We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Avenue Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Avenue Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Did not stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I would agree with other negative reviewers, this is not someplace I would stay given a choice. We got a 'deal' through Living Social on a "one bedroom suite," I certainly expected more based on LS description. It was dark, teeny tiny, worn out and was overall very depressing. We bailed and found a much nicer place closer to the beach. Big difference. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Carnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindy g, Manager at Ocean Avenue Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We agree that Living Social did not advertise our property correctly. We are a small budget friendly motor lodge. We cater to those who need a little extra room, with pets, need kitchens, going fishing or like to have their car outside their door. We are not a luxury Hotel and we were disappointed Living Social did not represent us as that. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
14
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel is not a place I would ever go back to if I had a choice. It is dingy, very outdated, and not very clean. There was garbage on the floor by the bed, the bathroom was extremely outdated (and tiny), and as soon as you opened the door the smell of the dumpster sitting in the parking lot hit you. They are pretty stingy with towels, and the towels aren't all that nice. We stayed in Room 110. The room was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westport hotels

puyallup
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Livingsocial bad buy for sure, dirty rug, do not provide kleenex, paper towels sugar, cream, only 1 washcloth for 2 people. bent siverware in a dirty drawer, dirty rug, I could go on. But I can't see how this place gets any stars . overall costs us $140.00 taxes and Dog for 2 nights, but we left and went home after 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I have stayed in some pretty nasty places before but this one just might top them all. There was wet spots on the floor...hair in the bathroom. the extra blanket smelled of dirty feet and this place hasn't been updated since the early 80's.. While I usually don't need anything from the front desk it would have been nice if they were open but they were closed until 3PM...not helpful. I got this through Living Social and they usually have some decent places. This place does NOT fall into that category. There are a few good things, nice breeze with the windows open and when you get cold the heater does work.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaShine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room #5 and it was perfect for us. It is one of the updated rooms :). My hubby worked at the desk and I lounged on the futon reading my book. The bed was even more comfortable than our own. The fridge was nice to have. We walked to the light house the next day. The person who checked us in was great. I have no complaints with this little in and how can you beat 65 bucks! We will be back.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I booked my stay via a LivingSocial deal and got a great price on what they advertised as a "three-bedroom suite". I looked at the Trip Advisor reviews, and was re-assured by the 4-star rating that the place averaged at the time. So I booked the deal to stay in Westport when my wife's family came out for a visit.

When we drove up to the place, I thought "No, no way, that's not it, it can't possibly be it." The place looked like an old randown motel from outside in a scurvy area of town (to be fair though, most of Westport looks pretty scurvy). While I was pulling up my reservation and confirming the address, my wife asked the front desk if she could use a restroom while I was double-checking the info. She was told told "NO, she could NOT." Wow, great hospitality.
After I got through my disbelief and confirmed that this was indeed the right place, we got our "suite." It was a nasty ran-down motel room with 50s decor and appliances from the same era. There was a nasty, musty ordor in the room as soon as we walked it. There were multiple scratches and cracks in the paint, with large chips and even holes in most areas. The TV was so old it took it 10 minutes to warm up and actually start showing something. The microwave looked older than the first one I got 20 years ago.

There were indeed three bedrooms with beds of various sizes. Most sheets looked fine, but one looked like it had stains on it and had someone else's hair on it. The chair in the living room had old stains on it as well.

There was a large gap between the door and the door frame which allowed in insects (flies and ants in the room), and plenty of heat.
If you've seen movie "Vacancy", that's pretty much what came into my head. This was like an old horror movie motel where some crazy lunatic is going to try to stab you with a knife or what not.
Needless to say, we went to the front desk and told them we wouldn't be staying there. Instead we booked a hotel in Ocean Shores where we previously stayed. It ended up costing us twice as much as the deal at Ocean Ave Inn, but I wouldn't stay at this place for any money. What a nightmare.

Now we just need to try to get our money back from LivingSocial. What they said about that place on their deal description is certainly false advertising. The place is a complete, COMPLETE dump.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We took this room on the cheap and you definitely get what you pay for. Nearby Grocery and local pub made it perfect for a couple of fisherman though. Room was a little dated, furniture was thrwn together, only one chair in the room with the table. It was a little musty smelling, my allergies went a liitle crazy and the TV was very small (24"). Could not get the wifi to work for nothing. Coffee maker in the room, but no coffee, no cups. Bed was comfortable enough and the girl at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating when we asked for an extra blanket. I will probably not be back.

Room Tip: Opt in for the efficiency unit if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.7 mi away
Westport Inn
Westport Inn
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Westport
Chateau Westport
#2 of 14 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakers Boutique Inn
Breakers Boutique Inn
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Westport Marina Cottages Motel
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
8.6 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Avenue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Avenue Inn

Property: Ocean Avenue Inn
Address: 275 W Ocean Ave, PO Box 571, Westport, WA 98595-9731
Region: United States > Washington > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Avenue Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Avenue Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing