We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lodge. Spectacular views. Cozy room, just a little cramped.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely lodge. Spectacular views. Cozy room, just a little cramped.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Sun Mountain Lodge must be included in the top tier of resorts in Washington State or the Northwest for that matter. Our first night we ate in the dining room, which was delightful - world class cuisine with an unsurpassed view looking up and across the Methow Valley right at sunset. All three of the days we hiked one or more of the trails in the network right around the lodge - through open meadows and pine and aspen forests. We took advantage of the summer package special, which helped make our stay affordable. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The only negative, over which the resort had no control, was the North Cascades highway was closed due to several major landslides, which added miles and hours to travel to and from. That wasn't so bad, but we missed the experience of seeing the rugged North Cascades in their splendor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    118
    47
    25
    14
See reviews for
112
251
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We traveled here for our 25th anniversary, and couldn't have been happier with the hotel facility (we had mixed experiences with the restaurants, however). The greeting was warm, and efficient. Our room overlooking the mountains was clean, comfortable, and nicely air conditioned from the August heat. We were very glad, however, that we also had the option to turn off the a/c and open the screened windows to enjoy the pleasant evening air overnight. The view was breath-takin from all over the hotel and property.

We particularly enjoyed Kevin, the activity director, who always had a hike or activity suitable for a couple in our 60s. He arranged a wonderful early morning bird walk with a vey knowledgable local birder (and resort staff member). Free! Saw a good number of species ranging from woodpeckers to ducks to songbirds and flycatchers. Very worthwhile!

The staff in the small store was also very helpful. I ended up buying a swimsuit, very attractive and well made, and not overpriced. The front desk opened the store up for me early on the morning of my bird walk, so I could get a cold bottle of water to take with me.

Afternoons at the pool were very enjoyable, and poolside drink service was always available and quick.

We plan to return! For comments on the restaurant, see my review there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VAMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fircrest, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked a nearly last minute trip for 3 nights here. They upgraded us for free since there was room and we wanted a fire place. The lodge is amazing, the food great (only ate breakfast), and the staff wonderful.

We also did the sled ride and barbeque, which was fun. The food was good not great though.

We only had one issue, we wanted to learn cross country skiing. We singed up for private lessons easily in the pro shop. We ended up with an instructor that was not in to teaching that day and really did not teach at a beginning level. A bit of a let down with the cost of renting the gear and taking a private lesson. I think we will stick to snow shoeing. I know the pro shop is not "part" of the lodge but just listing it here so other can make better decisions.

Room Tip: Just be careful in the pro shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_and_J_Fircrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had visited here several years ago on a cross-country ski trip, where we enjoyed their trails during the day. This time we stayed there and it was a wonderful experience. It was very relaxing to just be able to stay in one place and have multiple hiking trails just out the back door. For those who like horseback riding or biking, that is on-site also. The meals were wonderful -- we especially enjoyed our simple dinner in the lounge. We stayed in the lodge (standard) rooms. There was nothing special about the view, but it was a lovely room and it was nice being in the main lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our family's first trip to the lodge and we booked a 2-bedroom cabin on the lake. An hour before we arrived, a power outage occurred that would last ~ 10 hours. The hotel front desk staff was ill-prepared and rude in dealing with the situation. We were told there would be a lantern in the cabin but there was not. We had to ask repeatedly for a battery powered lamp and the woman responded that they didn't have enough for everyone and they wanted to save those for their guests staying in the main lodge. Thus, we were left in an unlit 2 story cabin for the evening- no light, no refrigerator (all of food supplies we brought in were in need of cold storage), and no hot water. The lodge would not supply ice for us to fill our coolers. Luckily we had a flashlight to manage the stairs and the bathrooms.We realize that the power outage was not in their control but they took no responsibility to ensure the safety and comfort of their guests who were paying huge amounts of money to be at their facility. We ate dinner at the lodge and the food was horrible. The hamburgers were served undercooked, even after being sent back twice. The waiter was odd and condescending.
The cabins are over a mile from the main lodge- you could walk to get to the pool and restaurants but it is uphill and hot in the summer. It is also quite a ways back into town so if you are not cooking your meals you have few options. The central cabins do not allow for much privacy- families gather in the grassy area and can get quite loud. Try to book one of the end units if you want more privacy.

On a positive note, the lake was beautiful and the lodge rents kayaks and rowboats for fishing but be aware that there is a charge ($$) for everything. The best part of our trip was the horseback trail ride at the stables.The people there were friendly and professional.

Overall, we were disappointed with the lodge and the staff. Their attitude and unfriendliness will keep us from visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fromthebluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear friends "from the bluffs":

Thank you for coming all this way to stay, and your comments. I am so sorry about the power outage; this does set the stage for what could be a less than perfect holiday. It seems there was some confusion regarding the lantern: First, one should have been in your cabin and I apologize for that oversight. Megan did call down to the maintenance at the lake to get one to your cabin immediately and I hope that did happen. Secondly, I think there was a small misunderstanding. The lantern you requested was not just saved for lodge guests, but for guests to take to the restroom. We had lanterns in the restrooms but we needed to have lanterns so folks could see their way. I'm sorry for the misunderstanding.

As luck would have it - this is absolutely true - we lost our main ice machine in the kitchen 3 days before the power went out. The new one arrived about two hours before the power went out so we had very little ice available. I had to close the kitchen because we could not ventilate it. We moved equipment to the main outside deck and needed as much ice as possible to keep product cold.

There is simply no reason for poor service and I again must apologize for such when you came up for dinner. The entire valley was without power and we were the only restaurant serving food, which caused a bit of a strain, but again, the food should have been served as requested in a professional manner.

I hope you don't mind that I expound a bit about power outages. We are not in the same situation as a city hotel. We are in fact a small township. We have our own water plant, are required to move our own effluence, etc. When power goes out like this (fortunately not that often) we jump into action to ensure such things as the water towers are operable, food is kept cold/frozen, the kitchen is closed down and we move to an exterior location, guests needing assistance are moved or helped as necessary, lanterns are placed in all public spaces and restrooms, computers are turned off and we are in regular contact with the power company to see discern when power is expected back on and what our next step will be. For instance, if the power is going to be off two days and we have a full house we know we will have to purchase ice to keep food cold, perhaps go out of the valley to buy more certain foods we do not keep on hand, etc. Not to mention monitoring how much water we have and how full the septic tanks are getting! And, of course, keeping in touch with in-house guests and attempting to contact those with reservations.

I am sorry we appeared ill-prepared and my desk clerk rude. The situation was rather tense, but we will strive to learn from this experience, your comments, and do a bit better in the next event.

Kind regards,

Brian Charlton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

At Sun Mountain Lodge there is plenty to do, from hiking, horse back riding, whatever to sitting around drinking wine listening to how quiet it is. The hotel is very clean, lots of amenities, well taken care of and the staff will help with anything they can. The food in the restaurants was really good, it was probably the only place I didn't like it being so quiet, otherwise the service and food was great.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is our third trip to the lodge with our family. It is fantastic having so many options to explore the area via horseback riding, mountain biking etc. As always we had two lovely rooms in the main lodge but the long bolstered bench and the bed coverings are starting to look a little dated. We also dined for breakfast in the dining room (only once) and had other meals with a large catered group and thought that the food was not the same great quality as it has been in the past. Perhaps it was just an "off" weekend? Overall it is a lovely hotel in a great location but I think they could update some of the rooms and make sure the food is consistently top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirl500seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
I greatly appreciate your comments and am following up with our Chef to see why your dining experience was not up to par. If you would be so kind to let me know what was "off" it will help. You can contact me directly at bcharlton@sunmountainlodge.com. I am sorry we have been a bit slow in the room upgrades. We had new beds made for the cabins, Robinson and Gardner wings and this autumn we have new beds coming in for most of the lodge. Along with the beds of course, comes new coverings. Our first "test" bed arrives later this month.

Kind regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
3.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
11.7 mi away
Freestone Inn
Freestone Inn
#1 of 3 in Mazama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Property: Sun Mountain Lodge
Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing