We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty, Randown Motel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Avenue Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Avenue Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nasty, Randown Motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I booked my stay via a LivingSocial deal and got a great price on what they advertised as a "three-bedroom suite". I looked at the Trip Advisor reviews, and was re-assured by the 4-star rating that the place averaged at the time. So I booked the deal to stay in Westport when my wife's family came out for a visit.

When we drove up to the place, I thought "No, no way, that's not it, it can't possibly be it." The place looked like an old randown motel from outside in a scurvy area of town (to be fair though, most of Westport looks pretty scurvy). While I was pulling up my reservation and confirming the address, my wife asked the front desk if she could use a restroom while I was double-checking the info. She was told told "NO, she could NOT." Wow, great hospitality.
After I got through my disbelief and confirmed that this was indeed the right place, we got our "suite." It was a nasty ran-down motel room with 50s decor and appliances from the same era. There was a nasty, musty ordor in the room as soon as we walked it. There were multiple scratches and cracks in the paint, with large chips and even holes in most areas. The TV was so old it took it 10 minutes to warm up and actually start showing something. The microwave looked older than the first one I got 20 years ago.

There were indeed three bedrooms with beds of various sizes. Most sheets looked fine, but one looked like it had stains on it and had someone else's hair on it. The chair in the living room had old stains on it as well.

There was a large gap between the door and the door frame which allowed in insects (flies and ants in the room), and plenty of heat.
If you've seen movie "Vacancy", that's pretty much what came into my head. This was like an old horror movie motel where some crazy lunatic is going to try to stab you with a knife or what not.
Needless to say, we went to the front desk and told them we wouldn't be staying there. Instead we booked a hotel in Ocean Shores where we previously stayed. It ended up costing us twice as much as the deal at Ocean Ave Inn, but I wouldn't stay at this place for any money. What a nightmare.

Now we just need to try to get our money back from LivingSocial. What they said about that place on their deal description is certainly false advertising. The place is a complete, COMPLETE dump.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
13
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We took this room on the cheap and you definitely get what you pay for. Nearby Grocery and local pub made it perfect for a couple of fisherman though. Room was a little dated, furniture was thrwn together, only one chair in the room with the table. It was a little musty smelling, my allergies went a liitle crazy and the TV was very small (24"). Could not get the wifi to work for nothing. Coffee maker in the room, but no coffee, no cups. Bed was comfortable enough and the girl at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating when we asked for an extra blanket. I will probably not be back.

Room Tip: Opt in for the efficiency unit if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Apparently they changed management about 3 months ago, but the new managers are great too! I was there over New Year's 2011 and they were fixing up one room. I get the feeling the whole place is getting an overhaul. Everything was scrupulously clean and the linens were really nice. I had booked for 2 nights but had to leave after one, and they were as helpful and understanding as could be. The rooms are actually attached cabins, each with a mini-kitchen; it would be a great place for a family. The kids could even have their own room with parents next door keeping an eye on things from afar. The location can't be beat - it was an easy 1/2 mile walk or 2 minute drive to the beach, and there was actually a choice of 2 beaches. The state park, which is free and accessible from the road, is a beautiful and very clean bay with a wide expanse of black (lava) sand. Walk in the other direction and there's a gorgeous beach where, for some reason, driftwood and washed-up stones collect. I found 5 kinds of agate in 5 minutes. The Ocean Ave. Inn is about 2 miles from the Westport "strip" - easy to drive to, but far enough away not to be bothersome. If you prefer to stay near base, there's a good Mexican restaurant across the road and a grocery 2 blocks away. I will be back!

Room Tip: The 9 rooms start with #1 next to the office and end with #9 at the end of the complex. 1 or 9 would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very nice place, they even dried my husband jacket in their dryer, also we were given doggy treats for our 2 dogs! Lovely people, Lovely place would go back there again, the rooms were clean, what more can I say!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reardan,Wa.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

comfortable for the amount of time spent there. Dog friendly, which is a plus for us. Don't plan on cooking much there, very sparse cooking/eating utensils.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Loved the new decor since our last trip in room #9. New management since our last visit in September and couldn't ask for a friendlier staff. Quiet and relaxing, which is why we choose this place. Just love it here. See you soon, maybe after Labor Day again, If not see you next year

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satpat1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabeck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Excellent hotel and management. Quiet and very clean rooms. Close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregorySeabeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.6 mi away
Westport Inn
Westport Inn
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Westport
Chateau Westport
#2 of 14 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westport Marina Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breakers Boutique Inn
Breakers Boutique Inn
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Avenue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Avenue Inn

Property: Ocean Avenue Inn
Address: 275 W Ocean Ave, PO Box 571, Westport, WA 98595-9731
Region: United States > Washington > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Avenue Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Avenue Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing