We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas stay with son, who is in the army.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is our second time staying at this facility. This time I got the double room. It was very nice to have 2 bathrooms and extra space to sit and visit with family. Employees VERY NICE. they went way out of way to make sure our stay was good. On request we got a microwave and mini fridge for our room. Good selection of food for breakfast. Very clean facility. This is located right off the highway and if you make a left out of the motel, its just a couple blocks away from all kinds of restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Hello, Thank you for staying with us. I’m glad your stay here was pleasant and our staff was helpful. Being centrally located near JBLM is great. I’m happy to know we were able to provide ac comfortable stay while you were here visiting your son. Please consider us in the future when you travels bring you back to Tacoma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lisette T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the deluxe hot tub room online. When we checked in they informed us that the website had "oversold" the rooms and they had to put us in a different room without the hot tub. They didn't even offer a discount or anything for the inconvenience..I had to ask for a discount. They blamed the booking site (which was THEIR website) for the issue...they couldn't even admit it was their fault. Oh..and they knew of the over booking early in the day and didn't bother to call or email me. That's bad service.

The room was two hotel rooms connected, so it was big..and awkward. Instead of having one bed in one room and another in the first room with the tiny old couch they put them both in the second room. For parents with multiple children this meant no privacy. Not to mention the really awful layout of the living room area. Only one lamp in the living room..it was so dark!

The room was very clean though, they had new tvs and the woman at the front desk was really nice. That's the positive things I have to say.

Back to the issues..
No smoke alarm in the second room..just wires hanging out of where one is supposed to go.
Holes the size of my thumb in both closets.
No comforter on beds. Just thin fuzzy blankets between two sheets..its COLD out people!! We were cold all night!
Wires for the phone and cable were strewn about all crazy like...we have a dog and a two year old..This is a safety hazard.
The toilet in the first room was clogged and tried to overflow. And the toilet in the second bathroom ran the whole time.
The curtain was busted.
There was sharp metal sticking out the back of the chair in the living room..again a safety hazard for kids.
Towels were frayed and mis matched.
Blankets had stains and holes.
Breakfast was simple. The only fruit was bananas that were overly ripe..my kids filled up on carbs.

Honestly the hotel could be so much nicer if they spent more time and money on maintenance! Also on new bedding and towels.

I don't like leaving negative reviews, but I'm leaving this one so that hopefully they will make some improvements.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank kickstartmyheart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your response. It was a pleasure speaking with you directly in regards to your recent stay at our property. I'm happy I was able to provide a resolution to your concerns. Knowing that all issues that were addressed in your response have been rectified and completed I welcome you and your family's return to Tacoma. Once again we look forward to accommodating you back on your future stay in Tacoma. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the property with any additional questions or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
6.9 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Hosmer
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 27 in Tacoma
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
#16 of 27 in Tacoma
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB

Address: 8726 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1837 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma/Joint Base Lewis-McChord)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range: £48 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Interstate 5 the Howard Johnson Inn And Suites has been newly remodeled. Within minutes of Joint Base Lewis-McCord and Madigan Army Hospital we are a perfect fit for long term stays with numerous two room suites. The Tacoma Dome and Tacoma Area Conference Center are close by without the burden of the Downtown Tacoma traffic. We offer free Continental Breakfast and free Wi-Fi internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. Go for a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool and spa. Our hotel offers guest laundry service and free parking for vehicles of any size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing