We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Customer Service Ever!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waterville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterville Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waterville
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I made reservations for September 6th 2013. We arrived and were greeted by the most unfriendly, uninviting and rude individual i have ever dealt with in the hotel industry; Dave Lundgren the proprietor of this hotel. I walked in and said, "Hello we have a reservation", he blankly stared at my self and my wife and the then cynically stated, " A name would be a good place to start" We looked at each other and continued to try to have a conversation with him. His answers were very short , dry, abrasive and condescending. When we asked why he was like this he was very rude and defensive. He made us feel so uncomfortable we told him we were not going to stay and we were going to review this hotel, he then became very agitated and followed outside, yelling at us. telling us he would put us out of our business if we give him a bad review. This man does not belong in customer service. We went to Whenatchee just down the road and stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dinapoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Dave the owner is very knowledgeable about the hotel and its contents - great collector. Scones from the local bakery, Blue Rooster, for breakfast. Very comfy bed. Great soak in the clawfoot tub. Library with old magazines and books to browse. We didn't have much time to hang out - we were on our way home - but would be a relaxing place to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

RIght on HIstoric HIghway #2- a true national treasure, we chanced upon the Waterville Hotel to dry out from a wet camping spot. It was just what we wanted: welcoming, comfortable, unusual and interesting. We enjoyed the roses and sunny porch for scones and coffee. Thank you, Dave!

Room Tip: Reserve ahead for en suite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is the worst excuse for any level of hospitalty imaginable! We stopped by today (9-15-2013) to visit a purported historic site. We were confronted by the most disagreeable individual on the porch of the hotel who demanded "what did we want. There is no vacancy" (vacancy sign was posted)". His demeanor was threating and it appeared that he would have used the broom he held to keep us off the poach should we dare approah. We wanted to view the hotel and were told we couldn't see any rooms. We asked if they didn't have a lobby we could see and were told that guests were waiting for their rooms and that it was "dusty". The individual appeared to be in a position of authority (manager/owner). He showed no respect for us as potential customers/guests. This hotel showed the least amount of common courtesy that could be shown to the public. There is no emergency so dire that would require stopping or staying at this hotel. We live in the area and will share our experience with everyone we meet.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Rod-Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A decent hotel in a pleasant town; maybe that doesn't sound like an over-enthusiastic description, but after three weeks riding across an America of featureless motels and godforsaken strip malls it was a real discovery. This is the kind of place that we have lost without noticing, the kind of place you somehow expect to find at the end of every long day on the road but hardly ever do. Not a luxury hotel, but interesting, original, and surprisingly good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MigratingSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is the coolest historic hotel in eastern Washington. It is clean, quiet, comfortable and charming. I've sought out old hotels like this over the years in probably 10 states and this is the best. It is wonderfully decorated. Dave, the owner, has done a great job of bringing this place back to life and irrespective of the fact that this is a business to make a hotel like this available is a public service. The Harvest House restaurant in town is a perfect compliment to this hotel.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember10042016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I discovered the existence of the Waterville Hotel in late 2012 as we returned via US2 to our western Washington home from a visit to Spokane. We were not only intrigued by the idea of what must have been such a grand hotel in such a small town but also loved the sprawling wheatfields rimmed by distant mountains. In search of some solitude, I stayed three nights there during the 2013 Memorial Day weekend and roamed the back roads and made forays into Chelan and Wenatchee. It's magnificent country, and it was a delight to stay at the Waterville Hotel. Don't expect modernity. That's not a part of the plan, but the lack of it is a big part of the charm. Be assured, however, that everything that you really need is there, and the building is clean and well maintained. Dave and Amy are welcoming but unobtrusive hosts. Dave was particularly helpful in suggesting things to see in the environs. I can't wait to go back for another few nights with my wife.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 8 which is ideally suited for a solo traveler. Although the hotel was close to ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Waterville Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterville Historic Hotel

Address: 102 E Park St, Waterville, WA 98858
Region: United States > Washington > Waterville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waterville
Number of rooms: 247

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing