I'm happy I was able to provide a resolution to your concerns. Knowing that all issues that were addressed in your response have been rectified and completed I welcome you and your family's return to Tacoma. Once again we look forward to accommodating you back on your future stay in Tacoma. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the property with any additional questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Country
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Room was quiet and clean. Good cable tv.
The day clerk, Monica, was superb. Very professional and she answered all my questions with a smile. The night clerk was a bit grouchy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Monica is a great asset to our team and I'm happy to know she was professional and was able to answer all of your questions. I'll ensure that she reads this review and is given proper recognition. We are always looking for ways to give great service to our guests and I will address the issue of the grouchy night clerk. Our expanded cable is a great feature and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you again for talking time out of your day to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Excellend rates. This is one of the best motels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank mkb102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your comment. I'm happy to hear your stay was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Tacoma
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
#15 of 28 in Tacoma
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Hosmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
6.9 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB

Property: Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
Address: 8726 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1837 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma/Joint Base Lewis-McChord)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Interstate 5 the Howard Johnson Inn And Suites has been newly remodeled. Within minutes of Joint Base Lewis-McCord and Madigan Army Hospital we are a perfect fit for long term stays with numerous two room suites. The Tacoma Dome and Tacoma Area Conference Center are close by without the burden of the Downtown Tacoma traffic. We offer free Continental Breakfast and free Wi-Fi internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. Go for a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool and spa. Our hotel offers guest laundry service and free parking for vehicles of any size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing