We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Get Away”

Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trout Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Trout Lake B&B and Inns
Vancouver, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Get Away”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I had never been to Trout Lake, Washington so we decided to check it out to celebrate our 3 month anniversary. Not knowing exactly where to stay, we chose Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast and were really pleased with our experience.

First...a little about Trout Lake. If you are an outdoors-type person, this is a great place to visit!Trout Lake is situated about a half-hour north of Hood River, Oregon (on the Washington side) at the base of Mt. Adams. The scenery and hiking are amazing - just as good as Mount Hood or better. The town itself is small - but has the necessary essentials (general store, gas station, one or two small restaurants, etc). To find out information about hiking, check out the Ranger Station which is a mile north of town. The rangers can give you lots of maps and advice about where to go. We chose a 10 mile hike just 5 miles north of town. After our day-long hike, we decided to drive down to Hood River for beer and pizza at Double Mountain. Things we didn't have time for: rafting on the White Salmon (many outfitters on your way into town); biking (lots of good hills); visiting the Wildlife Refuge. If you are into snowshoeing or cross-country skiing, this seems like it would be the perfect place to visit in the winter.

Anyway...a little more about the B&B. It is located "in-town" and really close to Mount Adams. Kelly and Marilyn were our hosts and are super nice and hospitable. We chose one of the more inexpensive rooms for our stay but since we were the only ones staying there that weekend, they upgraded us to their best room! The Creekside Suite has lots of windows which, when open, allow you to hear the rush of the creek all night long. The room itself was very inviting and comfortable. It had a private outside staircase and a little balcony which allowed us to explore the yard and creek. Our breakfasts were large and very tasty. Marilyn and Kelly made great huckleberry pancakes, quiche, eggs, sausage, etc. There was always plenty of coffee, tea, and orange juice to go around. We ended one of our evenings with a soak in the hot tub which sits next to the creek. All in all, we thought this place was very inviting and a great value. P & H, Vancouver, WA

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My boyfriend and I had both been working very hard and wanted to have a quiet, romantic weekend together, and get some hiking in, as well. We chose Kelly's because of the proximity to good hiking. Kelly's is a cute place to stay. We stayed in the victorian room, which had a private bathroom and was decorated according to the theme. We loved the hot tub, and the breakfast was spectacular. We were also treated to some leftover pie, which was delicious. It is a great value for the price.

The main problem was that the owner, Kelly, was so friendly and chatty, that we found ourselves politely listening to him talk about music for over an hour, when we were trying to read quietly in front of the fire. I should add that we really weren't part of the conversation. He was just telling us story after story, and even made us listen to songs off of his favorite CDs. We eventually retreated to our room, just to have some privacy and quiet, but it was too early to go to bed and we would have loved to be snuggling in front of the fire in the living room. The next morning, we enjoyed our breakfast and were ready to get on our way, and again we found ourselves entangled in a lengthy conversation with Kelly, when we really just wanted to get to the hiking trails. I feel bad leaving a negative review, because Kelly and Marilyn were both so nice. I just think it should be stated that this is a great place to bring the family, and a nice place to spend the night while passing through, but not a good romantic getaway spot, as we had been hoping for.

I will also say that since we stayed there in the off-season and we were the only guests, Kelly may have been more chatty than usual, as none of the other reviewers seem to mention having this problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kbrickne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Kelly and his wife, Marilyn are really great hosts. Marilyn cooked an amazing breakfast of quiche, potatoes, sausage, fresh fruit, and huckleberry-zucchini pancakes...delicious!! Kelly is great to talk to and the grounds are beautiful. We stayed in the Creekside Suite and although there was a shared bathroom, we never had a problem getting into the bathroom when we needed it as the other room on the floor had a 1/2 bath. The bed, although from first glance, I was worried that it was old and uncomfortable, was actually one of the most comfy beds I have slept on in a B&B. There is a really great restaurant down the street called Serenity's if you are looking for a very nice, romantic meal. It was a lovely way to spend our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Richland, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The B&B is an excellent, quiet location for playing on/around Mt. Adams, the breakfasts were outstanding, and the setting is very beautiful next to the creek which cascades down into little pools beside the yard. Kelly & Marilyn were great hosts, and it was a very memorable stay with them. Thoroughly enjoyed: general friendly atmosphere, food, Marilyn's dried floral artwork, Kelly's music collection/knowledge, info provided on local hiking/activities, and beautiful Mt. Adams. Hated: Mosquitoes. Bring plenty of reliable bug repellent!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boochsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Stayed for just one night en route to Mount Hood, travelling from the UK. We were met by Kelly who is a great host, very welcoming and friendly; he clearly enjoys meeting new people and particularly discussing music taste and concerts. We had the largest room which overlooks the creek and it was lovely. For when it got dark our room had a video and loads of films. The inn is a very old building and is charming. Marilyn cooked an extensive breakfast in the morning, lovely and very filling! Hot tub adjacent to the stream and Wi-fi in rooms.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claudiaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I came here for a reunion with a couple of childhood friends. We had a great time having our dinner on the patio right next to the lovely creek. Not only was the inn charming and clean, but I was really surprised to have free wireless internet in my room!! Marilyn and Kelly make a great team running the place, and their kitchen craft is formidable. We'll certainly be back.

Also, the most expensive room is $70, which is less than the average price quoted here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Wandering51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We went for an event in Trout Lake and discovered a little piece of heaven. We arrived to a friendly greeting by Kelly, were given the tour and pretty much were astounded by their Inn. Kelly was not only the friendliest host I have ever encountered but made my wife and I feel comfortable and welcomed (which is not a familiar feeling these days; i.e. customer service). Anyway, we enjoyed the hot tub while watching the roaring stream roll by (which is about 20 feet from the hot tub), we listened to wonderful music and were given a very friendly run down of the goings on around their parts. Each morning we were there we were treated to the best breakfast we had ever had. It was huckleberry pancakes one day, cherry turnover the next, eggs and fresh fruits everyday. The coffee is always brewing and if you need anything they are there to help you. We will definately stay there again.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kelly's Trout Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 25 Mount Adams Rd, Trout Lake, WA 98650-9723
Region: United States > Washington > Trout Lake
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Trout Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing