We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Hook...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

...but not in a good way! This was our second stay and I had previously given this resort a glowing review, titled "Hooked", well, no longer. When we checked into our cabin we had to re-wash all of the egg covered dishes. When we returned to the pool it reeked of urine, our cabin door was not sealed (there was a lare gap) so the seasonal mosquitoes flew into the cottage at night; half of the staff was quite rude. Stephanie, in guest services, may want to consider another career other than customer service. Other than that, the Hood Canal was perfect; warm and inviting. The dock provided lots of adventurous water sports and activities. The Olympic Peninsula remains a picture perfect setting. However, next time I visit I will try a different resort!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctsdlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

sctsdlmom, Thank for your review. We had a management meeting about your comments and do appreciate your feedback. We are so sorry your stay wasn't all that it could have been. We strive to be the very best and this time it appears we came up short. We are very glad you enjoyed the surroundings. ~Frank for Alderbrook - ~Conde Nast Reader's Choice Award Winner for Top Mainland Resort and Top Ten Spa~ ~Voted #1 Resort in King 5's Evening Magazine's Best NW Escapes~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

A gem in the area, where one can relax with the family. Beautiful location on Hood Canal. Water activities like kayaking, paddle boards are right there.

Food was good, but one is limited to the grill area and restaurant. Not much else around.

Grounds are beautiful. The weather was perfect during our stay and we were on the water, and in the Pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Ann246, Thank you so much for your comments. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay and that is music to our ears. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in a cottage at alder brook for a mini family reunion, the resort was great, very clean, excellent service, food at the restaurant was second to none. The ONLY complaint I have is with the activities booth on their dock. I booked a fishing trip through him for $150, on the way back from the trip I was talking to the guide and it came up that he only charges $50 for the same trip.
So the activities booth over charges by $100 and keeps the extra mark-up. VERY shady in my opinion. Upon finding this out I went down to talk to the guy in the booth and he was gone, I left my name and number with him but have not heard back.

Room Tip: Only Put poor for sleep quality because we drew straws and I ended up on the pull out hide-a-bed. VE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Chris S, We are glad you wrote. First, about the fishing trip. The top management looked into this snafu. What was discovered was a communications issue between the guy on the dock and guide and half day versus full day. They looked for your number and it was lost in an accident (wallet and person overboard). They would like you to contact Marty McCormack, Director of Sales & Marketing, so the resort can make it right by you. Email him at marty.mccormack@alderbrookresort.com. Sound good? Thanks for understanding. Glad you enjoyed your stay. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

No question this is a nice property that is managed well with good staff, good food and wonderful views. For such a place you expect to pay a premium but you can spend easily $500 a day. Some ideas on savings would be to skip the breakfast that can easily run $20 bucks a head ($4 bucks for hot water for tea) and grab a free coffee in the lobby and bring some fruit. Rooms have great views of sound but vary greatly. Ours you had to step onto tiny balcony and crane your neck. Some of cottages have great view while others dont. There are some nice areas with chairs you can enjoy the view without paying hundreds of dollars extra. Would be a great place for an anniversary get away. Nice spa that has good staff. Overall would go back but just get ready for a bill that is about 20% more than you would expect.

Room Tip: Really understand where the room is and the exact view (is it from balcony or room) before paying to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagurundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Hi Jagurundi. Thank you for your review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and you were kind enough to let us know how we can improve. Thank you. That is so appreciated. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

In the world where you have to settle for less , when the best laid plans go astray, The Staff at Alderbrook are champions at making good decisions in a timely manner, and anticipating further nuisances.
Amy is a wedding planning machine. months of planning and changes to plans seemed effortless on her part.

Rooms and cottages were comfortable and well maintained. Nick and the guys kept our bags moved and cars parked with sincere smiles.

There is a comfortable trust and air of efficiency in all they do.

I would call it 100%, but removing the French Press coffee makes is still a sore subject with me. I brought my own this time.

Love this place, a Global Gem on the edge of a Fjord, among the tall firs. Grand in any weather, any time of year.

Bob Montoya

Room Tip: Ask for the Corner King room 421, or 321 if that one is already booked by me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thanks Bob, aka Bob M, for your review. You make us feel good. Hopefully you feel the same way fro us. Looking forward to having you back at the resort again soon. ~Frank for Alderbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Thank you, Alderbrook, for helping to make our 50th class reunion such an enjoyable and memorable experience. I never even heard one complaint from any of our classmates about the resort. We had outstanding food at our Banquet, and the staff was always very friendly and helpful. We always felt welcome and had a very wonderful time.

Room Tip: Choose a Cabin. Very roomy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Clive H, Thank you Clive. Your review is music to our ears. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We are so happy that you and your class had such a great reunion. ~Frank for Alderbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We love Alderbrook and go there every year for our anniversary. The rooms are always clean and beautiful to stay in. the views are amazing and we have always had great service from the staff. Our only complaint is the price for a room keeps going up and up every year, Making it had for the normal income family to go there. Hopfuly in the future the prices will stay where they are at for awhile and we can visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeB358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Hi Brooke B, Thank you for your review. We are honored that you choose us for your anniversaries and are very glad you enjoy the rooms and views so much. We also appreciate the feedback. Thank you for that. Be well. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
0.4 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
15.3 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
8.7 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
106 reviews
23.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Bremerton
130 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Region: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range: £52 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing