We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed (must have been an off day)”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Vuelve A La Vida

Vuelve A La Vida
Ranked #103 of 747 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed (must have been an off day)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

After reading the glowing reviews for this place, we had high hopes for a good lunch. The tables were full when we walked in and the wait staff seemed to be familiar with most of the patrons (always a good sign). However, we were very disappointed with the food. The highly-recommended ceviche was awful. It had very little flavor, and a tough, dry texture that made it inedible. The corn tortillas bordered on stale, and the guacamole was bland and gummy. The other plates (chicken and carnitas tacos, pork tamales, cabeza burrito) arrived lukewarm (not hot) and were par for the course--decent but lacking any depth of flavor. The carnitas were the winner here, but sadly that's not saying much. It must have been a bad day in the kitchen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiscuitNGravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“This SO good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have visited here before, my wife had an entire fried fish, it was amazing. I am not as courageous and had a shredded pork burrito. I have had hundreds if not thousands of burritos and this is special. The pork is shredded and crispy, just delicious. It is a clean very friendly place, it puts you at home immediately, like family. I know that sounds different, but we felt at home. Food is Great and the people are real.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1tracman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent and a great value!! Go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Came based on other trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The food was homemade and excellent. Great flavors and a very good value. We will come back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
237 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best Margarita's and Authentic Mexican Hole-in-the-Wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Ate dinner here with family who live nearby at their suggestion. The place is a non-descript building, didn't have A/C and was a bit run-down, but all that aside, this was by far the best Mexican meal I've had in years. The Margarita was made with fresh limes and was not too sweet and at $4.50 was a real bargain. The meal was served quickly and made to order and it was all delicious. The fajitas were popular, the tamale amazing and the mole was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliciaPhxtoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
327 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Food is fresh and plentiful.

Ordered two tacos: beef cheeks and carnitas

Both stuffed with meat and only $2.50 each! Had no room left to try anything else, but would love to come back again and work my way through the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vuelve A La Vida also viewed

 

Been to Vuelve A La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing