We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and LAST Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The accomodations unfortunately do not match the beautiful location. Our room was small, rather dark, and somewhat dirty. The most unpleasant item was an incredibly filthy pillow with stains on both sides. The room had no comfortable seating. We received one washcloth for the two of us. Be prepared for their "honor system" coffee. If you would like a cup of coffee in the room you will need to pay a dollar per cup. We came to Alderbrook expecting something nice. We were very disappointed. You would receive much better value and service at a chain hotel. We had the option of checking out at 3PM with their "Fall Bliss" package, but left before 8AM. We were happy to leave. LEAVING was bliss.... I did later fill out an online survey from Alderbrook and received a followup call from them. While I appreciated the call it does not make up for an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guemes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2009

Alderbrook Resort & Spa is set in a gorgeous waterfront setting. It's a little drive out from the Olympia and Seattle areas but it's worth the trip. The spa is a wonderful treat that should be taken advantage of. The room was well furnished and the grounds are beautiful. The staff is very nice and helpful and willing to address any issues. The restaurant has amazing food, but the specialty drinks are quite pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skookydew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We only stayed for one night en route to Victoria, BC but we were thoroughly impressed by the Alderbrook. The resort is very well done with a modern cabin look. The room and especially the bathroom was well appointed. The grounds were well taken care of and offered amazing views. The outdoor eating areas and fire pits were very relaxing. The smores and ice cream sandwiches were excellent. If you can get a great deal with the summer or midweek special, the value cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Me and my husband set out on August 2nd to drop our four children off at their grandparents house and begin our journey to Alderbrook Resort & Spa where we were to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. To our surprise when we got there the not so helpful front desk help made sure to let us know our reservations had been made on OUR part for the followind day the 3rd and that they had no available rooms for us that night. I do not know if this is customary in the hotel industry but I found this to be very unprofessional and rude that the staff and Alderbrook Resort and Spa would put the blame on us that we scrwed up the reservations, when we clearly had made the reservations, planned our trip, and counted on the resort to have everything ready. We had made reservations in the Canal room, with full amenities including a visit to the spa, massages, a food and wine class, a canoe class, and something else I am forgetting. It is a shame we had to go somewhere else and have so much fun, I am actually very glad we did, we went to the Inn at Gig Harbor; got a very nice room at a much cheaper price and went to Wild Wave's /Enchanted Village and had a blast. I would be advised of the snobby attitude and quick place in blame if a problem arises with this place.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lizsorensen8407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This is a beautiful resort, I had absolutely no complaints. The rooms are awesome (get one with a view of the water). We were taking a trip to the Olympic National Park/rainforest and I didn't realize how far out of the way it was for what we were planning on doing. However, it is on Hood Canal and the views are very pretty. The restaurant was great, the people were great, and the resort was lodge like. Very cozy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boozpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

My wife and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary with a night at Alderbrook Lodge. We had been here once before for lunch and knew that it was a luxury facility in a beautiful setting on Hood Canal. Bill Gates has a compound right next door, which ought to tell you something about the location.

We booked a canal view room on the top floor. The room was good sized, very clean and nicely furnished. The king bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was roomy, with nice amenities including robes and slippers.

Check-in was a breeze and the clerk was friendly and helpful. Free valet parking was available, but we choose not to use it. The parking lot is just a few yards from the door.

We had lunch outdoors on the patio. The menu selection wasn't great, but the food and service were good. Drinks were a little spendy. We had dinner with friends in Bremerton.

For breakfast we had the honey lemon waffles and a fruit plate, both of which were delicious. The service was excellent. The price was a little high, but worth it. Overall, we had a very nice stay at a beautiful lodge. We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebirds277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We've been to Alderbrook twice, had a waterview cabin which was fantastic. Everything was spotless clean, the bed was comfortable, grounds very well kept. Meals in the restaurant were delicious with excellent service altho a bit spendy, but we were on vacation & at someplace really nice. We walked out on the dock, watched the boats coming & going & loved watching the ducks in the morning from the kitchen window while having our morning coffee, the evening sunsets from the deck were gorgeous & the mountain view is fantastic
We found the staff to be very helpful & friendly. All our needs were taken care of. Appreciated the handicap accessibility when we brought my girlfriend with us for a week-end as she's handicapped & uses a walker.
Thank You Alderbrook for the wonderful relaxing times we've had & hope to return again.
Virginia

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mugwumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
0.3 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
22.5 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
106 reviews
23.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Bremerton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
22.7 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
22.9 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Region: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range: £51 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing