We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only suitable for fishermen....”
Review of Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbor Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Only suitable for fishermen....”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had a reservation for July 27th. The only positive thing, about this property, was the gentleman who checked us in. Extremely friendly and helpful. We were supposed to stay in room #6. When we get there, the window is wide open (no screen on window) and it had an odor similar to that of dead/rotting fish. The room was tiny. The bathroom was very tiny. We had to scoot our way around the bed to get around. In other words, no way were we going to stay there. Both my husband, and I, have very acute senses of smell and we would not have been able to stay in this room. Luckily, the gentleman who checked us in was very understanding and refunded our money immediately (it showed up on our card right away). If we had been fishermen, or had absolutely no sense of smell, then we may have liked it. We were able to stay at a motel about 10 minutes away, in Westport, that was wonderful and we paid only $15.00 more for a king sized bed and a very comfortable room that was 3 times bigger.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tosume2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    3
    8
    40
See reviews for
26
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The harbor is right on the property so you are next door to boats and public docks, very nice. The number 11 (cottage) is a single wide mobile home that has never been updated since it was new. The outdated interior is offensive, but I was surprised that it was clean enough. The beautiful fireplace they mention on the website but never show a picture of is actually a rusted old stove and it didn't work. What a pathetic joke. The patio door is off it's bent track and kids could get killed by it. The fold out bed like thing in the living room sucks. Old TV, old stove and the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. No water presure for the scalding hot water in the bathroom at the sink.. You can actaully feeel the two by fours in the frame of the fold out couch that is made of nagahide. The view was nice enough and the deck and table was built with sturdy wood that has been stained. Pots and pans and dishes that are clean believe it or not. They don't slop people up with clam chowder in the lobby anymore, probably because their food liscense was revoked? Not worth $200 bucks a night. I think I saw an old sea hagg upstairs in the window over the office. Freightful!

Room Tip: try the number 15 Mobile home, it appears to be newer and looks over the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westport hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in Cabin 14 for 4 days and had a great time. The cabin was comfortable and the view was awesome. We had reservations in other places but would have definitely enjoyed more time here. We caught quite a few crabs right off the deck of the cabin and had a nice crab boil from them. This is a nice place, very comfortable with friendly people running it! We celebrated our 31st Wedding anniversary here and had a great time.We also brought our niece with us and we all agreed this was our favorite place to stay in the entire vacation. We will stay here again if we have the chance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oheady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I took me girlfriend there for a four day stay in cabin # 12. Everything was great my parents stay here from time to time so they turned me on to it. I got a little scared when i started to read the reviews but when i got there was fine if your not looking for a 5 star hotel for god sakes its right on the water. Few things that could be fixed like to sliding door my girlfriend needed my help every time opening it, they really need some new pans but cook alot so i brought my own pans. The owner is a very nice guy gave me his cell phone number so if i had to call for something after 6. He also gave me a crab ring for the four days i stayed for just $10. My girlfriend loved it along with me and a dog. I will be going to stay again.
Stayed Feb 2 to 5

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My fiance and I rented #7 upstairs. My sister and her guy rented a cabin and her two adult boys rented another cabin. This will never happen again, EVER!! The view is not worth the crap we had to go through. Read all the recent reviews, every one of them are spot-on! My sister's room had a gas leak that the manager said was just from lighting the gas heater but the smell didn't go away for hours and only then because her boyfriend turned off the valve for the gas. Then the manager brought over a heater and left, they turned it on and the power went out and they couldn't find the breaker and the manager wouldn't answer the phone. The two boys returned to their room much later in the night and found that there was no power in their room at all. My sister was given $10 off for the inconvenience and the two boys were given another cabin for the next night. Our #7 room had a stank to it, and the room is really small and the shower stops and goes and changes temp from other rooms using the water. I skimmed over some reviews from way back in 2004 and 2005 and they got really great reviews, it seems that the place has gone down hill and is being run into the sewer. If I owned that place I would be ashamed of myself reading all these bad reviews and do something about fixing up the place and cleaning up my image. I was thinking about finding out who the owner is and calling them to demand compensation for my sis and her kids but I can see now that the owner IS THE PROBLEM!!!! YOU SUCK!!! GRADE: F- 0% satisfaction. I will discourage everyone I come across from staying there. Get my point? You're stupid and can't read if you stay there. I'm stupid for not reading reviews before i wasted my money on that hell hole. Did I mention this place sucks? Like, really bad?

Room Tip: Choose a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoquiam, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We rented cabin number 9 at the harbor resort for a vacation over the New Year holiday for our family of 4. We were told it had a queen size bed and two bunk beds. The Queen size was more like a full size, it was very uncomfortable, and the bunk beds turned out to be very small and built into a closet. When we checked in on Friday night we found that the cabin had not been cleaned. the garbage cans were full, the backsplash in the bathroom was filthy, the kitchen was filthy, the refrigerator was leaking, there was a towel wedged under the refrigerator to catch the water, leaking out of the bottom, there was black mold on all of the windows, the walls were filthy, there were only two towels in the bathroom, and there was no coffee or coffee filter. I called the desk at 8:00 a.m. to notify the management of these conditions which I did in a very polite manner. I was suprised when an older lady claiming to be a manager started yelling at me on the phone and threating me. I asked her to calm down and that I had not meant to insult her but only to make her aware of the problem. She hung up on me and called me five minutes later demanding to know where I was as she was just in the room and had not seen me and that the room was clean. I told her that I was in cabin # 9 and that I was not in a room. She came to the cabin and after I showed her what I had asserted to she admitted that the room had not been cleaned. We went to the beach and when we returned there was an apology letter and a bottle of sparkling cider. They did appear to have done some cleaning but the cabin was still very dirty. They provided the coffee filters and some coffee and added some clean towels. When ever we tried to use a hair dryer it would trip a fuse and the only source of heat was a small space heater that also seemed to trip the electrical fuse. When we checked out they gave us $10.00 off our bill and again apoligized for there behavior. I found the view to be breath taking and you are right on the water but I will not be returning. I found the staff to be unprofessional, the cleanliness of the cabin was disgusting, and the physical condition of the cabin was sketchy at best. I have never written a review in my life and am only doing so now that I might be of some service to other families out there so that they can save themselves some anguish.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I should have used Tripadvisor before booking this hotel. I wanted something on the water with a kitchen. I stayed in the cabin and this place is right on the water. The cabin, however, is so run down it shouldn't be rented out. The windows have sticks in them to keep them shut and no screens. The sliding glass door to the patio is nearly impossible to slide. Also it doesn't close completely, also requiring a stick to keep it from being opened. The couch we didn't even sit on because of lack of springs and it was like sitting on a rock. The cabinets with the pots and pans had a strange smell in them. We slept ok in the queen-size bed but there was just enough room to walk around the bed. The caulk in the bathroom was stained and coming off. It definitely was not worth the $143 per night we were charged. Would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramblingnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
0.2 mi away
Westport Marina Cottages Motel
0.3 mi away
Westport Inn
Westport Inn
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chateau Westport
Chateau Westport
#3 of 14 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Breakers Boutique Inn
Breakers Boutique Inn
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Avenue Inn
Ocean Avenue Inn
#6 of 14 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Resort

Property: Harbor Resort
Address: 871 E Neddy Rose Dr, Westport, WA 98595
Region: United States > Washington > Westport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Harbor Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Westport
Harbor Resort Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing