We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bakery goodies around”
Review of Corina Bakery

Corina Bakery
Ranked #1 of 14 Bakeries in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Restaurant details
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best bakery goodies around”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Corina Bakery is next to The Grand Theater. Stop in for a treat before or after the movies. They serve many different types of tea and have coffee to go along with all their great baked items. Prices are in line. Clean with lots of seating area. Each day they have special items-all good and hard to pick a favorite.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average but probably because it was late.....”
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

We stopped on our way back to the hotel to grab a sweet - really wanted a cupcake - and bought a piece of Red Velvet Cake and powdered glazed Brownie. The pickins were slim because it was close to closing but my husband raved about the brownie - deep chocolate, rich and big in size - maybe 3x5. The cake was a little dry but the frosting made up for it because it was thick, sweet and yummy. But it couldn't compare to the white cupcake we had our mouths set to. They only had the brownies, a couple of gluten-free choices (if you're in to that, they looked to possibly cater to the crowd) and 2 types of cake to pick from. It is situated in the Arts district and is right next door to an artsy movie theatre - cool place.

Helpful?
Thank kalitaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A 'little place'...”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The pastries were 'to die for'! You've got to try the scones, cheesecake and cookies! Forget the 'calories' - it'll be worth it! Wish we could've had it shipped back home!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kawa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cakes and pastry to die for! Cafe just okay.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

As an artisan bakery, Corina is a welcome addition to Tacoma. They bake everything from scratch using organic ingredients, and I have yet to be disappointed. I especially recommend ordering their cakes for special occasions. The quality is miles above Safeway or Costco, and the price is not outrageous, given what you get.

The cafe space is not terribly attractive, with tables scattered along the walls of three different rooms. At least they keep the music volume reasonably low. (The inability to escape Cafe Muzak is yet another gigantic grudge that I hold against Starbuck's.)

They have the usual menu of espresso drinks, and the counter help is friendly, helpful and definitely alternative.

A nice place to end up after a indie flick at the Grand or a visit to the Conservatory at Wright Park. Check it out!

SPECIAL NOTE: The address listed above is wrong! Corina moved next to the Grand Tacoma Cinema near Wright Park (602 Fawcett Ave.). Google their web site for directions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have tried Corina's several times, we really want to like it, the people are nice, the location is very convenient for us, but the product is just, well, bland. It doesn't taste bad, it just doesn't wow you with flavor and richness.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thermwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corina Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Corina Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing