We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort!”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had visited here several years ago on a cross-country ski trip, where we enjoyed their trails during the day. This time we stayed there and it was a wonderful experience. It was very relaxing to just be able to stay in one place and have multiple hiking trails just out the back door. For those who like horseback riding or biking, that is on-site also. The meals were wonderful -- we especially enjoyed our simple dinner in the lounge. We stayed in the lodge (standard) rooms. There was nothing special about the view, but it was a lovely room and it was nice being in the main lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our family's first trip to the lodge and we booked a 2-bedroom cabin on the lake. An hour before we arrived, a power outage occurred that would last ~ 10 hours. The hotel front desk staff was ill-prepared and rude in dealing with the situation. We were told there would be a lantern in the cabin but there was not. We had to ask repeatedly for a battery powered lamp and the woman responded that they didn't have enough for everyone and they wanted to save those for their guests staying in the main lodge. Thus, we were left in an unlit 2 story cabin for the evening- no light, no refrigerator (all of food supplies we brought in were in need of cold storage), and no hot water. The lodge would not supply ice for us to fill our coolers. Luckily we had a flashlight to manage the stairs and the bathrooms.We realize that the power outage was not in their control but they took no responsibility to ensure the safety and comfort of their guests who were paying huge amounts of money to be at their facility. We ate dinner at the lodge and the food was horrible. The hamburgers were served undercooked, even after being sent back twice. The waiter was odd and condescending.
The cabins are over a mile from the main lodge- you could walk to get to the pool and restaurants but it is uphill and hot in the summer. It is also quite a ways back into town so if you are not cooking your meals you have few options. The central cabins do not allow for much privacy- families gather in the grassy area and can get quite loud. Try to book one of the end units if you want more privacy.

On a positive note, the lake was beautiful and the lodge rents kayaks and rowboats for fishing but be aware that there is a charge ($$) for everything. The best part of our trip was the horseback trail ride at the stables.The people there were friendly and professional.

Overall, we were disappointed with the lodge and the staff. Their attitude and unfriendliness will keep us from visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fromthebluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear friends "from the bluffs":

Thank you for coming all this way to stay, and your comments. I am so sorry about the power outage; this does set the stage for what could be a less than perfect holiday. It seems there was some confusion regarding the lantern: First, one should have been in your cabin and I apologize for that oversight. Megan did call down to the maintenance at the lake to get one to your cabin immediately and I hope that did happen. Secondly, I think there was a small misunderstanding. The lantern you requested was not just saved for lodge guests, but for guests to take to the restroom. We had lanterns in the restrooms but we needed to have lanterns so folks could see their way. I'm sorry for the misunderstanding.

As luck would have it - this is absolutely true - we lost our main ice machine in the kitchen 3 days before the power went out. The new one arrived about two hours before the power went out so we had very little ice available. I had to close the kitchen because we could not ventilate it. We moved equipment to the main outside deck and needed as much ice as possible to keep product cold.

There is simply no reason for poor service and I again must apologize for such when you came up for dinner. The entire valley was without power and we were the only restaurant serving food, which caused a bit of a strain, but again, the food should have been served as requested in a professional manner.

I hope you don't mind that I expound a bit about power outages. We are not in the same situation as a city hotel. We are in fact a small township. We have our own water plant, are required to move our own effluence, etc. When power goes out like this (fortunately not that often) we jump into action to ensure such things as the water towers are operable, food is kept cold/frozen, the kitchen is closed down and we move to an exterior location, guests needing assistance are moved or helped as necessary, lanterns are placed in all public spaces and restrooms, computers are turned off and we are in regular contact with the power company to see discern when power is expected back on and what our next step will be. For instance, if the power is going to be off two days and we have a full house we know we will have to purchase ice to keep food cold, perhaps go out of the valley to buy more certain foods we do not keep on hand, etc. Not to mention monitoring how much water we have and how full the septic tanks are getting! And, of course, keeping in touch with in-house guests and attempting to contact those with reservations.

I am sorry we appeared ill-prepared and my desk clerk rude. The situation was rather tense, but we will strive to learn from this experience, your comments, and do a bit better in the next event.

Kind regards,

Brian Charlton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

At Sun Mountain Lodge there is plenty to do, from hiking, horse back riding, whatever to sitting around drinking wine listening to how quiet it is. The hotel is very clean, lots of amenities, well taken care of and the staff will help with anything they can. The food in the restaurants was really good, it was probably the only place I didn't like it being so quiet, otherwise the service and food was great.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is our third trip to the lodge with our family. It is fantastic having so many options to explore the area via horseback riding, mountain biking etc. As always we had two lovely rooms in the main lodge but the long bolstered bench and the bed coverings are starting to look a little dated. We also dined for breakfast in the dining room (only once) and had other meals with a large catered group and thought that the food was not the same great quality as it has been in the past. Perhaps it was just an "off" weekend? Overall it is a lovely hotel in a great location but I think they could update some of the rooms and make sure the food is consistently top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flygirl500seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

I greatly appreciate your comments and am following up with our Chef to see why your dining experience was not up to par. If you would be so kind to let me know what was "off" it will help. You can contact me directly at bcharlton@sunmountainlodge.com. I am sorry we have been a bit slow in the room upgrades. We had new beds made for the cabins, Robinson and Gardner wings and this autumn we have new beds coming in for most of the lodge. Along with the beds of course, comes new coverings. Our first "test" bed arrives later this month.

Kind regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Lodge has a game room and a library. There are 2 swimming pool areas, a bar/grill and a dining room, walking trails, a small lake for boating. Lots of family activities. The Gardner Rooms and Patterson Rooms have private entrances and private decks with CD player, coffee bar and refrigerator. There are no televisions, and no cell/wi-fi connections.

Room Tip: Was very quiet the first night but there was a wedding the next day and partying until midnight not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A great place to go for a few days in summer. Best to just go for a few days and do all that there is to offer...horse riding, hiking, tennis and lounging by the pool.

The activity hosts were great and the service was friendly and accommodating.

Must have a car if going to stay here as it is quite a few miles to the nearest towns, but there is enough to do here to entertain you for a few days!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamMBris01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We went for a two day getaway and had a wonderful experience. From relaxing by the pool to a horseback ride dinner at the homestead we were pampered and taken care of by experts. Deer and their fawns greeting us on one of the many hiking trails was a unexpected delight. The massage was given with care and expertise! Our breakfast meals were delicious although pricey. We will return for additional fun relaxing time away from the business of the summer!

Room Tip: We were in Robinson fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deancoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
3.6 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
3.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
3.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
166 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: £114 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Resort For All Seasons Inspired by the enduring beauty of nature, Sun Mountain Lodge reflects harmony with its surroundings down to the last detail. Whether you’re looking for refined elegance or a rugged wilderness experience, a place to come together with the family or a romantic getaway, thrill-of-a-lifetime recreation or quiet reflection, or perhaps that rarified place where business and pleasure do mix, Sun Mountain Lodge is poised to exceed your expectations. Guestrooms feature either stunning views of the North Cascades or sweeping territorial views of the Methow Valley and the National Forest. All of our guestrooms are tastefully appointed with original artwork and hand-crafted wood furniture made by local artisans. A reverence for creating delicious food underscores every aspect of the dining experience at Sun Mountain Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing