We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best for a Long Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Tumwater, Washington
2 reviews
“The Best for a Long Stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I am very happy with all aspects of my stay - I've been here almost 4 months and have felt safe - it has been a great place to transition to a new location - yet to be determined. The staff, especially Tara, Ashley, and Sarah , have been very friendly and helpful. I have traveled all over the world and have stayed at the best hotels, and this is on a par for value, hospitality, and overall service.

Room Tip: Is is quieter away from traffic - at the back of the building. Staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor adds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    31
    16
    14
    18
See reviews for
39
20
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We expected to stay for a couple of weeks. It will now be 4 months. The longer you stay, the better the price. There is also a special arrangement by calling Corporate, especially if you pay in advance.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryEToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel is probably the worst hotel I've ever been in and that includes real dumps on the side of country roads. The place reeks of cigarette smoke, it's filthy, the staff will keep your mail and messages unless you specifically ask for them, it's falling apart (bits and pieces of ceiling come down from the person above the room walking across their room), the staff is rude and inconsiderate, if you are told a rate over the phone you better get it writing somehow because when you get there you may or may not get that rate, loud parties in the rooms management will do nothing about, There is rarely more than one person on staff at any given time so good luck getting any help if you need it, the "updates" that were done on the hotel rooms are very shoddy, the bathroom fan sounded like a jet landing, the "continental breakfast" was oatmeal and coffee, the walls are paper thin, the toilets are power flushers that will spray you and the surrounding area if you don't close the lid before flushing. I don't know how these people stay in business.

Room Tip: Avoid the entire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowyegret51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was disheartening to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that I am working with the staff to enhance the services and amenities we offer. Also, I am coaching them on how to provide better customer service moving forward to ensure that all of our guests needs are attended to in a professional as well as warm manner.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tumwater hotels

Sidney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The room was very clean (updated) I was happy with the good service from Ashley at the front desk. The price of the room was very low. I booked through Priceline.
The only small downside was that it was a bit difficult to find , not having a GPS.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Glen - It is so rewarding to read that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear that Ashley provided you with such great service. I will let her know your thoughts, along with the rest of our staff.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Our one night stay at Extended Stay in Tumwater/Olympia was a complete disappointment. We checked-in late evening, and shortly after realized simple expectations when staying at a hotel were not met; clean room and quiet accommodations.

It was obvious the room had not been cleaned since the previous guest had checked-out. Dirty toilet. Garbage in trash bins. No drinking glasses or coffee mugs. Carpet needed vacuum. No dish soap. Bedding on queen sized bed was fit with twin sheets and was thin.

Again, simple expectations when staying in any hotel is a clean room and quiet accommodations. Front desk closes at 11pm and is literally abandoned all night. This is unacceptable when you check-in and find major problems with your room. The rest of the night was not pleasant; blaring television from the room above and snoring from a guest above or next door. Again, how can Extended Stay rectify a poor and uncomfortable situation for a guest when the hotel is literally not available overnight?

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. I hope it was just bad timing and an isolated incident.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Ryan - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that you where checked in to a dirty room. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that this is an isolated incident and I will be working with my team to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. Also, I want to let you know that we always have someone here on-site to assist guests with any issues they may be having. If staff is not available at the front desk, they can be reached by the phone in the lobby. I apologize that you were not made aware of that.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon to show you our enhanced efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Asked for room on higher floor and was told room next to entry on ground floor was the only one available. Talking and laughing outside window went on early and late. Smoke alarm went off in the middle of the night and fire department roamed around with no explanation. A pile of dry macaroni, paper scraps and dirt adorned the middle of the carpet and heater didn't work in the room with no extra blankets. But the microwave worked and ice trays were full.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yakity_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Front desk staff is untrained and not helpful. Fridge in room was not turned on so we couldn't keep our food cold and there is no ice machine. Utensils were dirty. Coffee pot still has a coffee filter in it from who knows when, it's moldy! The bed was badly made with the top sheet and blanket practically short sheeted. The room smelled terrible of chemicals.
This hotel looks nice and was fairly comfortable. The people and the work they are doing are the problem.
I know this is a hard job because I've done it before. But if people would just do the job they are supposed to do right the first time, it is possible to do it right.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNT71185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the cleanliness issues in the room. I want to let you know that this is definitely not our standard here. We are sorry for this issue, and are ensuring that guest rooms are inspected thoroughly before guest check-in. Still, I am happy to read that you where satisfied with your overall stay at our hotel.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumwater
0.5 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
1.7 mi away
Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.6 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Olympia
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater

Property: Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
Address: 1675 Mottman Rd SW, Tumwater, WA 98512-7833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Tumwater
Extended Stay Tumwater
Tumwater Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing