We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle(Tacoma)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Murano(Tacoma)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shilo Inns Tacoma(Tacoma)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
58
88
90
82
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
88
90
82
103
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the deluxe hot tub room online. When we checked in they informed us that the website had "oversold" the rooms and they had to put us in a different room without the hot tub. They didn't even offer a discount or anything for the inconvenience..I had to ask for a discount. They blamed the booking site (which was THEIR website) for the issue...they couldn't even admit it was their fault. Oh..and they knew of the over booking early in the day and didn't bother to call or email me. That's bad service.

The room was two hotel rooms connected, so it was big..and awkward. Instead of having one bed in one room and another in the first room with the tiny old couch they put them both in the second room. For parents with multiple children this meant no privacy. Not to mention the really awful layout of the living room area. Only one lamp in the living room..it was so dark!

The room was very clean though, they had new tvs and the woman at the front desk was really nice. That's the positive things I have to say.

Back to the issues..
No smoke alarm in the second room..just wires hanging out of where one is supposed to go.
Holes the size of my thumb in both closets.
No comforter on beds. Just thin fuzzy blankets between two sheets..its COLD out people!! We were cold all night!
Wires for the phone and cable were strewn about all crazy like...we have a dog and a two year old..This is a safety hazard.
The toilet in the first room was clogged and tried to overflow. And the toilet in the second bathroom ran the whole time.
The curtain was busted.
There was sharp metal sticking out the back of the chair in the living room..again a safety hazard for kids.
Towels were frayed and mis matched.
Blankets had stains and holes.
Breakfast was simple. The only fruit was bananas that were overly ripe..my kids filled up on carbs.

Honestly the hotel could be so much nicer if they spent more time and money on maintenance! Also on new bedding and towels.

I don't like leaving negative reviews, but I'm leaving this one so that hopefully they will make some improvements.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank kickstartmyheart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your response. It was a pleasure speaking with you directly in regards to your recent stay at our property. I'm happy I was able to provide a resolution to your concerns. Knowing that all issues that were addressed in your response have been rectified and completed I welcome you and your family's return to Tacoma. Once again we look forward to accommodating you back on your future stay in Tacoma. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the property with any additional questions or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews