We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Alderbrook is indeed a lovely facility set in a beautiful location-- right on the water, surrounded by lush greenery and quiet. The service is attentive and good. The rooms are nice and comfortable as is the bed. The setting is tranquil. Its definitely more of a R& R place. There is a pool, hot tub and areas to sit by fire while overlooking the sounds( especially wonderful in summer I am sure). The food at the restaurant was great-- we had breakfast there but spendy. There are 2 other great restaurants in town- Robin Hood Village restaurant( elegant dining as well as pub grub setting) and 2 Margaritas for authentic mexican food. Its a sleepy little town with not a lot of other attractions other that the water activity( kayaking) or clamming/oyster picking, etc. There is also a spa onsite..very nice spa but very spendy. Not a place I would usually bring kids to but nice for adults to relax.

Room Tip: Non summer months and weekdays for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    183
    55
    39
    13
See reviews for
181
300
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My daughter and travel together frequently and will definitely return to Alderbrook. The setting is picture-postcard perfect with views of the Cascades and Hood Canal which is actually a natural fjord. Popular wedding destination.... we saw two lovely brides!!

What most impressed me is the attention to detail in the room's decor and amenities. Lots of pillows and built-in soaps, hair products,etc. Being a "woman of size" I truly appreciated the oversized robes and towels.

The lobby is stunning, with soaring wood ceilings and fireplace, comfy rockers, sofas. Complimentary coffee served with the Seattle Times. The lobby atmosphere is very casual... guests in bathrobes, dogs on leashes, etc. Also be sure and give a scratch to Alder and Brook, the resident cats.

We had dinner off the bar menu, still a bit pricey for the portion size. Within driving distance there is a deli and Mexican restaurant. Lunch at the deli was average.

Cell phone coverage was virtually non-existent and the hotel's wifi was inaccessible as well. Worked fine at the deli half mile away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savvy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We had a truly perfect wedding at Alderbrook in February. The setting is lovely -- water and mountains as a backdrop, the rooms are comfortable and affordable (perfect for housing lots of friends & family), and the atmosphere was ideal for relaxing and enjoying time with our guests. The staff were extremely helpful -- even unexpectedly did a lot of the decorating I thought I would have to do on my own. The food was fabulous as well and exceeded my expectations (and quite large portions as well).
Thanks Alderbrook for an amazing and stress free wedding day!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Okay, so we stayed in a (small) 2- bedroom cabin - but that doesn't mean that we shouldn't expect quality accomodations considering this is a "resort" and the price we paid. First of all, housekeeping sure missed a few things - like the dirty washcloth and crumbs left in the bathroom, crumbs in the cracks of the kitchen table, and bed linens/blanket for the sofa bed (which they knew we would be using). The cabin itself could use some updating as it still sported an early vintage orange striped utilitarian carpet, Goodwill quality coffee table, etc. That being said, the view was nice, the food in the restaurant was great and the massages were wonderful (although they wouldn't let us use their changing room the next morning after we had been in the pool even though we had spent mucho bucks in spa services!) Pool bathroom/changing room very small with only one shower and no real area for dressing so when a family of children had the space we were left to wait it out... Don't think I'd choose to go to Alderbrook again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay at Alderbrook Resort & Spa. We stayed in a canal view room which was just amazing--the beds were cozy and comfortable and the view was breathtaking. We both enjoyed the spa while we were there--sooo relaxing--I highly recommend the hot stone massage to anyone!! After our treatments we were able to continue our relaxation in the sauna and indoor hot tub that overlooked the canal. . .we didn't want to leave but had reservations in the restaurant. Our food was absolutely delicious. We can't wait for another little romantic getaway to Alderbrook Resort & Spa hopefully soon!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimberlySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The staff is so helpful and friendly. They upgraded our room just because it was our anniversary. We had a bottle of wine and chocolate dipped strawberries as an ammenity and they were wonderful. The restaurant has wonderful breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus. Dinner is more upscale but the food is worth the money. Then we visited the spa and had a wonderful couples massage. I highly recommend Alderbrook to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchef41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Man people - how can you complain so much about such an amazing place? One thing goes wrong and it's 1 star for the resort.

Alderbrook is a classy, relaxing, and beautiful place. I really have nothing negative to say about it. Everything here has always been amazing, from the food, to the drinks, to the service, to the rooms, to the lobby. Amazing.

I stayed here over Valentine's Day, and it was phenomenal, as usual. We got a great deal - $239 for a garden view room (you can see the water from garden view rooms...at least from ours you could), a dozen roses, a bottle of wine, $70 dinner voucher, and valet parking. They have deals like this all the time - we might go again this month!

The ooonly thing I would say is that the restaurant is really pricey. Great food, but just seems a little too expensive. Maybe I'm just a penny pincher.

If you really want to be impressed - stay in the honeymoon suite!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MntnDewMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
0.4 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
15.2 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
22.7 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
23.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#5 of 8 in Bremerton
126 reviews
22.9 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Property: Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Region: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing