We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, pricey food”

Falls Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Tumwater
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Awesome view, if you can get a window seat. Service was great. Food was OK and pretty pricey. This was our big expense of the weekend and had it not been for the view we would have been pretty disappointed. Best part about eating here was being inspired to check out the Tumwater Falls Park!

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CFCsoccer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 228 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hard to find if you are not local, but worth finding. Situated above the Deschutes River at Tumwater Falls. Early dinner includes yummy shrimp cocktail, green salad or soup and choice of several entrees priced at $19.95, followed by dessert. Nice ambiance, friendly efficient staff. You can take an after dinner walk along a path beside the river and falls. Glad we found it!

Date of visit: October 2013
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We love the lovely view of the falls, and the food is delicious. Our visitors are always impressed and enjoy their meals when we take them there.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catherinep977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I were in Olympia in July and decided to eat here. We had been here about 15 years ago when my wife's job took her there on a regular basis.

We started with a nice window table with a view of the falls, so far so good. Downhill after that!

The busboy knocked over a full glass of water and ice, rather that reset the table they took a towel and pushed everything onto the floor next to the window, set our plates etc back on a wet tablecloth. We ordered two drinks, old fashioned and a New York and Filet.

Salads came immediately, had to remind waiter that we had ordered drinks. Asked him to slow down the steaks so we could enjoy the drinks and view. The drinks were in terrible cheap glasses, couldn't taste the bourbon and no bitters.

Salads were ok, steaks arrived on a plate with greasy zucchini and a baked potato all set randomly together. No attempt at presentation, garnish or appropriate plate for the meal. Taste was terrible, for 28 day age beef the New York was dry and overcooked. No seasoning on the steak whatsoever. They do sell steak sauces separately if you wanted to buy them.

Potato was small and warm at best. Didn't touch the zucchini, looked like it was going to slide off the plate if I touched it.

Passed on dessert and coffee, still paid almost $100 with tax and tip. Won't ever go back.

Best advice, skip this place.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We celebrated a birthday at the Falls and while we weren't disappointed, we weren't "wowed" either. The view of the Tumwater Falls is very pretty and the lodge-type décor of the restaurant and bar is nice. The food, we thought, was over-priced for the quality and the presentation. Nothing tasted really exciting. Service was o.k., however not terribly friendly. And the waitress mysteriously vanished after delivering our checks. We finally got up and paid in the front. We didn't see her again.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AreWeHavingFunYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Falls Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing