We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong”
Review of Vuelve A La Vida

Vuelve A La Vida
Ranked #103 of 749 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
United States
Level Contributor
326 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Food is fresh and plentiful.

Ordered two tacos: beef cheeks and carnitas

Both stuffed with meat and only $2.50 each! Had no room left to try anything else, but would love to come back again and work my way through the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing food! A must go!!!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Every time we go here, we have nothing but the best food and service! Try the arroz con pollo or just a big burrito! :) you will not regret it!!! Take friends and family! Also have great margaritas!! Still a family friendly place though.. :) if Fortas are your thing, they are also delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
247 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Truly authentic Mexican Food ...”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Very good authentic Mexican food ... it's not that westernized Mexican food sold at other so-called authentic Mexican restaurants, like Azteca, El Toro, Chevy's, etc.. And yes, like all local eating establishments in Mexico, there are no chips and salsa here ... chip & Salsa is strictly an American thing.

The service is okay ... it can get a bit slow when the place is packed.

The decor reminds me a little of a beach side tavern in Mexico ... and I'm not talking about those touristy beaches. During their busy time, finding a place to park can be problematic.

Bottom line - if you want good truly authentic Mexican food, Vuelve A La Vida should be on top of your list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank treerod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the great pacific northwest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No chips and salsa, just really good food”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is the best Mexican food west of the Cascades.
Today I had the three enchiladas combo. Muy bueno. Great mole. Generous helping of guacamole. Plus rice, beans and a fried steak or slab of chicken on the side. The plate was heavy with food - at least two meals and a sandwich there.
Their tamales are very good, too. And the pork torta, which is jammed with sweet moist meat with a little crust on the end, is the best around.
Don't forget to wash it all down with an ice cold beer.
By the way, I'm on crutches and the waitress was nice enough to bring a menu to my car and bring my food out to me. That is service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dybdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Washington State”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

And I heard this in Yakima, Washington, where they have some exceptional Mexican restaurants! Authentic, hand-made on the spot, flavorful, unique. In a tiny stip mall, you'll miss it if you blink....but that would be a big mistake.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vuelve A La Vida also viewed

 

Been to Vuelve A La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing