We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GONE”

Sumo Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 134 Restaurants in Wenatchee
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GONE”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Place is GONE and now something else...JUST an FYI...In case you look here first. It WAS for the experience not the food so much.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was decent Japanese food for Wenatchee, WA.lol. Our table was FREEZING cold.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Chef was great (albeit, Mexican, not Asian, but that's ok). Wish I would have ordered the Shrimp Tampura as a meal instead of just as an appetizer, it was delicious!
The soup was too watery.
Portions of vegetables served were VERY small (and no mushrooms, no bean sprouts). Think I got two small bits of onion and a few other veggies. But the protein portions were good sized...go figure.
And oh, our table was SO cold except when the actual cooking was being done. We keep our ski parkas on the whole time. We talked to the waitress about and she said it would warm up when the cooking started, it did. But when the cooking stopped, it was freezing again.
The service was excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoonToNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hibachi is fun, but Sushi unimpressive”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We've eaten here twice, and while the Hibachi experience is entertaining, what ends up on your plate is basically an average stir fry better made at home. The sushi I had was truly mediocre, especially the rolls made with mashed up fish (oddly featured in the photo!). Much better sushi can be had elsewhere in Wenatchee...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AK-travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountlake Terrace, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great addition to Wenatchee”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hibachi is so good, the lunch price is great deal for the food that you get. Have had the filet minion a few times and its cooked perfect every time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skindychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We checked tripadvisor before eating in Wenatchee, it seemed a wise thing to do..... We based our decision to eat at Fuji Yama based on the reviews. My first impression was "meh" with the disposable chopsticks and decor. But the sushi was really very good as was the service. No complaints at all really.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sumo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing