We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Terrible Dining Experience”

Marzano's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 751 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, Terrible Dining Experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Seriously, the food is great here. What’s not great is paying premium prices to be packed into a room like cord wood – or maybe some cut rate airline. Seriously, I was in a room the size of my living room with 40 other guests. The noise level was deafening, and I could barely move in my own seat. Add to that the wiat staff that provides only so-so service and expects top tips... The food is great, but the rest of it just isn’t worth it.

This is my second review of this restaurant, my first was significantly better.

Seriously, there are more enjoyable places. Avoid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jbottero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    30
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FOOD”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Amazing Italian food, got the halibut and fresh seafood special with Zucchini blossom Risotto. Oh. MY. Goodness!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Good addition to the Parkland area of Tacoma, WS”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

My husband ordered their Ceasar Salad & was extremely pleased. I had the chichen w/capers over linguini & wasn't so pleased. Chicken was to poultry tasting..like it had been cooked in a liquid. Service was mediocre at best & long periods of time passed before the waiter made appearances for such chores as refilling glasses, etc. I would advise them to add a spaghetti w/ olive oil & garlic. A simple, tasty dish that shoukd have a prominent place on an italian restaurant's menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onekathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOUD, CRAMPED and UNCOMFORTABLE”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Cramped and uncomfortable dining experience. Tables are too close to one another. The music is too loud and conversation very difficult. You are more apt to hear dialogue from the tables that surround you than from your date across from you. Do not accept a table in the corner as you are likely to be pinned in by a party of six arriving after you. Food is good. Service is a bit rushed but friendly. Simply no room to move!! No intimacy in this dining venue at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Heard it was a good restaurant. It exceeded my expectations. Great service and excellent food. Everything was fresh and hot. We will return when in that city again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Politi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marzano's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing