We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"OK, But very few ocean views as advertised"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Westport
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"OK, But very few ocean views as advertised"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

OK, but very few ocean views as advertised
I have stayed at the Chateaux a number of times in the past and have always considered it to be rather pricey, but OK. My family used to stay here when I was younger and I always had fun, but this could be my last visit. The management simply refuses to remove the trees that block views from many of the rooms. There are tall trees around the volleyball area and at the south and north ends of the property. I guess that the management (who are usually not on site) doesn’t realize that there are beautiful views of winter sunsets that could be visible from all of the rooms without walking a half mile (more or less) to the actual beach. (Note my photo of potential sunset view taken from Surf St. during 2013 holiday season) Personally, I don’t like the fact that the rooms are pet friendly, but I definitely see that the pet friendly feature would be a plus for many people. My worst pet experience was with a large dog locked in a room that barked for hours one night. All in all, the Chateau is OK in view of what is available for motels and hotels in the area. Since we usually have more than one party with multiple rooms in our group at each visit, I would prefer to spend the extra money to rent a vacation home or a condo on the beach where the front deck is on the beach with an unobstructed view of the ocean and beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia34141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    70
    40
    18
    17
See reviews for
70
79
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Never stayed in Westport before so I wasn't sure what to expect. I searched the internet and found this place to be more desirable then the other establishments in the area. We were only staying for one night so we didn't want to rent a condo. The Chateau is very out dated and not what I had expected at all. The hot tub was working however it was dirty and had objects floating in it. Our 2 queen bed room was very small and our door would not stay shut unless you used the dead bolt from the inside. So this made leaving the room a problem. The sink was clogged, drained slowly and would fill almost all the way up from just washing your hands. When I made the reservations I asked for a room with an ocean view. Our room did have a view of the ocean from a far off distant however it over looked the parking lot, again not what I expected. Once I let the desk clerk know of the problems she did offer to move us to a different room, but no discount was offered. We had already settled in to the room once I found the problems and didn't feel like packing up to move as we were tired from our hunting that day. When I checked out in the morning I let the lady who I spoke with on the phone when booking our room know of the issues and she said she would let maintenance know, but a discount was never offered. I felt these issues should have been taken care of before this room was able to be rented. Next time I visit Westport I will spend the extra money and rent a condo on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCWings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westport hotels

Woodinville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Have stayed at Chateu Westport before, and have always enjoyed it, staying in one of the two room suites with a kitchen for the three day Thanksgiving holiday. This time however we had decided to book one of the one rooms with a kitchen, thinking all the rooms had an ocean view. We arrived to discover that the hot tub was closed due to a ceiling mishap, and that it had been closed for some time. This was not on the web site, nor on our confirmation. We were very disappointed. Our room was on the third floor and at the end of one side, it had a small deck and view of the neighboring rooms deck and a small slice of ocean. We returned to the desk and asked for another room and to speak with a Manager. The young lady on duty, Belinda, went out of her way to accomodate us, booking us into one of the two room suites we had stayed in before. She explained that there was no manager we could talk with until the next day. The next morning we spoke with the manager and asked for some kind of accomodation for the lack of the hot tub. She was very dismissive, even offering to give us the number of the local romantic motel with single hot tub suite. She offered a coupon for our next stay. She continued to tell us that we should have known that in the small print of the contract it stated that the single kitchen room has a 'Garden' view. There is no garden by the way. In the end, what is usually a very enjoyable stay was sullied mostly by the dismissive and borderline rude behavior of the manager. When we checked out on our final day, the manager was again not available, but a terse comment had been added to our bill that 'No further discounts are to be considered' we doubt we will be coming to the Chateu Westport in the future

Room Tip: 4th floor ocean view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Can't recall a more average establishment at best. Hot tub not working, rooms cramped, hallway unheated, elevator slower than the stairs, ancient fuzzy tv. Staff was nice but don't expect the sort of customer service common in a metro city

I have stayed at a few places in town and breakers is perhaps the best but options are not fantastic...opportunity in this town for a clean chain hotel with new carpets and TVs.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Chateau Westport rooms were nice, comfortable, and clean. We had an ocean view room which was lovely. Short walk to the beach and easy access to town, restaurants, and Cranberry Road Winery. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Elijah who works the night shift was especially helpful he went above and beyond to make our stay exceptional!! He assisted our elder father when he visiting us in the evenings providing great customer service! The women who works in kitchen was also very friendly and helpful. While the continental breakfast is modest, they offer hot and cold cereal, make your own waffles, yogurt, apples, oranges, pastry, muffins, and bagels. We noticed a stove was being installed so they may be expanding the breakfast offering. We very much enjoyed our stay at Chateau Westport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateg39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We feared a pompous hotel, judging from the name. It was, however, a modern well-maintained multi-story hotel. We were walk-ins and found that the price also was a pleasant surprise. Very good room, well appointed, with a balcony and somewhat distant view of the beach. The staff was helpful. Breakfast, while not great, was more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2-Weim-Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
366 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The room was nice and comfortable. Tends to be warm, but opening the windows works. Located within walking distance of the beach, drive to town or other beach access points. The breakfast is nice if one is carb-oriented; nice pastries and you-cook waffles. Westport offers beach-walking, birding, fishing, clamming, surfing, and other outdoor activites. The Chateau is located close to these and offers a nice headquarter location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.9 mi away
Westport Inn
Westport Inn
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westport Marina Cottages Motel
1.1 mi away
Breakers Boutique Inn
Breakers Boutique Inn
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Avenue Inn
Ocean Avenue Inn
#7 of 14 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
11.5 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Westport

Property: Chateau Westport
Address: 710 Hancock, Westport, WA 98595
Region: United States > Washington > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Westport 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Chateau Westport on your next trip to the Cranberry Coast and enjoy miles of uninterrupted beaches, bird watching, clamming and fishing. We offer the only Indoor Heated Pool, many units with kitchenettes, as well as ocean views. 2 Conference rooms available for rent. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included with stay. We are a dog friendly hotel with limited dog rooms available. A small fee applies to these pet rooms. Please call directly to book pet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Westport Hotel Westport
Chateau Hotel Westport
Westport Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing