We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way to long too play”
Review of Chambers Bay

Chambers Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: With tawny fescue grasses, towering sand dunes, massive fairways, and breathtaking views of the Puget Sound and snow-capped Olympic Mountains, Chambers Bay brings the traditions of Scottish linksland to the Pacific Northwest. Located in University Place, Washington, this 18-hole, walking-only course provides an authentic links experience for players of every ability. Chambers Bay Grill is known for both its delicious food and panoramic views which makes it the perfect place to celebrate the end of a round or simply enjoy the splendor of the Puget Sound, the majestic Olympic Mountains and expansive golf course views. Frequented by golfers and locals alike, the Grill is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a full bar service and an interesting list of Northwest wines. The Grill also hosts frequent specialty events including Winemaker, Brewmaster, and Distiller dinners. This 930-acre site also includes over two miles of saltwater shoreline, two and a half miles of urban creek and canyon. Enjoy a walk on the beach and over 5 miles of public trails or relax at Central or North Meadow.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way to long too play”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Beautiful course but way to difficult for average golfer. Anyone interested in playing should read up on the reviews. It took us 6 hours to play 18 holes and I am not kidding! Plus there were no marshals on the course trying to speed up play. The greens are very bumpy and slow. They have a long way to go before it is ready for a us open. The pro's will like it and should be fun to watch on TV.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    34
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA USA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Steep walking path and GREAT kids play area!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I loved this place. I went twice in one day. I took the kids to play on gigantic jungle gym in the morning and then returned in the evening for a walk on the very steep bath down to the water. My baby slept in his stroller on the walk and my toddler had fun running up and back on the path and watching all the walkers and runners go by. After our walk we played fetch with the dog as we sat under a shady tree and had a dinner picnic. The park also overlooks Chambers Bay golf course so you can see all the people pulling lugging their clubs around. From the top of the park you can see down to the water and hear the train toot by every so often. My toddler loved that! Definitely a fun place to check out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fpfarric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views on a rough course”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There are many ways to interpret "rough", but none that I can think of have a good connotation. The greens need an incredible amount of work to be ready in 1 year for a US Open (they're bumpy, super slow, and bare patches on 1 or 2. The fairways are hard and closely cut making for very tight lies and difficult iron shots. But the course layout is spectacular, and you can't beat the views - Puget Sound from every hole. I'm glad I got to play it ahead of the 2015 US Open, but the out-of-state cost might not be worth it... yet.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DougBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Slice of Golf History!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in Seattle and made time to come over to Chambers bank and check out the site of the 2015 United States Open Golf Championship. It is not often that you get the opportunity to play a US Open level golf course. I made an early tee time and decided to carry my clubs. On the first tee it was obvious that this would not be an ordinary golf course. The view from the clubhouse and then the first tee was spectacular. We played the front nine and the to the back and enjoyed each and every hole. As we walked up the hill to wind back to 17 and 18 we have a very good appreciation of what the players will face next year, long and difficult. The course needs some maturing in the next year, but the basics are there for an outstanding US Open. If you get the chance, make the trip!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank P51rayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“To golf or not to golf?”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

You can enjoy Chambers Bay either way. For you avid golfers, this is a hilly course with many challenging holes. My husband loves playing it even though he complains about the length and difficulty of the course. With the 2015 US Open coming up next year, it is getting harder and harder to get on the course.
For those of you who like to walk, jog or run, the path around the course is perfect. And for those of you who like to walk your dogs, there is an off leash fenced area or an area on the beach designated for dogs.
For nature lovers, there are beautiful sunsets and spectacular views of the near by Islands. With the beach access, Puget Sound offers opportunities to see birds, an occasional eagle or whale. On the beach you can find a lot of wildlife - crabs, starfish, little anenomes.
Whatever you chose to do, it is a great place to enjoy Puget Sound and the outdoors!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chambers Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing