We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I spent a night here, and it was just splendid. The room was beautiful, the property itself was fabulous, and the food was terrific. We went with Lovers Package with which you receive a 150$ gift certificate for the restaurant. You must try the crab cakes, and the steak was perfect! We arrived closer to the evening, so we did not get a chance to walk around and enjoy the scenery; however, we did that in the morning, and you really appreciate the secluded area of the resort and fresh breeze from the bay. The room is very specious with a little window seating area, where you can just relax. This is our first time here, and I know we will be back. We always went to Harrison hot springs in BC, but after discovering this place, I know we will be coming here more often. It’s a fantastic place to just get away for a day or two.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sserjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your romantic getaway sserjay! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

See you again soon and welcome to Spring!

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    186
    57
    39
    13
See reviews for
187
303
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our children gave us a gift certificate for a one-night getaway stay. We chose a Monday night and the hotel was not busy so the desk staff did offer us an upgrade to a water-view room which was spectacular. Nicest hotel room we've stayed in in a long time. Very comfortable and roomy. We were able to sit on the window bench and view the beach, water, hills and mountains (luckily it was a clear day).
Dinner was fabulous. We shared the crab cakes for an appetizer and they rated among the best we've even eaten -- all crab and no fillers. And the presentation was wonderful also.
Breakfast the next morning offered a fried oyster omelet. Never heard of that, but it was wonderful--a nice blending of spinach, bacon and oysters in a beautiful omelet.
Definitely something to return for!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack98110a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
How sweet, Jack98110a! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary getaway to our property. Cheers to another wonderful year and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us-we truly appreciate it.

Thank you,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We got married here in 2012, and to keep this short I'll just say the staff and the location are amazing. Anna helped me with everything for my wedding, and although it was very small (12 guests) and there were other weddings happening the same day, she still was very attentive and kind. The rest of the staff was just as amazing in helping with us a variety of things. Feel free to message me if you have specific questions about using Alderbrook as your venue.
We booked a couple cabins when we were up there for our wedding weekend, and they were great. The beds are very comfortable. The cabins have at least 2 bedrooms and kitchen/living areas, which was great because we could feed everyone without spending a fortune eating out for every meal. The location of the cabins are very nice, and you walk out onto a big open lawn where you can BBQ or play lawn games. The kayak rentals are great, right off the dock there on the property and with beautiful views of the mountains. The restaurant is spendy, but very good.
We went back for our 1st anniversary last summer and stayed in the actual hotel, and while it was very nicely furnished (the ceilings are very high, it's a nice effect) and have great views, we did not enjoy them as much as the cabins because of the heavy doors in the hotel. Every time someone enters or leaves a room the doors SLAM shut. I thought at first we just had inconsiderate neighbors, but when we left in the morning the door slammed behind me very quickly and I realized there isn't much guests can do about it. The rooms are also a little on the expensive side... but we still plan on returning for more anniversaries. We absolutely love it there!
Beautiful area, always lots to do, and they hold different events on site too. Most of the staff recognized us from our wedding when we went back, and that was really cool. They even comped us a bottle of champagne to celebrate :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Oh wow, thank you so much for taking the time to rave about your wedding experience with us Max-Jessica A! We cherish each of our weddings and are honored to be selected as the venue for these special milestones.

Cheers!

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Along the coast there are few truly luxury stops and this place is wonderful. ALL the staff were wonderful, the food was good, the atmosphere and location superb. PET FREINDLY and remarkably quiet. Even if one were traveling the long way to Seattle from the south, this place is worth a stop over. As a combined business and personal trip, Alderbrook was superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdarcy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for visiting us for both work and pleasure as well as taking the time to share what you loved about our property.

Our cats, Alder & Brook say "hello"!

Thank you,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I shared a wonderfully relaxing mini-vacation at Alderbrook (mid-week to Sat.). The rain was "biblical" during our stay; however, that almost enhanced the experience, since our room and the common areas were such comfortable places from which to look out upon the rain and the beautiful waterscape of Hood Canal. The rain let up a bit so we could even enjoy a couple of trail runs through the forest, across from the resort. Had well-made cocktails in the lounge and enjoyed the pita/hummus/Mediterranean plate. Loved the house-made Greek citrus yoghurt and granola so much that I ordered it three breakfasts in a row. Their coffee could be smoother and richer (has a bitter edge) (I have high standards for coffee). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable (wonderful bed with down comforter). I enjoyed reading in the cushioned window seat in the room, looking up occasionally to gaze out at the misty Hood Canal. I enjoyed the sauna and steam room (and pool). However, a cold shower head should be immediately outside the sauna, since alternating the heat with a cold douse of water is what enhances the relaxation (pool not cold enough for that). I had a nice massage, but it wasn't as therapeutic or deep-tissue as I had wanted and requested. Everything at the resort is well-maintained. There isn't really anything else to do/any other place to go nearby; but that was fine for us. We had packed our books and were looking forward to a quiet, lovely setting for reading, relaxing, sleeping well, and enjoying some nice drinks and good food. Alderbrook met all these desires and then some. We had a wonderfully relaxing time; it felt almost like a honeymoon. We highly recommend mid-week check-ins, which offer a quieter, less-busy atmosphere (if you can get away mid-week!). It's a great place for relaxation in the off-seasons. However, summer would be gorgeous there, with the addition of water activities (boating, swimming, etc.). Also, I imagine it would be fun to rent one of the guest cottages, perhaps with some friends. (We were in the main lodge.) Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We chose upper level (no footsteps overhead) room that looked out on courtyard/garden and the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KofS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We're so pleased to hear that you embraced the northwest winter/spring getaway at our property KofS! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience-we truly appreciate it.

See you soon!

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Alderbrook Resort. incredibly relaxing stay, nice rooms, comfy beds, beautifully appointed lobby and common areas. Spa was very nice, food was "O.K-Good", I'm from Portland so its pretty tough to compare on the food side to what I can find everywhere in Portland. If you like Oysters that's what I'd recommend. Id recommend booking weekdays when its quieter and more secluded too. Breathtaking views facing Hood Canal. We'll be back annually.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrahemsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility of the Hood Canal during your stay sandrahemsworth! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Cheers,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our stay was nothing short of exceptional. This was our first visit and it was such a wonderful experience. The culture is, without exception, customer-oriented and that is reflected in every part of the hotel. We can't recall when we were so comfortable -- window seats, lounge seats in the view pool/hot tub area, cushy furniture around the massive rock fireplace in the lobby. Everything we asked for was greeted with a smile and genuine desire to accommodate -- and they worked with Chef to create a special desert for our birthday celebration. Speaking of food, it was exceptional. We very much look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Our room was on the water side with a lovely partial view of the water and was on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Wow, we so pleased to hear that you had an "exceptional" stay jadele! Thank you for taking the time to share this with us-our guests are so wonderful.

Have a wonderful Spring and we'll see you again soon,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
0.4 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
15.2 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
22.7 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
23.4 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
23.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#5 of 8 in Bremerton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Property: Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Region: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing